One photo (or a few) every day: Irony caught me in Kahvisaari (246/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

Hey good evening, or night!

For one or another thing my photo session got delayed, and when I eventually managed to go outside, the day was already getting darker. I decided to bring Leo along as we were also going grocery shopping and he's often of good help doing groceries.

1519666496929.jpg
Nice duotone effect using phone filters.

Anyway, first we went to Kahvisaari, I decided that because I had tried it before (it was exactly the same place) and it didn't go quite well, I should try it again today.

(It was like a dejavu of sorts.)

I whipped out the camera, and turned it on...

"No card in camera"

Not again!?

(Leo found it funny though.)

Some irony. I still hadn't put all those other memory cards in the bag, and the one I had just emptied was still in the card reader of my computer. And to think that I had just posted some photos of that fated day earlier today!

What can I say? No photos today...

Not.

I'll take some photos if I have to shoot them on my phone! And so I did...

1519665962007_1.jpg
Playing with filters.

It was somewhat dark already, so the phone camera didn't do very good job with colours, I had to resort to playing with the filters app on my phone.

1519666319059.jpg
This blue building got oversaturated by the phone, so I fixed it by desaturating the whole picture.

Some times the filters do amazing stuff. In the first shot, the scenery over the lake was badly whitebalanced by the phone, and very, very, very blue. However I managed to create an enticing duotone image by first applying an RGB swap filter, then creating a negative of the resulting image, adding a sepia filter, and then applying negative filter again. The resulting image becomes like black and white, but with a blue toning on the blacks while white becomes more white, or lighter blue.

I guess I will have to post the process in a separate post some day... I just tried it on a different photo and it seems to work.

Here's the original file for comparison:

20180226_172626.jpg
Very blue.

Well, it didn't all go to waste now, did it? I learned some new tricks and well, maybe I'll keep my memory cards in the bag from this point on. Lesson learned, hopefully. ;)

See ya tomorrow!



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Thirty-fifth week in pictures (35/52)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

The descend. (239/365)
Ledger Nano S (240/365)
What I did at work today (241/365)
Moby Dick (242/365)
Cataloguing the plants #7, New chilies (243/365)
Moon (244/365)
Reflection (245/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I whipped out the camera, and turned it on... "No card in camera"
Not again!?

Lol
You must admit that it is funny
XD

Well, it didn't all go to waste now, did it? I learned some new tricks and well, maybe I'll keep my memory cards in the bag from this point on. Lesson learned, hopefully. ;)

The third time's the charm

As from the news, this week is going to be even more colder :o . I thought the winter is going to end by the end of this month, but again I’m failed in guessing Finnish winters 🙈😅.

It's going to get warmer in a couple of weeks or so, I gather. Which is kind of sad, seasons pass too quickly.

Yes , I hope so too . Can’t wait for spring :D , that’s so true Man .

Live the life before life leaves us :D xx

The end of the winter according to the criterium of average daily (24h) temperatures rising permanently above zero is only in the beginning of April. It varies a lot from year to year, of course. March is usually clearly a winter month even in the south of Finland. The snow will be gone in a space of one week to ten days in early April. And the waters will normally be free of ice by the end of April.

So still one more month :o ? Today for the first time , I really felt so cold cause it’s so windy , I thought I’m gonna for when I was biking 🙈. I don’t even know how many layers should I put on 😅

It's going to get warmer for sure. But the snow will not be gone for another month if this turns out to be an average winter.

I learned some new tricks

As the common say, every mistake is a style. So it is. Every circumstances teaches us new thing.

I'll keep my memory cards in the bag from this point on. Lesson learned, hopefully. ;)

May be you should have separate cards for each devices.

May be you should have separate cards for each devices.

I do, but the only card I need to move from one device to another is the camera SD-card. It's the fastest way of moving the photos from the camera to the computer. I don't have a good mini USB cable anymore, and even if I did, it'd be a chore to connect it to the camera all the time and wish it would work, while slipping the SD card to the reader always works.

OMG I hate that no card!!!!! I kick myself every time!!

I always like fence posts that diminish as they go!

I always like fence posts that diminish as they go!

Me too. However these are not fence posts, but mooring posts for boats.

Winter finally came to visit us here in the UK as well. Woke up and was very surprised from the view outside my window. image

I know how that feels. I had to end up taking a big black marker and write "muista SD" (muista=remember) all over my drone and my drone controller. I have only forgot to take it with me once after that.

And damn that picture is blue. How does your phone take such photos? Bad luck I guess.

Heh, good advice. I'll be taping that all over my camera now.

Yea, I wonder if it had something to do with the low amount of light and the snowy scene messing with the white balance. It usually takes pretty decent photos.

@gamer00,
Is it still at the winter season? I like photography #1, but I hate that cold weather! If I was there, I will definitely be frozen :D

Cheers~

I'm sure you'd grow used to it, then fond of it if you were to visit. And then miss it when you are gone. :)

Wow!! This photos really look out of this world. Maybe I am saying this because of the snow that we don't have in my country Nigeria. Xool

Let me say that your camera is very professional at playing hide-n-seek :)

"No card in camera"
The photos are very good like you all previous ones. Steem On!

Or the card is... ;)

Good evening, night :d
But thanks to forgetting the memory cards at home again, you've got the blue photo.
It's not bad to bring some unusual stuff time after time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38