Drawing like a pro - 2, tools and materials (part 1)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

In a previous post, I told you about the craft of drawing. Today I would like to show you some of the many tools, materials, and supports you can use to draw depending, of course, on your interest.
20220506_130406.jpg
We must add here, the computers, tablets and the different software currently available to draw.

Let's take a quick tour of the different drawing techniques and their respective tools and materials.

Supports

You can use an innumerable amount of varied media, there are practically no limits. You can draw on rock, wood, paper, walls, fabric, plastic, cardboard, canvas etc, etc. so here I will limit myself to considering only paper as a support for drawing.
20220505_174443.jpg

Pencils

Graphite lead pencils in several formats such as bars, sticks, wooden pencils, etc.
20220506_132437.jpg

Samples using graphite lead pencils.
IM000625.jpg

Flower pot_low.jpg

Chalks and charcoals

Other materials to draw are chalks and charcoals, wooden charcoal pencils, a blend of graphite and charcoal, compressed chalk or compressed charcoal, vine charcoal sticks, sanguine pencils, and sepia pencils.
20220506_131420.jpg

Samples using chalks or charcoals.

CharcoalPortrait.jpg

dib05.jpg

Mechanical pencils

Mechanical pencils, compasses, rulers, and squares are suitable for more technical drawings.
20220506_131936.jpg

Sample
01-IMG_20190330_112435.jpg

There is more, but I will stop here today.
I have started this series of posts dedicated to drawing, with the aim of sharing with you techniques, "secrets", tricks, tips, and curiosities, to teach you how to draw whatever you want, using the technique you want.
The road is long but full of beautiful things if you want to learn what I have learned from other artists and draftsmen.
Let me know if you find this interesting because, after the introductory stage, I will start with the practice where I will show you interesting techniques to draw anything you want.

Here is the link to the previous related post.
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@jorgevandeperre/drawing-like-a-pro-1-the-craft-of-drawing

Have a nice day!

100% SP (manual transfer to SP)

image.png

Sort:  

You post is nominated for „Visual Art“ Support Program, @booming account upvote. Only the posts that are not cross posted, original and posted from Xpilar community page If your post gets approval, then you get upvote within few days. Good luck!

 2 years ago 

Hi Stef! Thank you very much, I really appreciate the nomination and your support.

Hi Jorge, that is definitely very interesting and useful post, I am glad to see that you have so many different pencils and charcoal pencils but also pastel. I thought it was only me who can't decide what to use. I love your pencil and charcoal drawings. Actually I was also thinking to do pencil drawing. It was a long time ago so it is time to try again :)

 2 years ago 

Hi Stef, I'm glad I awaken your interest in drawing again.

good post - there is always something for everyone when comes to drawing - its up to you
right tools are important
it is interesting idea of sharing different techniques and tips for drawing
@jorgevandeperre lets see whats next

 2 years ago 

Hi thank you for your interest.

 2 years ago 

Fine. I want more users to see your post and decide to pin it for a while on the general WOX bulletin board.
I think that your lessons will be interesting and useful to many.

 2 years ago 

Great, thank you bambuka! I hope it too. Regards.

 2 years ago 

My Pleasure :)

Hola, me encanta la iniciativa de enseñar acerca de las herramientas y materiales para aprender a dibujar, yo estoy aprendiendo por mi cuenta viendo vídeos y tutoriales, que ayudan un poco pero no es igual a poder preguntar a otra persona que tiene la experiencia.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hola, gracias. Me alegra saber que mi publicaión te interese y sobre todo que te sirva. Si tienes preguntas no dudes en planteármelas.

I really like pencil drawings, it reminds me of my childhood, it has an organized way and a great variety of tools, I would love to see the techniques that it will teach us!

Greetings and success

 2 years ago 

Hi, thank you! I am very glad that you liked this post and that you are interested in seeing the following ones, I hope not to disappoint you. Thanks for coming and commenting.

I wait for the second part 👍😉

Greetings!

 2 years ago 

Thank you! I hope no disappointed you.

Your post is manually rewarded by the
World of Xpilar Community Curation Trail

STEEM AUTO OPERATED AND MAINTAINED BY XPILAR TEAM
https://steemit.com/~witnesses vote xpilar.witness

 2 years ago 

Thank you very much!

 2 years ago 

Me encantan estos materiales, llevo un tiempo que no los practico pero hubo temporadas que solo use esos.

I’m trying to start now and from the beginning so forgive me if you mention it later but I would love to know more about varnishing

 2 years ago 

Hi @ultravioletmag, nice to see you again!
Varnishing? What do you mean?
I know of some spray fixatives to protect finished drawings, but that should be our last concern.
Anyway, there are some fixing sprays to apply to the finished drawing, but you must take care of their quality so that they do not yellowish later.
Let me know if that's really what you're interested in so I can give you more detailed information.
I really appreciate your interest, so don't hesitate to ask me your questions.
Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51