One photo every day: Continuing on the bokeh theme (275/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hey!

Yesterday I discussed about how you can create bokeh (a shallow depth of field) in your photos, even with a mobile phone. While I mentioned up to three ways to create bokeh, I failed to make an example for the third one. So to fix that, here's a photo shot with the smartphone (not edited):


Creamy Bokeh with smartphone!

To create a truly shallow depth of field on a smart phone is actually easy. Make it a macro!

What you need, is a small magnifying glass that fits and can be easily attached over the smartphone camera lens. Mine is an 8x magnifying loupe that I've taped onto my phone.

Try this out on your own phone, it will definitely make your photography fun!

I'll be seeing you again tomorrow! :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Bokeh in the forest (274/365) + How does aperture affect a photo? Lesson in Bokeh!]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Miro and the long-wave transmitter. (267/365)
Creamed creativity (268/365)
Shakers (269/365)
Just an idea (271/365)
Multi-vitamin drink (272/365)
Palm Sunday – Easter witches (273/365)
Bokeh in the forest (274/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

@gamer00,
Yeah I want to learn deeper how I can use my smartphone to take this blur photography! My phone have that feature, but so far I didn't get it well :/

Cheers~

Forget using all effects, the only way to get a real blur is to focus close enough so that the plane of focus gets shallower as it gets closer.

Tape it to the lens. Ha. I will try that just for the fun of it. I have to be honest. Most people can do things with their smartphones that I can only do with my regular camera.

They have made them so amazing that it really would benefit me to be able to flip back and forth.

Thanks for the tip.

So! You have given me s very useful to for my smart phone! I will have to look for a magnifying glass!

Thank you very much.

Hey, don't stop and keep making this content. I love your dedication to your project.
Keep up the good work and etc... :O

Seconded. I was standing next to our photography teacher when he took these. The sun was shining very brightly but there was a stretch of forest next to the clearing where there was a ski trail the condition of which I wanted to check out on our way to get lunch.

I have a theory about you and Jaro, but I won't tell it out loud. I'm 85% confident I'm right :D
Mysteryyy... wooo

Thanks for the tip. I noticed that there was a set of lenses (it had a few cheap lenses) for sale at Kärkkäinen for about €20 a couple of months ago. I was apprehensive about buying it as I was unsure as to whether it was possible to use it with my phone. Should it be possible to use them with all phones? (When I saw, I was a bit strapped for cash but now I'm in a better place.)

Just order them from eBay like I did. I hadn't read this post but I coincidentally happened to order new lenses for my phone because I am too lazy to open up my drawer and look for the old ones. These are basically free https://www.ebay.com/itm/3in1-phone-clip-lens-fisheye-wide-angle-for-iphone-6s-plus-5s-5-htc-samsung/351773584499?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&var=620696508011&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649

If really that technique is great .. In my country, they would tell you. Who knows, knows

Started with the Bokeh in the forest, Now Bokeh with a razor.
I demand Bokeh with a pastry!

you're like an academy of photography. nice & useful discussion carry on @gamer00

@resteemia
reteemed & upvoted

small magnifying glass

Is there any alternative aside the magnifying glass?

A real camera perhaps.

I'm sorry but I can't figure out a better way if you really want a truly shallow focus. Software blurring only goes so far, and it is often hit-and-miss, rarely giving an acceptable result.

Here's a photo I took 8 years ago with a pocket camera that was nowhere near to getting a decent blur. I edited the "bokeh" in, and tried emulating the plane of focus (badly):

Looks very artificial if you ask me, and nowhere near to the quality I can get from the Canon with a good glass.

I really like these photography advises.. would come quite handy in the very near future! Will try take some nice shots on my trip to Thailand in 10 days! Doubt they will be any way near your level of photography but I'll try and be a fast learner! :)

The more I see the photos you take, the more they look like art to me. Cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68512.18
ETH 3825.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66