EASY no-starch, dairy free PUMPKIN & CASHEW BREAD recipe

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

Suitable for GAPS, SCD, Paleo, gluten free, dairy free or low carb diets

This morning, as predicted, it’s raining, and if anything I’m seedier than yesterday. But I have this little something for you that I prepared earlier. Then, oh I don’t know, maybe I’ll take some vitamin C, make some scrambled eggs, turn on the wi-fi and go back to bed with the laptop, and do some curating. Or more sleeping.

This is my favourite GAPS bread, and really it’s more like eating cake. It’s not ketogenic or very low carb, but it’s much lower than typical breads.

You can dress it up or down, make it savoury or sweet. It goes well with soup to make a meal more substantial. For a recent choir trip, I made it into muffins and filled them with cottage cheese. Avocado would also have been nice. Or have it for breakfast with mashed banana on top.

If you want a lighter bread, there are more complicated cashew bread recipes out there that involve separating the eggs, and beating the egg whites till fluffy, but this way is a lot quicker.

• 6 large eggs - preferably free range (pastured)
• 1 tsp celtic sea salt
• 500gm raw unsalted cashews
• 1.5 tsp baking soda, sifted
• 2 cups cooked, mashed pumpkin
• 2 Tbs apple cider vinegar

Turn on the oven to 150ºC (300ºF) and line a loaf tin with baking paper.

Put the cashews into the food processor and blitz till the pieces are small (about like a pin head).

Add the eggs one or two at a time, beating till they are well mixed in. Scrape down the sides a couple of times as you go.

Add the yoghurt, kefir or mashed pumpkin and beat till thick and creamy.

Add in the salt and baking soda and beat again.

Take out the food processor blade, and pour mixture into the lined loaf tin (making sure to hold the paper in place at the sides to stop it falling down under the mixture as you pour).

Bake for 60 to 80 minutes at 150ºC (300ºF), or until a skewer comes out clean.

Apart from the first two, I’ve never tried these other variations, as I really like the base recipe, but I think they’d all be great. If you try them out, come back and tell us how it worked out.

• Use the same mix to make muffins
• If you’re not dairy free, you could use 2 cups yoghurt or kefir instead of the pumpkin and vinegar
• I’ve never tried making banana bread, but I think 1 cup yoghurt and 1 cup mashed banana would come out really nicely
• Add 1-2 tsp powdered ginger and some pureed dates for a gingerbread.
• Adding ½ to cup raisins or sultanas, or any chopped dried fruit, to the base recipe (or the banana or gingerbread) would make a nice fruit bread
• For a savoury bread, replace ½ of the pumpkin / yoghurt with grated zucchini or grated carrot, and add some dried herbs
• Make up your own variation and tell us about it

_For another version, which uses part coconut flour and part cashew, see my recipe website at http://www.frot.co.nz/design/recipes/cashew-bread/ _

Thanks for reading and (hopefully) upvoting! (Remember you still have 40 votes per day.) Follow me for more nutrition, health, diet, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

My other recipes on Steemit:
Choc Blackcurrant Smoothie
Paleo Cottage Pie
Feijoa Pear Smoothie

For more recipes and my 15 step Whole Food cooking course, see my recipe website.

Sort:  

Sounds delicious, @kiwideb. It's ingredients are all in the "clean cuisine" anti-inflammatory way of eating I follow, except the eggs would be pastured eggs. Clean cuisine only allows pastured eggs (from chickens allowed to roam free and eat a natural diet as they would in the wild).

Clean cuisine would also allow raw honey, 100% pure maple syrup, mashed fruit, or organic coconut palm sugar as sweeteners.

I'm going to need to try this one. Yum. :)

Ooh, did I not specify that the eggs should be pastured? Better fix that!
I like the clean cuisine list of sweeteners - they're the ones I'd go for myself. Though for anyone following GAPS (and this comment is for them, not you), honey or mashed fruit are the only ones allowed, till more healing has taken place.
Here in NZ, pumpkin is generally considered more savoury that sweet, so I think of this as a neutral bread, but I imagine anyone from the US would immediately see it as a sweet recipe.

ud has awakened my appetite thanks for sharing the recipe

Excellent! thanks.

Yum!
Now That Looks Very Delish!
Steem On!
:))

Thanks. I want to show people that GAPS food can be delicious.

:))
Smiles!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64158.52
ETH 3293.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.46