60 years of my favourite music – 1989 to 1994steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music7 years ago

I wasn’t going to post this till Friday, but I’ve got nothing else quite ready to post. And @themagus is hanging out for some of my 90s picks. Or so I like to think…

1989 – I’m picking Tom Petty – Free Falling. I think. Or shall we go with Cindy Lauper? I like her other songs but I love Drove All Night. You know what I’m going to say already, don’t you? Let’s have both!

1989 continued…

1990 – Midnight Oil – Forgotten Years. I also love Beds are Burning and Power and the Passion, but this is my favourite. It hits both the singing loudly and leaping round the room buttons.

1991 - k d lang – Barefoot – I was already a fan of k d lang when I saw her in the film “Salmonberries” in the Wellington film festival. The haunting track from the soundtrack became my favourite.

From 1992 we have Indigo Girls. Although I love the album Indigo Girls, I eventually chose something from Rites of Passage which I possibly love even more. Here’s Galileo.

Also from 1992 – ah, the sublime voice of Michael Stipe. How to pick just one R.E.M. song? But I decided to go with Man on The Moon.

1993 – Joshua Kadison – Jessie. I don’t know why this song gets me. It’s a nice enough song, but I don’t love it. BUT… every time it comes on, if I’m at home on my own, I start crying. WTF? It’s a mystery, but I use it as an opportunity to “Cry and Tap”. Play it over and over, while tapping through the EFT points, till I stop crying. Don’t know what it’s clearing, but I trust it’s clearing something.

This song was released in 1994 on the album The Mask and The Mirror, but the event that inspired it took place in 1993, so I’m calling it my second pick for 1993 - Loreena McKennitt - Marrakesh Night Market.

1994 – I kept hearing this song on the radio that I really liked, and the DJ never said what it was. Eventually I found out it was Lightening Crashes by Live, from the album Throwing Copper. I found there were lots on the album I liked a lot, but since it was the first…

1994 continued – Another Kiwi classic, possibly my favourite ever New Zealand song – Anchor Me by The Muttonbirds.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

I am now on Peerhub offering one on one nutritional coaching and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype.

Some of my previous posts about music: Benefits of joining a community choir ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~ ~ Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988


Badges courtesy of @elyaque and https://www.steemverify.com/

Sort:  

Ahhhh so considerate @kiwideb.... working my way from top to bottom right now. I am glad to see (and hear) that there were some decent muso's in the 90's. I just LOVE Indigo Girls... magic memories around my children growing up... Tom Petty had a great voice... and there are a couple of newbies for me.. The Muttonbirds {images of flying lambs pops into head} .. and I was never a 'Live' fan...but will give it a listen.
Another top post ...thanks @kiwideb

That article....second paragraph commencing with 'The process:'......it fails to mention that the chicks first have their young lives terminated.... Please tell me that IS so...... I am feeling a bit traumatized at this moment imagining live chicks having their legs and wings cut off and dipped into hot wax......{shudder}

I have to admit that I only skimmed enough of the article to see that it would tell you what a muttonbird is. I didn't go into that much depth. I don't know for sure, but I think (hope) the NZ SPCA would be kicking up a huge fuss if that was the case. Now that I've made you shudder, my day's work is definitely not done. Must atone. Work harder...

Me again.... OK, still don't like Live... nor KD Lang for that matter. I was lucky enough to see REM in Cape Town, one of my all time favourite bands. The Muttonbirds I will investigate more.... Hokay...I stop spamming you now {grin}

Please don't stop spamming me - then I'll think that nobody is listening to my picks!
S'ok that we have some differences in taste. If we were exactly the same, it might be a bit strange...
For eg, I don't like Neil Young. I know he's a superb musician and what I just said is sacrilege, but even so. Horse with No Name is third on my most hated song list. (No 2 is Don't Worry Be Happy by Bobby McFerran. No 1 is Get Out of Your Lazy Bed by ... whoever the %^&* was that sang it, can't remember.)
But we can still be friends, right?

Lol, thanks for the laugh.... I could try and list my most hated songs and it could be very long. I agree with the two you mention...the third I never (obviously thankfully) never heard..... Venus by Shocking Blue and covered by a myriad of other brain dead people springs to mind ....

If I made someone laugh, my day's work is done.
Of course that is sheer hyperbole and although it's 5.40pm and everybody else is going home from work, I've still got shit loads to do. A quick break to check my Replies and then I'll be back to it. The pitfalls of working from home.
Venus doesn't spring to mind, which is probably a blessing.

I'm jealous that you saw REM live.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95