Drawing like a pro - 11, Masterclass - Making strokes with a purpose (Power up 100%)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago

lesson01_cover.jpg

Hi friends!

I start today, with the first drawing lesson as part of the WORLD OF XPILAR community local art school program, as previously announced by @bambuka and @stef1. To do this, I have published several introductory posts that I advise you to read if you are interested in these drawing lessons.

As I mentioned in the introductory posts, these classes aim to introduce beginners and amateurs who wish to learn in-depth the drawing techniques and the use of the appropriate tools.

There will be a weekly MASTERCLASS (starting right now) and a HOMEWORK CONTEST related to that lesson.
Those who want to participate in this homework contest must leave their work in the comments of the next post.
All homework received will have my feedback and also will have my suggestions if necessary.

The best homework of school participants will receive support from WOX curators.

-----------------------------------------------

Without further ado, let's go to class.

-----------------------------------------------

Making strokes with a purpose

°
We'll start by drawing a horizontal line a little above the centre of the page.
We will draw this line freehand, without using a ruler, as explained in the post Drawing like a pro - 8
Pay attention to the way to hold the pencil, as shown in the picture and explained in Draw like a pro - 5
01.jpg

Upper the horizontal line I drew a box and I drew a handle on it.
As you can see, the lines are not drawn perfectly straight because this must be a sketch in which the spontaneity and fluidity of the strokes are privileged over the perfection of the drawing.
However, the goal is that the lines are drawn as well as possible, this is something that only practice will give you, doing exercises such as those suggested in the post Drawing like a pro - 6 and Drawing like a pro - 9
02.jpg

Similarly, we draw a second box, this time below the horizontal line. By drawing a rectangle inside the top face of the box and a small line in the left corner, (as you can see in the image) I have indicated that it is a hollow box, a closet box. Then, I drew a handle, just like I did with the first box. This tells you that the two boxes are similar, one is viewed from below and the other is viewed from above. So the first line we draw is a horizon line.
We are already building something!
03.jpg

Here I drew another quadrilateral, below the closet box above and slightly offset to the right from it.
04.jpg

I fill the rhombus evenly, avoiding leaving stroke marks.
I have achieved this by drawing soft strokes, all in the same direction, laying the pencil on the paper as you see in the image.
Also, I begin to give different tones to the different faces of the box, this is achieved by drawing lines with the hatching technique proposed in the exercises of Drawing like a pro - 6 that you will have already practised.
06.jpg
05a.jpg

Here I drew other lines going down intil to touch the horizon line, darkened some areas on the inner right side of the drawn lines to stay consistent with the shadows from the closet box, and... We have some hills now!
So, the rectangle that we have shaded is the shadow of the closet box cast on the ground.
07.jpg

In the following images, you can see how I'm giving different tonal values to the different faces both internal and external of the closet box. For this, I use the technique of hatching again.
08.jpg
09.jpg
10.jpg
11.jpg

With a precise "stroke", using the kneadable eraser I define the edge of the shadow.
12.jpg

Then, a small circle, is smoothly drawn.
13.jpg

Then two more, one a little bigger and more defined than the other. After darkening the right side of the circles, I add some horizontal strokes at the "base" of the circles. They have acquired volume, becoming solid bodies.
14.jpg

Pressing with the kneadable eraser on the dark shadow of here, I eliminate the excess of graphite, with which I manage to clarify the shape to gently go over it again with the pencil, giving it a more natural appearance.
15.jpg
16.jpg
17.jpg

Erasing a part of the horizon that bothers me because it is slightly curved.
18.jpg

I have erased different parts of the drawing and there is no mark left. I have been able to draw again on top of it without problem because I have not damaged the paper with the pencil. See Draw like a pro - 5
19.jpg

I redrew some lines using a very special self-made ruler to finish this sketch. (I'll tell you about it soon).
20.jpg
21.jpg

Finally, we have obtained a sketch that represents what could be the starting point of a surreal landscape.
00.jpg
This drawing was done with a HB graphite pencil on a medium grain drawing paper.

-----------------------------------------------

I hope you have enjoyed this lesson.
I wanted to show you that with a few simple strokes everyone can draw.
Learning to draw through exercises that teach you and your body how to use your drawing tools confidently and efficiently.
See Drawing like a pro - 6

-----------------------------------------------

I wish you a very nice day and good exercise!

-----------------------------------------------

Homework in the next post! Stay tuned

-----------------------------------------------

Here are the links to the previous related posts.
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-1-the-craft-of-drawing
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-2-tools-and-materials-part-1
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-3-tools-and-materials-part-2
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-4-tools-and-materials-part-3-final
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-4-getting-ready-to-draw
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-6-the-first-exercises
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-7-a-drawing-for-charity-power-up-100
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-8-the-most-important-tool-power-up-100
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-9-let-s-keep-practising-power-up-100
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-10-imitate-is-necessary-power-up-100

-----------------------------------------------

100% SP (manual transfer to SP)

#club100

image.png

Sort:  

I love your masterclass and like how you created the depth into the horizon. Actually this is my weak point. Especially when I draw the buildings that are running towards horizon and then my hubby always laughs at me. He has better feeling of perspective and he is my indicator, I usually show it to him and ask if it is OK :)

 2 years ago 

You create the depth! You see depth where there is none, I'm just showing the tricks that an artist must know to give people the illusion of seeing the reflection of a certain reality.
We both make art - artist and viewer.

thank you for contribution and sharing knowledge

 2 years ago 

It's my pleasure! Thanks to you for stopping by and commenting. Hope this content can be useful for you. Regards.

 2 years ago 

Jorge, you don't look like a teacher, you look like a magician
Excellent presentation of educational material. Now I understand why you didn't give homework right away.
The fool will be the one who does not take part in your master classes.

Looking at your drawings, I remembered Dali and his sur
I think you could surpass him

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much, friend!
I read that you want your daughter to learn Art (or drawing)... A piece of advice: never buy poor quality materials for her. Buy good materials and tools for her (not necessarily of high professional quality). Children often get frustrated believing that they do not have the necessary skills and it often happens that the problem is in the poor quality of materials and tools.

 2 years ago 

Agree, good advice. Children often draw with random pencils on regular A4 office paper. Now I understand that this is a big mistake. Thanks for the advice.

Good job on sharing your art knowledge with all of us. I wish you much success 🙌 There is nothing more beautiful than teaching others, I say this from experience since I am an art teacher for children. Your classes are excellent, blessings!😍🎨💙

 2 years ago 

I agree with you! Thanks for your kind comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98