Happy Steemit New Year – 2017 intentions and 2016 reviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Including an index of my 2016 posts, in categories, for the convenience of anybody who might want to go back and look at some of my archives.

Or failing that, for my own convenience at some point in the future!

Image by @sift666

2016 has shown me a fascinating time on Steemit. I’ve reconnected with my own desire to write and share knowledge. I’ve read all sorts of great stuff. I’ve connected with and talked to a bunch of amazing, entertaining and funny people.

Here’s a snapshot of a moment in time that is the 1st January, 2017:

I’m no @papa-pepper (though I did win a @papa-pepper snow globe) but I’m very happy with my achievements and my body of work here on Steemit.

A salute to some of my fellow kiwis here on Steemit

~ @sift666, @benjamin.still, @trevor.george, @skymaiden, @kiwiscanfly, @biglipsmama, @senseiteekay

A shout out to a few of the others I think of as friends

~ @alienbutt, @baerdric, @dreemit, @giantbear, @michelle.gent, @neptun, @nonameslefttouse, @onetree, @rebeccaryan, @themagus, @woman-onthe-wing

There are too many whose posts I enjoy to list them all!

“Hope to see you back” to some who have disappeared

~ @daxon, @geke, @jamielefay, @jimitations, @lukeofkondor, @sharingeverybite, @stephmckenzie

Pixabay

My Steemit goals for 2017

I love Steemit and I’m here for the long haul. But I have spent a LOT of time here, and in 2017 I need to spread my attention a bit wider.

I tried allocating a certain amount of time each day, but to be honest, I then totally disregarded my own rules. So the only rule I’m going to set is – no Steemit from 9am to 6pm, Monday to Thursday. Everytime (if there is such a word – if there isn’t, I just invented it) else is fair game.

I aim to write three or four new articles a week.

New articles on nutrition or health will be shared on my other websites and blogs. I need to spend at least as much time each week getting those blogs up to date and maintaining them as I spend on Steemit. I’ll also share some on StumbleUpon.

At this point I still intend to do my own manual curating, commenting as much as I can.

I had to give up curating health-trail, as I didn’t have to time to do it justice on my own. But I’m hoping to continue to support steemtrail by helping @baerdric curate paleo-trail.

I’m not going to set numerical goals for reputation or SteemPower, because I have no idea of the limits we can reach. But I’m aiming for 500 followers, or even more!

Other intentions for 2017

I could list a bunch of new habits, or old habits that I want to get back into. But for now here are 3:

• Walk at least 20 minutes every day
• Work out with weights in our home gym at least 3 times a week
• And I might do another 3 day water fast sometime in January

Although the weather in Wellington is coldish, wettish, very windy and most un-summer-like today, @sift666 and I did put on our jackets and winter hats and walk down to the beach. So Day 1 is ticked off.

A fantastic 2017 to you all. Thanks for reading this far, and I hope my Index below is helpful to some of you.

Archive of my 2016 posts, in these categories ~ Recipes & Kitchen tips ~ Nutrition ~ Health & Lifestyle ~ Music & Entertainment ~ Other Thoughts about Life

RECIPES AND KITCHEN TIPS

(these are all real food recipes, and mostly gluten free, grain free, Paleo and GAPS friendly)

Choc Blackcurrant Smoothie
Paleo Cottage Pie
Feijoa Pear Smoothie
Grain free, dairy free Pumpkin & Cashew Bread
Tip for storing ginger & tumeric
Grain Free Banana Cashew muffins
Warming winter soup
Breakfast ideas
Healthy Chocolate & Fudge
Jerky with vegetables
Choco-mallow protein bars
Equipment for the real food kitchen
Carrot Almond bread
Grain free Fruit & Nut bar
Vegetable muffins
Finger food for a gathering
Real food ideas for snacks and road trips
Grain free cheese muffins
Best ever (and easiest) Christmas cake
Orange Cranberry Xmas Breakfast Muffins
Festive smoothies for Xmas morning
Crisp & crunchy Xmas cheese stars
Xmas menu ideas
Planning your holiday eating to be a bit more balanced
• For MORE RECIPES and my 15 step Whole Food cooking course, see my recipe website.

NUTRITION:

The wide variety of healthy diets out and what they have in common
The travels of Weston A Price and his discoveries about healthy diets
Good fats vs bad fats
DNA testing for better Health & Fitness
DNA testing part 2: How Well Do I Digest Carbs?
DNA testing Part 3: I can’t eat Carbs & How to Manage that
About the Gut & Psychology syndrome (GAPS) diet Part 1 – Can it help autism?
GAPS diet Part 2: Foods we can’t have
GAPS diet Part 3: Foods we CAN have
GAPS diet Part 4: What if I can’t eat some animal foods
Salicylate intolerances
Introduction to the Paleo diet

HEALTH & LIFESTYLE:

Sleep like a kitten Part 1 – 3 tips
Sleep Well Part 2 – What’s your sleeping style?
Sleep Well Part 3 – Resetting your body clock
Thoughts about Breast Health
I’ve got a cold & how to handle it
Overcoming my fears
Positivity Challenge 4 – Emotional Freedom Technique Part 1
EFT Part 2 – Getting started
Six days training in a new natural therapy
Quick & Easy calming tip
EFT Tapping videos for Xmas stress

MUSIC & ENTERTAINMENT:

Benefits of joining a community choir
Wearable Arts Award Show
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994
If crying in movies was an Olympic sport
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014

OTHER THOUGHTS ABOUT LIFE:

My Intro
Are there kiwis in the house?
My grandmother’s legacy
Steemit in downtown Wellington
Observations from a bus
The brandy snap maker
2 months on Steemit and now curating health, nutrition and recipes
Positivity Challenge 3 – Acts of kindness
Positivity Challenge 4 with a twist
News on the NZ earthquake
More news on the NZ quake
Earthquake aftermath
The NZ Prime Minister just resigned!
Remembering those who passed away in 2016

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

[I offer one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. Bitcoin, Steem or Paypal accepted. Contact me in Discord or SteemitChat.


Badges courtesy of @elyaque and https://www.steemverify.com/

Sort:  

Usual quality post @kiwideb... and I glad I made your list. I usually look forward to your tag n my replies box {grin} ... and great resolutions. I am sure we will have tons of interactions throughout 2017.... and as regards the unseasonal weather there..Cape Town is extremely seasonal.. 32 degree already and it is not even close to midday... I is melting {sob....drip...sob}

At the risk of making you feel even worse, I would rather be too cold and wearing a hat in the middle of summer, than too hot. I can always put my puffer on, but there's only so much you can take off. And no, please don't send me photos. Any other interactions are always welcome though :-)

Correct, that is why I prefer winter... I prefer the comfort foods like stews, casseroles and of course curries. Fireplaces, snuggling up and of course good red wine or fine single malt.. I am a being who lives for my senses {grin}

Thanks for reading. I hope you're enjoying Steemit. I looked at your blog and you have some really nice nature shots there.

Good goals. Writing and movement. Great combo. I will most certainly work through your index as these are topics of interest for me. Have a great day.

Thanks. I looked at your blog. Some nice work there and I'll be following you. You've done a lot of posts in a few days! Wow. You might want to limit to 4 per day as you get better rewards that way. A few of us are just starting to build up the paleo tag so that might be of interest for you to check out too. And some of your posts might be appropraite to tag with paleo.
https://steemit.com/created/paleo

I have a series blogs in a dormant library so I will be sharing them here and sharing with people who are interested. More traffic and like minded people. I think I will enjoy my time here in Steem. :) I have some Paleo blogs so I will be sure to tag them and contribute to your cause. :)

Thanks. Was just checking out some of your paintings - they're excellent.

I should be passed out, instead I made coffee and drank pints of water. The upside is I when I do fall asleep I will not wake up with a massive hangover. The down side is I will probably be running to the bathroom all night long as any one of the three beverages I've consumed turn my bladder into a faucet. So no massive hangover but definitely not the makings of a perky me when I get up for the day. Thankfully it's Sunday so I can lounge around for the most part. And that was a really self-absorbed way to start a comment on a post about you where you were magnificently kind enough to include me. I'm so glad you count me among your friends and the feeling is mutual. In fact it seems it was right after my milestone post that our seeds of friendship truly blossomed and now I wish I had waited a day or two to post it because you belong in it. You will most certainly be in the next one!
New Zealand, literally the other side of the world...you said your first day is complete? What time is it there? I was about to be distraught over your new restrictions and then I realized I have no idea what that translates to on my clock. I live five hours from the Big Apple, it is currently a quarter after three in the morning, Gawd I must sleep soon. Your recipes look fabulous and I will be pasting this link in Word so I can get to them. Though I'm not sure they'll be conducive to my plans for taking off the holiday fifteen. Yep, freshman fifteen has followed me through life but instead of a year to put it on I manage it in two months...and I may have a few extra pounds that jumped on me since the start of fall (and by a few I mean a few times two) Okay, truly off to bed now...after I pee. Good night!

You made me laugh again :-)
I won't start my new time restrictions till we start work again on Wednesday 4th. The next two days are still holidays, though I will be writing Steemit posts like mad to get a bit ahead!
It's 9.35pm on Sunday here, so I'm 18 hours ahead of you. Which means 3pm to midnight your time is when I will be beavering away doing actual work! Oh no!
Whether my recipes are conducive to your plans depend on what you're eating now. Keep watching the paleo tag for more - I might write a bit about meal spacing and how that helps.
Hopefully you are asleep by now. Sweet dreams.

Happy new year Deb!

Looking forward to getting #paleo mainstream in steemit in 2017, and helping a lot of people get healthy.

Happy New Year:)

Thanks for the shoutout @kiwideb! Not gone for good, just taking a little hiatus to deal with some serious medical issues (it seems the systemic nickel allergy syndrome effects are much more serious than I thought.) I hope to be back writing soon!

Looks like you've had an amazing year!! So great to see that. You write such beautiful, informative posts, we are all lucky to have you here on Steemit!

I wondered if that was the case and was meaning to message and see how you were doing. Hope you're feeling better soon. x

Thank you. Yeah, my health sorta took a turn for the worse in the past few months and I've just been trying to keep my head above water. Sadly, Steemit has taken the back burner. I'm hoping to use some of your gut-healing tricks to speed up the recovery. :)

If there's anything I can help with, feel free to message me in Chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97