One photo every day: A Postcard from Lahti #1 (252/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

There's something very gratifying when almost all the photos you shot one night are fit for pressing as postcards as soon as you get them off your camera.

After editing, I had a difficult time choosing which one of the best three I should showcase in my OPED project. All of them are of different landmarks visible from the Mustakallio ("Blackrock" Hill).

Branch
A Radio Mast in the distance

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF 75-300mm ƒ/4-5.6
Focal length: 200mm
Aperture: ƒ/5.0
Exposure: 1/320 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

While I was there, I found some friendly people shooting the sunset over the city with their mobile phones, and an old chap walking a dog, whom I had a long friendly chat about photography, trees and fireworks.

I also saw some unbelievably cool looking houses. Not that i would have the nerve of shooting my camera at them. ;)

Anyway, I'll be making a short series of cataloging some of the landmarks in Lahti. This'll be my first post in that series. I know I have posted a few photos of the masts already, but there can never be enough of those I think. And I wasn't doing a series then so it'll be fitting to start with one of them now. I'll name the series "A Postcard from Lahti", and I'll post them with running numbers.

I'm not sure if I'll do them on daily bases or not, I'm already doing a daily photo anyway so I'll probably post them in whenever I can bases, but I'll do a list of the previous shots at the end of each so you'll have an easier task to watching them all later if you so wish.

I hope you liked today's OPED shot, I'll be back posting more photos soon! :)

Postcard #1
Postcard #2
Postcard #3



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: Ahhaha... I tried my 1337 editing skills and created this!]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Reflection (245/365)
Irony caught me in Kahvisaari (246/365)
Bilberry-lingonberry pie (247/365)
Kalevalanpäivä // Kalevala day :: Kantele (248/365)
Full moon (249/365)
I did cheat a bit with these stars. (250/365)
Messilä manor (251/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Beautiful photo, great colors, and I love how the foreground is clear, while the background is out of focus but simple enough to still be "clear" (understood.)

How tall is that mast? I've always loved looking up at (or down from) amazingly tall constructs. Gives me a tingly feeling nothing else can duplicate.

The real fun is when you own a drone and you can stalk these towers :D

Thank you, I had fun photographing it, it was like the the photo made itself for me.

The towers (there are two of them) are 150 meters high each, but since they were built on the Salpaus hill, they rise 300 meters above sea level.

Almost 500 feet. That is incredible. Living in America, specifically in Illinois, most broadcast towers are small and stuck on top of buildings to make up for it. Few chances to see true masts around here. And I've always found the skeletal appearance to almost make them look, taller than a building of similar height.

Tiirismaa, the highest point of the First Salpausselkä chain of ridges about 7 km to the west of Lahti in Hollola, is at a clearly higher elevation at 223 m from sea level. There is a radio mast there, too.

Image Credit

I looked up other photos of that specific mast. Too bad there are all those wires. I know their use and necessity, but imagine doing a BASE jump off of it. :D

Good OPED shot. I look forward to seeing the series on A Postcard from Lahti. Cheers.

That one is very good, nice focus on the tree branch.
A Postcard from Lahti is a nice idea, looking forward to check how it will end up :d

With the colours and the tree on focus like that it gives me the horror vibe a bit hehe. Nice shot again, it's perfect!

You're on fire today, man! By the way, thanks for bringing up Mustakallionmäki as a place to shoot sunsets or the city in general or the city at sunset. How could I have been so stupid as to not come up with the idea of going there myself to shoot in the evening.

Well you have like billion years to do it in the future, so I'm waiting for your version of the photos :D

The problem is that sometimes it's hard to do a 30-minute task even if you have 10 years to complete it. But I guess going for a walk/ride to take some nice pictures isn't that hard so Markku will probably get it done soon :D

Amazing click with perfect angle. This photo series will spice up your posts.

Wow, this photo has everything in it to compete in any photo contest. Perfect!

Thanks! :)

you have nailed it ,it looks like an art!

It does because it is.

You should have just taken some pictures of the houses and not care :D I doubt that someone would care if you did that and if they did care it wouldn't matter because they don't know you.

I've done it but the photos I took last autumn were shit. Better luck in the future. I'd have no compunction taking photos of a house from the street at least not if the residents are not standing in the yard looking or watching me through the window. If the street is empty, I'd say fire away.

You're doing great with photos in the last posts.
I think you are improving very fast, like lightning fast.

Yeah, I would also stay away if I saw someone staring straight into my soul. As long as it's not harmful in any way I think it's morally okay to take some pictures of someone's property. This being said I would still hate if someone took pictures of my home but that's because we have our own house and it's located in a remote place with no roads nearby.

I love the colours from he sunset. The purples and orange together are so relaxing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67286.78
ETH 3751.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70