Drawing like a pro - 68, Commenting on your drawing (part 2) -Lights and Shadows (Power up 100%)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hi friends!

I continue today with the exercise made by @stef1 (See: https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@stef1/drawing-like-a-pro-61-homework-contest-light-and-shadows-by-jorgevandeperre) for the homework contest #7, hoping I can give my explanation clearly.

*

-----------------------------------------------

The drawing made by @stef1 is perfect, I have redraw it only for the purpose of making it more visible regarding the help lines that I will draw to find a solution to the shadow casting troubles.
10.jpg

You forgot to draw the corner line behind the object, on the ground.
9.jpg

Here, I show you how the point c corresponds with point c' in the corner of the object, at the bottom, behind, and hidden to the viewer. If you project this point (c') on the ground to the right so that it intersects the sun ray which passes by point c, you will get the starting point of the shadow behind the object. Imagine that you cast the edge ac on the ground, so you get the border of the shadow there, on the ground. Note that a part of this is hidden by the object.
9a.jpg

Below, the first shadow is cast.
11.jpg

First, you need to find point B by drawing the hidden lines as shown below and imagine that you have a second ground a little higher up in your drawing, a second ground given by the bottom face of the hole in your object. To get the shadow, you just need to project line AB (which is the top edge of the left face of the hole) to get the border of the shadow.
12.jpg

Now, you should consider that the upper face of the hole probably also casts a shadow that could be visible.
By making the necessary helplines, we can see the shadow cast by the top face of the hole on the bottom face.
13.jpg

14.jpg

Finally, a bit of the shadow is hidden by the object in front.
I saw that @stef1 had that in mind 😉.
15.jpg

-----------------------------------------------

I wish you a very nice day and good exercise!

***And if you like to colour your drawings, I recommend the interesting and useful Color and Light classes of @fumansiu whose concepts you can apply both with traditional and digital techniques.
Blue Buddies 1
Blue Buddies 2
Blue Buddies 3
Blue Buddies 4
Blue Buddies Round 2
are his newest lessons. Very interesting indeed!

-----------------------------------------------

Many thanks to @bambuka and @stef1 once again for their encouragement and support.
Also, thanks to @xpilar for making these initiatives possible.

-----------------------------------------------

Here are the links to the previous related posts.
1 - 2 - 3 - 4 -
5 - 6 - 7 - 8 - 9 - 10 -
11 - 12 - 13 14 - 15 -
16 - 17 - 18 - 19 - 20 - 21 - 22 - 23 - 24 - 25 -
26 - 27 - 28 - 29 - 30 - 31 - 32 - 33 - 34 - 35 - 36 - 37 - 38 - 39 -
40 - 41 - 42 - 43 - 44 - 45 - 46 - 47 - 48 - 49 - 50 - 51-feedback - 52-Masterclass - 53-Homework Contest #6 - 54-Lesson - 55-Lesson - 56-Lesson - 57-Lesson - 58-feedback - 59-feddback - 60 Masterclass - 61-HW Contest - 62-Lesson - 63-Lesson - 64-Lesson - 65-Lesson - Lesson-66 - 67-feedback

-----------------------------------------------

100% SP (manual transfer to SP)

#club100

image.png

Sort:  

I really love them, with shadow they look so natural. Thank you for explanation I will retry those two letters. I was wondering Jorge, have you ever done some technical drawing, did you study that?

 2 years ago 

You're welcome Stef!
Oh! I hadn't thought about it. I have not had formal technical drawing studies, although I have designed wooden toys in Ireland, where I spent a few months, several years ago.
For myself, I have made many leather goods and furniture designs. In Belgium, I worked making evacuation plans for schools in Flanders and then I worked with security system plans, also in Belgium, but all what I know about technical drawing I have learned in a self-taught way.
For me, studying and learning are a necessity. I think that's why I haven't abandoned art, because I still have so much to learn and I'm passionate about that.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by The Efficient Seven using @steemcurator04. We are supporting quality posts, so keep creating quality posts to get more support. #art theme

SteemexclusiveClubUpvote(%)bot use
Yes#club10050No

Account Used by: @rosz

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much! I really appreciate your support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67563.69
ETH 3470.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68