60 years of my favourite music – Part 1 – 1957 to 1966steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago

My favourite songs are usually ones that cause me to either leap around the room in total abandon, or sing loudly at the top of my voice. Or, even better, to sing loudly at the top of my voice while leaping round the room in total abandon. Some of them are favourites because they just about rip my heart out of my chest. And some just slay me with their beauty.


Pixabay

My tastes are somewhat eclectic. I don’t much care for most jazz, thrash metal, electronica or modern classical, though there are exceptions. But there are things I like in most other genres. Some of my picks might be for popular artists, but my favourite track of theirs might be an obscure one.

I have hundreds of favourite songs and found it hard to choose. So I decided on one from each year, from the year of my conception to this year. Obviously some of these were not my favourites at the time, even in the later years. But mostly they’re songs that have stood the test of time and they still affect me today. Some of them are in homage to some of our Kiwi greats.

Even that was hard; some years I’ve cheated and picked two because I couldn’t decide between them. But I did set myself one other rule – only one song by each artist. Ooh, that was hard too.

So these are not necessarily my 60 favourite songs, but are all up there.

For this first decade, I was interested to note that most of the songs don’t affect me in the same way as some of the later music. Is that an inherent quality of the songs from that time, or because I didn’t hear them till later? I don’t know. Anyway, some of these are ones I like but don’t necessarily love.

10 videos are a lot to check out, but I hope you have the time to enjoy at least some of them.

1957 – Elvis Presley – All Shook Up. I could also have chosen Jailhouse Rock. But I teach an arthritis exercise for elders on a Monday morning, and this is in the repertoire, so that was the clincher.

1958 - Everly Brothers - All I Have To Do Is Dream. I’ve used this one for the arthritis class too.

1959 - Platters - Smoke Gets In Your Eyes. When the movie American Graffiti came out, I saw it several times. That’s where I first heard this track.

1960 - Brenda Lee - I'm Sorry. I’m not sure where I first heard this, but does it really matter?

1961 - Barry Mann - Who Put The Bomp (In The Bomp, Bomp, Bomp) = just a kinda fun track.

1962 – Peter, Paul & Mary – Where Have All the Flowers Gone. Hmm, interesting. In my mind, this typifies the protests about the Vietnam War. But it came out before either NZ or USA were there. Oh well…

1963 - Lesley Gore - It's My Party – just something fun and poppy, or do I mean boppy?

1964 - Animals - House Of The Rising Sun. Now we’re starting to get to the interesting stuff…

1965 – Things started to really pick up this year with the Rolling Stones, Righteous Brothers, Petula Clark, Sonny & Cher, the Supremes and the Byrds. I had some trouble choosing, but in the end I went with The McCoys – Hang on Sloopy. Though The Kinks – All Day and All of the Night - was a close second.

1966 – Rolling Stones – Paint It Black. This one gets me still. I know there are loads of great Stones songs, but this one will always be my favourite. The Left Banke – Walk Away Renee comes in second.

This post, or series of posts, was inspired by a post by @giantbear some weeks back. I’ve been working on it off and on since then. Look for the next decade next Friday.

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

I am now on Peerhub offering one on one nutritional coaching and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype.

Some of my previous posts:

MUSIC: Benefits of joining a community choir

THOUGHTS ABOUT LIFE: My Intro ~ Are there kiwis in the house? ~ My grandmother’s legacy ~ Steemit in downtown Wellington ~ Overcoming my fears ~ Observations from a bus ~ The brandy snap maker ~ Wearable Arts Award Show ~ 2 months on Steemit and now curating health, nutrition and recipes ~ Positivity Challenge 3 – Acts of kindness ~ Positivity Challenge 4 with a twist ~ Positivity Challenge 4 – Emotional Freedom Technique Part 1 ~ EFT Part 2 – Getting started ~ News on the NZ earthquake ~ More news on the NZ quake ~ Earthquake aftermath


Sort:  

Interesting concept for a post. Nice work, and great taste in music! I look forward to more. Cheers!

Thanks! Hope you continue to enjoy :-)

I am glad I could inspire you with my previous post! These are all brilliant songs. My modem just committed suicide so I am using my phone as a hotspot. If the modem comes back from the dead I will definitely listen to all of these songs, there is not one song on here that I don't like! 😆 Thanks for notifying me by leaving a comment on my post. I will do a post tomorrow and share some of my songs over the last 40 years. Will let you know. We have quite the same taste in music! 🎶🎵🎶🎵🎶🎵

Cool! Can you put a link back here in a reply. I'm going away for the weekend (in about an hour) so I'll miss a bit while I'm gone. But I always check my replies.

I shall do so... enjoy your weekend. It's raining here so I'll probably just stay in and write....

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

I remember all of those, (somewhat)...I didn't recall the animals sung the house of the rising sun though. It was one of my favorite songs at the time.

Until I searched for the video, I wouldn't have remembered who sung it either!

I don't think that they were the only ones, nor themost popular of those who did.

Hi, kiwideb! I'm new to Steemit and just discovered your blog. We have some similar interests, including music and traditional nutrition. I can't wait to continue exploring your posts!

Oh, also! I'm not a big Stones fan in general, but I think "Paint It Black" is quite an exceptional song. The combination of sitar and Flamenco-style percussion is really ingenious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52