Firethorns in Autumn

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I went for another stroll but I couldn't really double the hours then. It's freaking cold outside and though I was clothe in layers - my hands were really cold and feeling like they were frozen when I got back. I brought my phone because it was a bit sunny and decided to take pics of what's it like outside.

When I got back home I noticed these Firethorn fruits. They are normally just bright golden or dark orangy but yesterday they had dark spots on them so I took a closer look to check if they caught mildew and found out - it's ashes from our fireplace - my guess.

They are the same kind - it's just that the other has already turned darker red earlier since it also bloomed earlier. They normally turn dark during the winter.

This is what their flower look like and I took this pic in 2014.

No, I didn't plant them - they were already taller than our garage when I got here. The nature authorities here planted them there and I actually wish they also planted them in front of our garden fence. I do like their milky scented flower like the hoverflies and bees do. Here's a common scene beside my garage when these Firethorns are flowering. I took the pictures in these gifs two years ago using my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 and I don't remember sharing the pictures on my Social Media but the gifs ~~ I just made in makeagif - tonight.

I love them because aside from the bees, ladybugs and dragonflies tend to flock in them. I found so many ladybug larvae and adults on them which I would transfer in my backyard to fight aphids. Aphids thrive there, too but since it's outside the garden, I don't mind. They attract so many dragonflies I get to enjoy taking pics of and having in my garden.

The best part about having them is - being able to wake up at 5 am during Spring in the singing of a blackbird nesting in it. Have you ever heard a blackbird sing early in the morning? It sings a very beautiful song. I would sometimes find two nests in there - from that of a blackbird or a house sparrow. The thorns of these plants keep magpies and humans off their nests. Oh yes, I have tried peeking on the babies to no avail. No, I didn't want to touch the nest - the mommy bird would eventually leave them if I do. Something about that human scent and disturbing them while nesting that they must not like and no it's not a myth.

This is what the song of a Blackbird sounds like.

There are many other videos that would show Blackbirds singing but I chose to share this one since this is exactly what I hear at dawn during Spring. If you click on the blued words above - that's the source.

I would also like to ask a question to the ones in charge of the #photography and #gardening posts. How should I tag this first? It's been tagged but for next time - which is more proper? I want to feature my photography mainly but I also want to present information for gardening. I'm also confused and I hope someone could help me on this one. Hopefully, separate folders do come soon, one for the re-steemed posts and per category that we post about.

sources

Pyracantha Jelly and Santa’s Belly
Pyrachanta Fiery Cascade
Planting Firethorn: Growing Tips And Care Of Firethorn Bush



disclaimer : This article is purposed to help fruit and flower identification and not to recommend food source.



I would like to thank everyone who upvoted my past posts and this post. Thank you all very much for your supports. I will have to recharge again as my voting influence has been dragged back to 36% as per the last time I have seen them.

I took the old flower pictures with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 and the fruit pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Excellent visit, congratulations on the find, beautiful photos, thanks for sharing.

I wonder are these edible? What do they taste like. BTW I think your tags are fine. Maybe change 1 and 2 to be gardening followed by photography and then have the others but I don't think it matters that much.

@thecryptofiend, thank you Sir, yes they are but I haven't tried those because I am not sure that they are organic - though we never sprayed it . I haven't really tried but a friend of mine has made a jam out of them - she used plenty of white sugar though - so I have also not tried.

That fruit in the 1st and 2nd pics where is that grown?

@elumni - they are the same fruit in the 3rd picture, I wrote it up there but okay - it's beside our garage - I live in the Netherlands but these thrive almost everywhere in Europe and can also be found in some zones in the US.

I just followed you - great photos!

@jlufer, @sponge-bob I love that name
thank you :)

We don't get the blackbirds here....crows yes and they are not pretty singers - squawkers, loud squawkers!! I do however enjoy the morning doves...and cardinals. Beautiful colors on those berries.

@countrygirl, thank you :)
we also have crows - huge ones haha

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Nov 13. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.52 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 13 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Upvoted by @gardening-trail

Thank you for following and upvoting @gardening-trail

The gardening-trail does not require a gardening tag to be the first tag. It's hard enough to limit some posts to five categories and only one can be first. But if a post is more about photography and there isn't much gardening content besides images of plants, then it might not be curated for the gardening-trail. Authentic gardening content is key.

Thanks for posting about your Firethorn and other garden activities!

@gardening-trail thank you all very much for your support!
And thank you for clearing that up for me - okay roger - all of that :)

It's all an evolving experiment, so flexibility and adaptability on the part of everyone will be helpful. Like some successful plants. Happy gardening!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65