60 years of my favourite music – Part 2b – 1972 to 1976steemCreated with Sketch.

in #music8 years ago (edited)

Decade 2 continued. We get some funk happening in this five year period.

Well, some funk, but also a few more cruisier numbers.


Pic is a screenshot from YouTube.

1972 – Superstition by Stevie Wonder has to be one of the funkiest songs of all time, so it takes top billing.

If I was going to give you two from 1972, the other would be Dreamweaver by Gary Wright. But you know what – you can go to a post by @nonameslefttouse to hear the song and see some awesome pics that go with it.

1972 continued – oh sod it, I’m still going to give you two from 1972, because that’s when Bowie released Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars. I know his career spanned decades, but I like the old stuff. What do you reckon – shall we have Ziggy Stardust or Suffragette City? Click the link to find out…

1973 - I know I said only one by each artist. But I also love, love, love Mistra Know It All by Stevie Wonder. Rules are made to be broken, right?

1973 continued - Breaking rules again, yet another year with two choices... Possibly my favourite musical / rock opera of all time, the film of Jesus Christ Superstar came out this year. I could sing along with the entire stage show / movie, but I can’t keep you here all day, so just one song will have to do. But not either of the obvious picks – I Don’t Know How to Love Him, or Superstar. I would have gone with Gethsemane, but for those of you who are totally unfamiliar with this rock opera, Could We Start Again Please is more accessible, and I love that too.

Or should I have gone with “try not to get worried, try not to turn on to problems that upset you, oh, don’t you know everything’s alright, yes, everything’s fine and we want you to sleep well tonight, let the world turn without…” Shut up, you promised not to sing the whole thing! (EDIT - if you want to hear Superstar, and Yvonne Elliman singing Everything's Alright - which really is much better than me singing it - check out a post by @themagus here)

1974 – Maybe my favourite album that year was Best of Bread Vol 2. Almost as good as Best of Bread volume 1, from 1973. The obvious picks from this album would be Sweet Surrender or Guitar Man. But good as they are, I’m going with the lesser known He’s A Good Lad.

1975 – Ah, Harry Chapin. I love so many of his songs. He was perhaps best known for W.O.L.D. and Cat’s In The Cradle but I’m going with Dirt Gets Under The Fingernails from the album Portrait Gallery. I love the message of it, and it sometimes makes me cry a little, but in a good way.

1976 – Another year I just had to have two songs. First a funky one - Wild Cherry – Play That Funky Music

1976 continued – And then a heart strings one. The Eagles – The Last Resort (from Hotel California)

Thanks for reading, and hopefully listening and enjoying at least some of them.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

I am now on Peerhub offering one on one nutritional coaching and EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype.

Some of my previous posts about music: Benefits of joining a community choir ~ 60 years of my favourite music, Part 1 – 1957 to 1966 ~ 60 years of my favourite music, Part 2a – 1967 to 1971


Sort:  

Is that a free plug I see mixed in there?
Imgur
This Man says thank you!

That man was paying attention :-) He is most welcome

Wow what a selection! I See what you mean...lol...I must admit I don't know a few of these songs. Possibly because I was born in 1971 and I can only identify with music after 1976 when I started to turn into a person. But I love these songs...

  1. Play That Funky Music- This is now stuck in my head for today!
  2. The Last Resort (from Hotel California)- I LOOOOOOOOOVVVVEEEE this song!!!
    Gimme more!!!

All the kiwi ones that come up will be a bit obscure to most others. And I have to admit, a lot of these I had NO awareness of at the time, I found them later. The well known song from Hotel California was the title track, but I always loved this one best.

Ahhh.... I was not following you... no wonder I have been missing all this stuff. Some more JCS tunes are here where I covered Andrew Lloyd Webber. Stevie Wonders "Hotter Than July" must be one of the all time great albums in my opinion.

I wasn't following you either (darn it) so am going back over all your old music posts. I spotted the ALW post but haven't got to it yet. Mine is online now https://steemit.com/music/@kiwideb/60-years-of-my-favourite-music-1976-to-1983 - a bit of a different selection this time round.

Choosing ONE song from an ENTIRE YEAR would be WAY too much stress for me.

Yes, it was a concept that I really didn't think through before embarking on it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52