Allium Ursinum

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever encountered a plant that smells like garlic, looks like a bit of an onion with the leaves of a lily? What did you do? Did you look it up or did you just dig it up and ditch it?

rm1.jpg

recipe links :

Have you any secret recipes you could share us of ramsons? Steemit it!

sources:
Allium ursinum
Ramsons (Allium ursinum)
Ramsons



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Very informative and lovely presentation of a favorite in the garden.

All the best. A bientot.

hi my love!thank you - I bet you know this plant better than I do ..
I'm sorry I wasn't able to get back at you last night, I accidentally spilt water in my comp - I had to turn it off and blowdried like there was no tomorrow ..

Now that is a problem.......bleujay can see you drying your computer in concentration mode. ^_^

Please no worries my dear......there are those times.

Thank you for thinking of bleujay. If you are thinking of me and I of you.....we are together....for it is thought that we are and my thoughts always wish you well.

Abientotlater.

ahahaha .. am about to unplug and saw this and hahahah
okay - sounds good to me

off to the garden now - really ..
stuck here
Abientot tonight!

truly beautiful pictures i love them all

I really like this plant!! In Poland we call it bears' garlic. I don't know how true this is but I was told that it is the first thing the bears eat after hibernation to supplement the nutrients that were lost during the winter.

me, too!
I love its smell - reminds me so much of the trips in Italy
I had a lot of this there - the aroma makes your mouth water without even cooking it
you are so right about its other name .. it's a legend about that bear's story. You got bears in Poland? I want to see ^ ^

Oh so it might be somewhat true that the bears eat it then :D. And yes we do have bears here but very few. I actually don't even know if I met anyone who has seen one in nature...

wonderful flower and garden post.....good work @englishtchrivy

I really like to eat it in the spring, add to the salad - very tasty

I Have a secret recipes, but I can not share....

cause it would no longer a secret if you do?

There is another replacement for garlic (smells even better, but you yourself won´t smell after consumption)
http://mushroomobserver.org/observer/observation_search?pattern=Mycetinis+scorodonius

hahahah .. cause you'll get high? is that that one?

thank you for this post,
i want to share some my photos with you

12998355_10208771268057361_6390930248025008717_o.jpg

IMG_20170514_172040_749.jpg

IMG_20170514_192951_413.jpg

FB_IMG_1495715115796.jpg

I love foraging for wild garlic at this time of year!

if you were near me you won't have to forage - I'll give you seeds and a pot of it -
but then good luck with your foraging!
You must have a secret recipe too?
Though you are an art goddess here - would want to see your recipe on this

We call it Baerlauch and every year in spring my wife offers a real good Pesto with it. But after a while i find, it is enough Baerlauch. The pesto is great with Parmesan, olive oil and roasted pine nuts, dear @englishtchrivy. This pesto is great to fresh boiled spaghetti.

yes, I totally agree! I made one but decided not to feature it anymore - but you are right the pesto made of it is yum! I also have had enough of them - too much is no more yum but they are already turning yellow green these days so its okay :)
howdy!

Howdy mylady! I'm always glad too, when the time of allium ursinum is over. Pesto is yum but when you have pesto, it is pretty sure the time will come when the yum turns into a yawn. Steem on, dear @englishtchrivy.

hahahah you feeling like a cowboy ribbit?
yes.. it does .. too much of something becomes a bore so either we store it or we just say - till next year Bearlauch :)..hier noemen wij dit daslook!

Daslook? Strange. Even other laguages express it together with a bear. The Dutch just take a das, a badger, einen Dachs. Das ist interessant. Gab es etwa keine Bären in den Niederlanden?

nein .. keine baren hier
Nur Füchse but they are being hunted cause they're eating the birds eggs

Hunted for their nature. Like frogs. Hunted for beeing able to make long jumps.

i saw two of them near the Bundestag in Berlin - so cute they were following us like dogs in the bus stop but when I went near them to give them the oranges I was eating they ran away - it was already 7 pm that time but you know they were very very cute I could still see them cause of the light in the resto near the booth where people fall in line to reserve to get inside that Bundestag Dome - very beautiful creatures btw
am off to bed - too tired from the heat today
sleep tight cowboy ribbit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68125.63
ETH 3308.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74