Drawing like a pro - 90, Commenting on your drawing

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

lesson17.jpg

Hi friends!

As I said in my previous post, draftsmen/draftswomen are magicians and to do their magic they use many rules and tricks.
I have been sharing with you some of these, which help you to make the practice of this craft easier. I'm convinced that in the process of applying these methods and rules you also learn to develop a fundamental skill for every artist: the ability to observe.
If you already have enough practice, you may not need to take as many measurements or draw as many helplines as at the beginning to achieve a good result in your drawing and you'll surely notice that drawing is easier now than before and it is also easier to notice a mistake. Well, that is because you have developed your ability to observe.
Whenever I can, I draw by direct observation. I draw my hand, a glass, a plant, a pencil, or whatever is close to my sight and I never cease to be amazed by the capacity of observation the human being has because the more we observe the more we discover things that we have not seen before.
This is the most powerful "tool" you will get with these drawing processes that I am showing you. I hope that every day you try to strengthen this ability, an ability that we all have.

- I have some advice for you: every time you doubt the result of your drawing, every time you are not sure if the rule or method you have learned is well applied, resort to observation, look for a model similar to your drawing and locate it appropriate to your needs, or look for a picture, or a 3D rendering if that is possible to you. Observation will give you the answer.

*

-----------------------------------------------

I'm very happy to see that @stef1 has not lowered her arms and she continues to exercise in drawing.
I have reviewed all your drawings, I am very happy to say that I have not found anything wrong with them.

image.png

This is her post: https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@stef1/drawing-like-a-pro-65-the-triangle-as-base-tutorial-by-jorgevandeperre

I don't see anything wrong with the shadow you've cast from this object. I came to the same solution.
The most important thing is that you have captured the method to define the shadows in this particular case. So we can move on to other situations (remember this is for the particular case when the light falls perpendicular - (90°) - to the observer).
image.png

Having seen your drawing of a cube and the ellipses they are both well done in my opinion.

Regarding the doughnut, you already know the basis for it. If you are not satisfied with the result, I suggest you buy a doughnut to draw it.
image.png

I wonder why you show this drawing again. I would expect you to show the drawing with the correction.
image.png

See: https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-81-commenting-on-your-drawing-drawing-a-pyramid
I understand that we can show a drawing with some mistake because we have not seen it, but if you are already aware of this, you must repair that error before showing your drawing again.
Furthermore, how can we learn from our mistakes if we don't do what is necessary to repair them?
"Drawing like a pro" means paying attention to these details.

-----------------------------------------------

I wish you a very nice day and good exercise!

And if you like to colour your drawings, I recommend the interesting and useful Color and Light classes of @fumansiu whose concepts you can apply both with traditional and digital techniques.
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@fumansiu/color-and-light-orange-round-3
is his newest lesson.
Very interesting indeed!

Or maybe you want to make a beautiful watercolour with your drawing!
Well, our friend @arcoiris is back with his magnificent watercolour lessons.
Check out this last post that contains very interesting and useful advice about watercolours in different qualities and formats from different brands.

-----------------------------------------------

Here are the links to the previous related posts.
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 -
5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 -
11 - 12 - 13 14 - 15 -
16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 -
26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 -
40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48 - 49 - 50 - 51-feedback - 52-Masterclass - 53-Homework Contest #6 - 54-Lesson - 55-Lesson - 56-Lesson - 57-Lesson - 58-feedback - 59-feddback - 60 Masterclass - 61-HW Contest #7 - 62-Lesson - 63-Lesson - 64-Lesson - 65-Lesson - Lesson-66 - 67-feedback - 68-feedback - 69-feedback - 70-Masterclass - 71-Homework Contest #8 - 72-Lesson - 73-Lesson - 74-Lesson - 75-Lesson - 76-Masterclass - 77-Homework - 78-Lesson - 79- Lesson - 80-lesson - 81-feedback - 82-lesson - 83-Masterclass - 84-HW contest - 85-feedback - 86-lesson - 87-lesson - 88-lesson - 89-feedback

-----------------------------------------------

Many thanks to @bambuka and @stef1 once again for their encouragement and support.
Also, thanks to @xpilar for making these initiatives possible with their great support.

-----------------------------------------------

Sort:  

Hi Jorge,

Thank you so much for your feedback and for your explanation, it is so helpful and let me look at my drawing with different eyes. I do not know if you taught in reality but the way how you explain tells that there is some experience of working with students. I wish I could have the lessons live :)

I definitely will continue doing the exercises and I can only confirm that since I am doing them I always think and check the perspectives and vanishing points that are definitely very helpful when starting drawing and of course, they make it much more easier and they look beautiful and natural.

 2 years ago 

Thanks to you for your kind words.
I have never taught anything that has to do with art or drawing, so I improvise (and learn) every day, however, when I was young I made a living for several years giving private lessons in math and physics.
It makes me very happy to know that you enjoy my drawing lessons and that they are useful to you, there are many things that I did not know I knew, and there are many others that I'm learning and that makes me very happy.
Greetings to you and for myskye.

 2 years ago 

As always very useful :)

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much, dear friend!

 2 years ago 

You are welcome 🖐️ 😊

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61659.26
ETH 2446.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60