Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my favourite Xmas musicsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

Every year the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra give a free Christmas concert in the atrium of our national museum, Te Papa.

And for the last two years, they’ve invited singers to form a pop up choir to sing carols and Christmas songs. There’s a workshop beforehand to learn the songs, then we stand either side of the orchestra while they play. So last Saturday, I went into town to take part.

In the Community Choir, we often sing unaccompanied, though sometimes we might have drummers, marimba players, a guitar or piano accompanying us. So it was lovely to have a different type of music to sing along to. I’m not a classical singer by any stretch of the imagination, but orchestra + carols is the best of both worlds. Very enjoyable.

There aren’t any videos to share, but here are a couple of pics I quickly snapped before we started singing.

Some of the brass section are getting into the Christmas spirit, and a few of the pop up choir can be seen at the far side.

Another view of the orchestra with some audience at far left and up above.

Moving on to my best loved Christmas music for you to sing along with…

Three favourite Christmas Songs

Let’s start with something a bit lively. Much as I love carols, they’re not usually very spirited.

But first, a story from the “misheard lyrics” file. I know you youngsters don’t know about misheard lyrics, having always had Songmaster Google to consult, but they were frequent in my day. That could be a-whole-nother post.

When my best mate’s sister was little, she thought this song was Release Mummy Duck. So we’ve called it that ever since. But it’s actually Feliz Navidad ~ by Jose Feliciano.

Yes, I know it’s probably as corny as it gets. Yes, I know it’s has been around for ever. But isn’t that what Christmas is all about? I still get a kick out of Snoopy’s Christmas ~ by the Royal Guardsmen.

I did most of my partying in the 80’s, so I had to include Do They Know Its Christmas ~ by Band Aid, from 1984.

Five of my favourite Carols

Well, I think this one is a carol. But maybe it’s just a Christmas song? What makes a carol a carol? Anyway, I think this is the one I love best.

A few years ago, when I was putting together some Christmas routines for my Arthritis exercise class, I spent ages tossing up between Johnny Mathis and Andy Williams for this song. Johnny won by a hair and has been entertaining my class every Christmas for nearly a decade. Till I discovered Pentatonix and he was ousted from his perch.

It always makes me cry, just a little. Why? Who knows. But I did notice one of my arthritis ladies looking a bit moist round the edges this week as well, so maybe it’s not just me.

Without further ado, here’s The Little Drummer Boy ~ performed by Pentatonix.

Duking it out for top spot – maybe they have to be first equal – is this much loved classic. I’m sure there are many, many beautiful versions out there, but I like this one. Silent Night ~ sung by Jewel .

Another beautiful classic. I listened to a lot of versions on Youtube before deciding on this one for your listening pleasure. O Holy Night ~ performed by Celtic Women.

This one is a bit of an odd mix. The verses I can take or leave, but I love the “Glor-or-or-or-or-or-or-ia, Hosanna in Excelsis” in the chorus. Feel free to move on quickly if it doesn’t do it for you. Ding Dong Merrily on High ~ performed by the CBC Choir (whoever they are).

Let’s finish with a bit of Joy and some more Pentatonix. What more could you ask for? Joy To The World ~ performed by Pentatonix.

Of course, there are a lot more great Christmas songs. Which ones do you love best?

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Previous MUSIC posts: Benefits of joining a community choir ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~ ~ 60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976

Previous XMAS posts: Best ever (and easiest) Christmas cake ~ Orange Cranberry Xmas Breakfast Muffins ~ Festive smoothies for Xmas morning

I am now on Peerhub offering one on one nutritional coaching and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype.



Sort:  

Nice. But Snoopy will always be my favorite.

Let's hope he stays the favourite for a whole new generation, and isn't lost in the mist of time.

Those are some beautiful pieces of music. My favorites are O, Holy Night and Silent Night. The Pentatonix are incredible, too! I had never heard of them until I saw this post.

My favorite Christmas music is from Mannheim Steamroller and the Narada Christmas collections. Those are the albums I remember mom playing around Christmas when I was a child. They really bring back the magic feeling I felt back in those days when I was young.

Upvoted, resteemed, and following.

Thanks. I'll check those albums out.
There's nothing quite like music from our youth, is there?
Following you too now.

I miss my childhood, especially around Christmas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52