Snail And Slug Proof Your Garden Organically

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Are you into gardening and are living in a place where it is mostly wet than warm or sunny like where I am? Then we both know that snails and slug are on the loose the more often the heavens shed tears. I didn't really mind cause at first, I actually thought they look cute since we don't have such shell-less slugs in my country but since I bought a Dianthus caryophyllus or the Pink Kisses I've had a different opinion on snails and slugs. They munched my Pink Kisses almost bald that though we have a couple of blackbirds nesting in the sycamore I've decided to snail and slug proof my garden organically. How? Read on to find out.

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg
5.jpg
6.jpg
7.jpg

You want sources right? Eventhough I learned these tricks from one of my gardening friends I looked up some articles on the net for you to prove you can snail and slug proof your garden organically.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs of these beautiful flowers......that look so very happy in your garden.

More uses for eggshells........bleujay has also heard copper siding on a raised garden bed works well to protect the plants from snails and slugs.

All the best to you and yours. A bientot.

thank you dahlin'
copper hmmm .. okay we'll try that in the vegetable garden
they're attacking my kales and bokchoi there

Wow, I never used the egg shells to save the plants in my backyard (where some hungry snails live ^^), thanks for this solution, I will try it! ^^

oh yes., I remember you took a pic of one too last time
how's it going?
I haven't seen you for a long time

I'm really busy in these last day, but after june 11 I will have more time to stay in the cozy community of steemit ;)

busy sounds good
good luck to you!

Hahaha, my mom will find your post really useful, @englishtchrivy! She always takes care of her garden. Keep up the good work!

My second pea planting has just been demolished by snails... grr!

am so sorry to hear that

Thanks for sharing, I will definitely show my mom this!

I have used sand, will try egg shells too. Little varmints are everywhere here. Hehe, the one in the video certainly wasnt keen!!

I churned the eggshells
sand's handy
i put him back there thrice but he keeps going back to the tiles
annoying damn snails eh?
escargo?

If only they were fit enough to be escargot! I would eat them all up! I will definitely do it. They eat plants right down to the soil. I have lost loads too them

yes they do
the radishes I posted back then
we could tell which one is sweet and not spicy
everything with a hole in it is sweet
damn slugs took a bite first
they didn't even pay hmp!

They never pay, they just take take take!! I hate them, when it's dry I do the beer trap. It works quite well

do the beer trap - razva's beer he he

Hehe, that beer is too good for them!!

Thanks for the slug video. I don't think we have snails with shells in my yard but the slugs we have do just as much damage. I buy a product from Gardens Alive called Escar Go. Seems to work well.

Escar go - like the French dish :)
I don't really have to buy anymore I just collect them eggshells and we took out 4 tiles to plant in our garden so we have lots of sands from there
they hate the beads when it gets into their antennae

Yes great name for slug repellant haha. Well it sounds like you have your problem under control. I have more of a pill bug problem than a slug problem. See my post on strawberries. There is a picture of one at the bottom.

https://steemit.com/gardening/@garden-to-eat/my-strawberry-pyramid

Oh, you got some slow visitors.

yes, but they eat freakin fast :'(

Your dianthus is so sweet! It's tough as nails and should spread easily with time.

For snails, I once tried beer in an empty tuna can. Slugs are supposed to be attracted tot he beer...then they drown

thank you

they seem to spread pretty fast indeed
last year I've tried the beer and collected a glass full of them naked slugs
I didn't know they could drown in it these days they don't visit the back yard
but the vegetable garden has a lot though I saw several ground beetles helping around
got bitten by a huge one though hahaha
alls fun - that's gardening I guess
still loving it

I tried the beer method and the rain mostly washed it away into the garden. How tall was the glass as I had used a small pie tin. What did you do when it rains.

is this for me or for @gardenlady?
if you read the post I have never tried that since it pours like crazy here almost on a daily basis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31