Benefits of joining a community CHOIR, even if you think you CAN’T SING

in #music8 years ago (edited)

I love my community choir, and not just because I love to sing and dance.

Maybe not all Community Choirs are as awesome as the one I’m in, but if you get even half the benefits and fun that I’ve had, it will be worth it.

Ten reasons why singing with my community choir is awesome

Singing is good for your health

There have been a number of studies showing health benefits from singing in a group. Singing can increase your lung capacity, improve your breathing, get your blood pumping, increase your heart rate and lower blood pressure. It can reduce perceived pain. It may help to reduce snoring and increase immunity. It helps us bond with others, releases endorphins and other neurotransmitters, and improves happiness.

In our choir we move a lot as well, which increases the benefits.

It’s an Open Choir and anybody can join

11 years ago, a small group of enthusiastic but untutored singers got together and decided to found a choir that anybody can join. They recruited the amazing Julian Raphael as musical director, and the rest is history.

There are only two prerequisites for joining - a desire to sing, and the ability to get yourself to rehearsal. You don’t have to read music. You don’t have to have sung before. There are no auditions. Get yourself there and pay your $7 (or $5 unwaged) and you’re in the choir.

Everything is learnt by ear, with the words on a screen in front. If you can listen, you can learn. It truly is as simple as that. Not always as easy as that, sometimes it’s hard work, but always rewarding and enjoyable.

Everybody gets included and cared for

One of the founding members had been through Landmark forum, and he initiated a system of name tags. That sounds like a small, even insignificant, thing. But it means you never have to ask anybody’s name, you get to know the other singers in your voice group, and can make friends more quickly.

Every week, 100+ people turn up covering a wide spectrum. We typically have 3-5 members with special physical or mental needs, who are always looked after. This might be helping someone to the bathroom during a break, or comforting someone who gets upset during rehearsal. The members are there for each other.

After the break, one of the core team gets up and asks who needs a ride home. Never has she failed to find everyone a ride home. For many people, this means the difference between being able to go to choir or not.

Our leaders are amazing

Personally, I think Julian is a genius, and our assistant musical director Carol is awesome too. They are musicians, singers, composers and an inspiration.

Our choreographer, Lala, finds moves that even the non dancers amongst us can do, and she stands in front of us during performances. That takes the stress out for non dancers, as they don’t have to remember what to do.

All three of them are much loved and appreciated by the membership.

We get to sing a fantastic variety of music

We have four groups of singers: soprano, alto, tenor and bass. Most of the songs are four part harmony, sometimes only two parts, and occasionally more than four. Although I love the soprano parts best, as that’s what suits my voice, we get an appreciation for the beauty of the other voices too. Maybe opposites attract, as I am often blown away by the bass melodies.

Mostly we sing world music. We often do African songs, which are energetic and joyful (or sometimes sad) with beautiful harmonies and a funky beat. We have sung songs from all over the world, each with their unique flavour.

Sometimes the African songs are accompanied by drums or marimba and I defy you to stand still when those awesome rhythms pound. Other times we sing accompanied by piano or guitar, or we sing a capella.

From our own country of New Zealand, or Aoteroa, we have a range of Maori songs in our repertoire. We are currently learning some more contemporary songs from our popular bands such as The Mockers, Tim Finn and Crowded House.

Individuality is encouraged

When we are about to do a performance, inevitably someone new asks “What is the dress code?’ and Julian invariably answers “Whatever you like, as long as it’s not black.” Some choirs have uniforms, which look very smart. But our choir is bright, colourful and individual.

Some songs are choreographed, and some are not. If there are no set dance moves, we are free to move in our own way, and dance as much or as little as we like.

You can choose where you sing. We have a woman who sings with the basses, a man who sings with the altos and loads of lady tenors. It all works.

Your singing and your confidence will grow in leaps and bounds

As a child, I was told I couldn’t sing and always believed it. In my 20s, I longed to be in musicals but could only dance and not sing. A workmate talked me into singing lessons and after a lot of work, I was adequate enough to be in the chorus in amateur musicals. I loved being in them but still never had any confidence, and couldn’t ever have sung by myself.

After a few months in the community choir, my voice had improved amazingly. I also had the confidence to demonstrate a harmony by singing it to another soprano, who had missed a rehearsal. For someone loves to sing, but doesn’t want anyone to hear them, this was a huge step.

I know there are many others who came to choir thinking they couldn’t sing, but found their voices.

I love my fellow sopranos

I have over time met some of the altos, tenor and basses too, but I especially love my fellow sops. We work together, support each other and sound awesome together. There is a camaraderie from a shared interest and passion, but there is also a lot of regard and respect for many of them as friends.

You can have your 15 minutes of fame, and still hide at the back

At my first rehearsal, I was told to stand at the front so I could hear better, and I’ve stood in the front row ever since. This includes in performances. Having been in shows and dance recitals before, I’m not too shy to be in the front, though I do work very hard to make sure I know all of the words, harmonies and dance moves.

Others may have a longing to perform, but also want to hide. When you have 150 people on stage, you can do both. So there is a place for everyone.

Some of the photos are from our 10th anniversary concert, but we perform in lots of places. This year we’ve sung at two community festivals, in a tunnel, on a marae, in a church, in native bush and in the botanical gardens.

We have awesome trips

I’ve only been in the choir for 18 months, so have only been on one trip, but I’m told they’ve all been fabulous. There were two highlights for me of our trip to Wanganui earlier this year. One was getting to visit and sing in some places I would never have been able to visit on my own. The other was getting to know some of the members from other voice groups.

Maybe three highlights. Watching our choreographer playing mbira on the shore of a lake, and bewitching a neighbouring goat, was rather awesome too.

I don’t think there are any other Wellingtonians on Steemit yet, but for any who join in the future, check out http://www.wellingtoncommunitychoir.org.nz/

Everybody else, see if there is a community choir in your neighbourhood, and try something new. I promise you won’t regret it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85