One photo every day: Full moon (249/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

I managed to capture the full moon.


Stuff of legends.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF 75-300mm ƒ/4-5.6
Focal length: 300mm
Aperture: ƒ/11
Exposure: 1/500 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 400+800

Still not enough sharpness. And now there's grain too. In hindsight I was doing everything exactly right, except that today it wasn't windy. I could have managed this one with a slower shutter speed. Definitely, especially as this time I used a remote switch instead of timer. In about 10 seconds the vibrations were all gone, and I could safely take the shot. 1/500s was an overkill, and thus were the higher ISO settings too.

[Note for next time: If not windy, try 1/200s, and ISO 100/200]

I'm sure it was out of focus too. ;) Anyway, it's a nice shot. Not nearly as nice as the previous one. I liked the shadows on that one.

I'll be trying this again some day. Shooting the sky is kind of fun. Maybe I'll try shooting at the stars again too before my project is over.


Uncropped version.



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Kalevalanpäivä // Kalevala day :: Kantele (248/365) + bilberry-lingonberry pie recipe]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 
 
 

Moby Dick (242/365)
Cataloguing the plants #7, New chilies (243/365)
Moon (244/365)
Reflection (245/365)
Irony caught me in Kahvisaari (246/365)
Bilberry-lingonberry pie (247/365)
Kalevalanpäivä // Kalevala day :: Kantele (248/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I am in awe, i only get a blurry white spot.
amazing!!!!!!!

I resteemed.
The things must have been huge that hit it to leave marks like it has.
:O

EDIT:
it is now my new wallpaper, use to be pure black but now your photo, hope that is ok.

P.S. perfect high res wallpaper.

I like the photo, and despite what you say to me it looks great,

Yesterday I was trying to take a couple of photos to the moon but the brightness blinds my camera

LOL
Now that I see it well it looks like a little sun at night
:P

DSC04600.JPG

This looks good! The full moon was last night? I just had missed it as I had taken the moon photo one day too early.

As small details on photography, I love how you can see the small advantage of cropped sensor in the photo. With 300mm focal length you were able to get "closer" to the moon than I got with my camera.

However as I had used lower ISO, I had less noise in the photo.

Your moon photo still looks really good :)

I'll have to look for the next full moon to get my own full moon photo..

Thanks!

The full moon was last night?

Made a quick check. According to the calendar, the full moon is tonight, so there's still time.

I wonder if I should follow @dromzz's advice and try again. Clouds be damned. ;)

It may be the 6D has a newer and more advanced sensor chip than my 550D in addition to being full-frame. Yes, (after checking,) it appears that in those 2 years Canon went from Digic 4 to Digic 5+, and that at least means much less noise even with higher ISO sensitivity.

I like your photo too btw.

I'm very much thinking of renting or loaning a 600mm lens just to try how well it fares.

It looks promising out there. I just came from skiing on Lake Vesijärvi. Not a cloud in sight.

Have you any experience with these extenders? For example with a Canon 2X extender? I've been thinking if one of those could be a handy tool to get better range for my existing lenses instead of buying bigger ones.

In my photos I managed to use iso 100, as I was using a slow shutter speed and a tripod :)

I've only used macro extenders in school. I've heard the range extenders negatively affect exposure so I've kept my hands off them. ;)

What shutter speed did you use? The moon moves relatively slow, but I'm a bit iffy about using slower than 1/100s, because even on the tripod it still has quite a lot vibrations when extended at 300mm. Especially if it's even the least bit windy.

But I'm actually going out right now to try again. Wish me luck.

If I've understood right, if you have a 2X range extender it also doubles the aperture, so with a 300mm f/4 you would basically have 600mm f/8.

I could try one if I could test it for free, but wouldn't invest a lot of money on a extender without testing.

On the most successful photo I had 1/15, ISO 100 and aperture at f/20. I was taking the photo on balcony so with glasses (and opened up one of the windows to get the photo) so I didn't think of the wind.. or even of the moons movement.

Good luck :)

Edit: Damn it was cloudy in here, couldn't get any good photos.

I wonder what it'd be like to shoot through a 600mm lens with a 2x extender...

f/20 could be a bit overkill. The sweet spot in terms of sharpness of almost any lens is usually at f/8 to f/11, and most lenses can focus the moon with those, so if the theory is right, you should be able to use much faster exposure times. I'm fairly certain that the moon does travel quite a long distance in 1/15s. However negligible it may be.

Right now I'm pre-processing my photos, so I'll be back when I've fully edited them.

Btw. It looked like the full moon was last night (maybe in the morning hours), because as I was shooting now, the right side of the moon had started to go into shadow.

Nice capture of full moon , in india call it poornima night moon .

Brother who photo so beautiful, to me, I love the moon, sometimes when I visit my mother-in-law in a village that has no light pollution, there are only few houses, far away from each other, it is there where I can enjoy a very starry sky with its full moon, and that picture I loved, and my wife too.

Today at 6:25 am I went to take my daughters to school, and as soon as we left the house, I saw this blessing of love. Do not hesitate to take a picture and make a post, I hope you can see it,

It dawned, a new day, a new challenge, a new month. welcome March

it's a really good photo, you has the curse of the perfectionist, the moon looks so big I don't see any problem with the photo, well I don't know to much about photography but I know when I see something cool, you made me go outside and you try to take a picture with my cell phone but it's very bad that I do not have the courage to post it.

Without a doubt, the best clicks you have taken so far. May be, I'm bit biased when it's about moon. :)

That turned out well. I always think it looks like a cantaloupe on the ends!

So true, it does look it one.

Looks like an Orange made of stone :d
I would really like to know what happened there. I have a feeling that the moon wasn't always like that. Maybe once it was an Orange.

The perfect definition of ow full moons look! There really isn't even the smallest shadow cast over it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30