Pluck 'Em Not

in #flowers8 years ago (edited)

Flowers are a blessing from above aren't they? Even those of a weed. The tinier they are, the more difficult it is to see the details, we sometimes have to take a closer look. Here's one of those that would probably not caught our attention unless they are in a bunch.

I found a bunch of them in the parking lot I mentioned in this post. The only reason I took notice of them is because they looked like rows of pearls in the sunshine from afar. I went closer and found out they're actually Clover flowers. A bunch of Trifolium Repens also called The Dutch Clovers.

Had they been yellow like their cousins which I found on Calpe's Peñón de Ifach, they would have been easily noticed. These have flowers five times the size of the Clover of Trefoil. They were just growing on that marble filled rock mountains. I found them because the honeybees were on a bunch of them buzzing.

I took the pic of the Yellow Woodsorrel with a Samsung Galaxy Note 1

I have them both in my garden but in pots because they tend to spread fast as they are runners. I am planning to allow the Yellow Woodsorrel to thrive in the front garden from next year.

Aside from the Trefoil of Clover, I also found these.

They grow better when in moist, fertile soils. They grow in fields, along side of roads, waste areas and in home gardens . The flowers and leaves are edible and you can have them dried or eat them fresh. It is better to eat just a few as it has a pungent smell that could only be gone when the flowers are dried.

Yes, now may not be the time to be planting since it is near winter on my side of the earth but on the other side must be summer and next Spring shall come so now is the time to find out which flowering plant you could have by then and if you'd like to attract more bees in your garden, these flowers could make that happen for you so when you see them thrive, trim them - Yes, but please, pluck them not. As long as you plant them in full sun and give some regular watering in summer, they'd take care of themselves.

sources:

YELLOW TOADFLAX
Trifolium repens



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

I took the rest of the pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Nice informative post about some useful but often overlooked flowers!

@mweich thanks you are right, we tend to just like huge ones :)

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Superb post. Flowers are fascinating are they not. Lovely photographs.

Thank you for your support.

@bleujay I appreciate your gratefulness, even though my upvotes only add numbers and don't contribute any cents to your post sometimes just because my voting influence is too low - lower than 70% doesn't have much effect on posts with just cents - yet, you have always come back to say thank you. I like your attitude @bleujay - people who are grateful no matter how small they receive - always get blessed. Good luck and just STEEM on!

Thank you for your kind thoughts @englishtchrivy.

You are welcome here with power or not....no worries on any count with power....bleujay flies lower than one should....therefore cannot fault anyone else.

Yes...the same for you ...wishing you all the best...and Steem on....

Upvoted by @gardening-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @gardening-trail
Read our guidelines here

@gardening-trail thank you for your continuous support!

Clover and wood sorrel both make great low-maintenance ground-covers, where the conditions are right. Clover works great in a mixed lawn -- and I eat those flowers, too, in mixed salads. They are great for taking nitrogen from the air and putting in the soil for other plants, too. So it's a good off-season cover crop, too.

@haphazard-hstead I've tasted the woodsorrel - sour :D
they look unhappy now cause its cold but they'll perk up again

I like the woodsorrel. I put some in my big culinarychallenge salad, lol! It's like a little taste of lemon. They get to rest in your winter. Here, they rest during our dry summers. Now is when I get to enjoy them - at least until we get some real cold in December.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51