Drawing like a pro - 21, drawing a mortar (Power up 100%)

in WORLD OF XPILAR2 years ago (edited)

Hi friends!

I drew this mortar to propose it to you as an exercise that brings together several of the topics that we have seen in previous lessons. I hope it inspires you and above all helps and motivates you to do this and other exercises that I have previously proposed.
05.jpg

*

Draw the first lines and circle with very soft strokes as I have explained in previous lessons. See 18-Masterclass and 19-HW Contest.
01.jpg

If you want, you can outline the sketch with ink.
02.jpg

To differentiate the faces of this object and to make the hole more evident, it is necessary to shade each one of them separately with different strokes.
Here you can see the upper face with very light shading and the hole shaded darker, with vertical lines indicating depth and with circular strokes to accentuate the curvature of the hole.
03.jpg

Here, let's not forget that the light falls on the object from the right, that's why we leave the left side of the hole completely white and the left side of the mortar will then be the darkest.
10.jpg

To finish, we draw the cast shadow to place the object on a surface and to emphasize the direction of the light.
I suggest you draw the missing pestle for this mortar, to contextualize the drawing.
05.jpg

-----------------------------------------------

I wish you a very nice day and good exercise!

-----------------------------------------------

Take part in this week's HOMEWORK CONTEST!

image.png

*

Here are the links to the previous related posts.
1-Introduction - 2-Introduction - 3-Introduction - 4-Introduction -
5-Introduction - 6-Lesson - 7-Lesson - 8-Lesson - 9-Lesson - 10-Lesson -
11-Masterclass - 12-HW Contest - 13-Lesson 14-Lesson - 15-Lesson -
16-Lesson - 17-HW results - 18-Masterclass - 19-HW Contest - 20-Lesson

-----------------------------------------------

100% SP (manual transfer to SP)

#club100

image.png

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

I am confused by the shadow of this object and the direction of the light, but I definitely like the object itself :)

 2 years ago 

Hi bambuka! Why? Have I made something wrong?

 2 years ago 


Here the light is coming from the right towards the viewer

Здесь свет идёт справа в сторону зрителя


Here the light goes to the right side of (from) the viewer.
Maybe I'm wrong and you meant something else?

Здесь свет идёт справа в сторону ОТ зрителя.
Может быть я ошибаюсь и ты имел в виду что-то другое?

 2 years ago 

Hi friend! Thanks to your observation I made a post trying to find what I made wrong. Regards.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hi Jorge! I don't know if the drawing is right or wrong. Apparently everything depends on the projection of three dimensions onto a plane. I thought, ...maybe the arrows of the rays of light we perceive differently.
Looks like I'm being too geometric approach to this question :) :)

 2 years ago 

I drew the arrows incorrectly, sorry.

 2 years ago 

It's you who excuse me, Jorge, I take the drawings and diagrams too literally. But the main thing is that we figured it out :))

 2 years ago 

Thank you! I'm happy to have fixed that mistake thanks to you.

 2 years ago (edited)

Hi Jorge, this is another exercise that I have done according your tutorial. I believe now I can see that the lines of the opposite edges are not parallel :) thank you in advance,

https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@stef1/homework-drawing-like-a-pro-21-drawing-a-mortar-lesson-by-jorgevandeperre

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51