60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Time to finish off the 90s and travel into the 21st century. More Steemians might be interested in this time period, though my picks might still be more to the taste of those who have been taking this journey with me so far.

1995 – Condolences to Thom Yorke, the front man of Radiohead, whose long term ex-partner of 23 years died of cancer a few days ago. Although Creep, from their first album Pablo Honey, is probably their best known song and their third album OK Computer is arguably the most acclaimed, my favourite album of theirs is The Bends. I’ve chosen this live version of Black Star.

1996 – I had a hard job choosing between three Ocean Colour Scene songs. I eventually decided on The Riverboat Song, but Policemen and Pirates, and The Circle were a close second and third.

1997 – Another NZ icon, the gorgeous, honey-toned Bic Runga with Drive.

1998 - In the 90s, @sift666 and I were part owners in Cycle Services, a sifty little purple and green bike shop at the “alternative” end of the city. One of our regular customers was Tall Beast, from the Wellington band Head Like A Hole (HLAH). I didn’t care for most of their music, but this song, Wet Rubber, hits my funky bone big time. If you're at work, you might want to jump to about 30 seconds in.

1998 continued – And I’ve also got to have David Grey – This Year’s Love.

And surprise, surprise, two picks again for 1999. First is Bic Runga’s sister Boh and the band Stellar playing Violent. The sisters have rather different styles of music.

1999 - Moby – I was going to go with Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? But eventually decided on Run On.

So here we come to the 21st century. Old geezers like myself and @sift666 are fond of saying “Music isn’t what it was”, or “There’s no good music any more”. But for the first few years, I’m still finding it easy to remember/find songs I liked for every year and sometimes I’ve still got two picks.

2000 - Three Doors Down – Superman Kryptonite. A memory – just out of the shower at the gym, alone in the dressing room, boogying in just a towel. Or maybe not even a towel…

Also from 2000 – Everclear with Wonderful.

2001 – This is the year I first heard the song Hallelujah, sung by John Cale, on the film Shrek. It’s still my favourite version, even though I’ve heard some other fabulous ones.

I have another one for 2001 but that can wait till next time…

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Some of my previous posts about music: Benefits of joining a community choir ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~ ~ Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994

Image (and feet) by @sift666

Even though it’s summer in NZ, I’m feeling festive with the Papa-Pepper Snow Globe I won – thanks @papa-pepper


Badges courtesy of @elyaque and https://www.steemverify.com/

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 23. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 23 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Excellent list! The only thing you're missing is Pearl Jam (I heart Eddie, haha) The first time I heard Hallelujah was on Shrek as well, it's also my favorite version. Leonard Cohen wrote the original and it has several more stanzas, but while I love Leonard for his lyrical prowess and his personality, I'm not a huge fan of his singing style...hope that's not sacrilegious considering he recently passed away!

There are a lot of people I've missed, sadly. But given that 23 Dec is Eddie's birthday, it was a terrible oversight! Though I would have picked Jeremy from 1991, so he'd have been in the last post.
Or Throw Your Arms (originally by Australian band Hunters & Collectors)


Happy birthday Eddie!

I meant to reply to this, sorry! I've been utterly distracted the past few days. Jeremy was the first song I ever heard by them and I fell in love with his voice at first listen. I can't say what my favorite is, there are too many I love. And his versions of other songs are amazing too, like Throw your arms around me, and also Love reign o'er me-incredible.

You're allowed to be distracted over Xmas... Hopefully there will be something you like in my next post in an hour or two, as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52