How 'bout Having Some Love - In - A - Mist in Your Garden ?

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Love having flowers in your garden? They do help lure 'em bees don't they? I love flowers and prefer them in the garden than in a vase in the house. Keeps them in bloom for a long time instead of just a few days.

If you have read my previous gardening articles, then you must have already known that a few years ago, I got me organic seeds of flowering plants that call 'em bees from Green Peace. One of those seeds was " Devil - in - a - bush". For such a cute plant, not to mention that the flowers look like delicate layered laces, this "Love -in - a - mist" is also called that.


This was what those seeds looked like. They maybe puny but they are also called black cumin and could be used in treating sore throat, high blood pressure, antioxidant , as psoriasis ointment and many others. As they are called black cumin, you probably already got a hint that they could be used for cooking. Crush them and get an odor similar to a citrus fruit and tastes nutty and pepper- ish. They could be used as flavor enhancers to your cheese, meat, fish or any seafood, bread and salad. I use a garlic crusher to do the trick easy peasy.

You can collect them out of this - seed pod. This is the reason why they call it Devil - in - a - bush . They find it eerie when browned specially as the leaves around it look brown and haloween-ish spider webie as well. The pods are green first green, then they turn brown and light brown, crunchy to the feel when dry enough. In time, they pop open and you can collect those seeds.

What I like about them are the petals. They are as thin as papers and come in pink, white, yellowish and blue. Normally, there are just 5 petals.

On the pics above, there are five petals in three separate layers on each flower. As if the plant also has an OC it has arranged its layers of petals in a way that each petal doesn't overlap the other under or above it. You could see the tips of each petal under the layer above them ... occupying, exactly the empty space between those petals atop or under them.


It's the same case on its leaflet arrangement per stem, there's just one needle - like leaflet extending from each node of the stem. No, they don't prick. In fact, they're very delicate like spider webs -only thicker and green.

I planted them in one pot because they're so puny and just collect the dried bracts before winter. I plant the seeds alternately along the borders of the apple trees where it's sunny and since they aren't high maintainance, they do very well without requiring much attention, which.. they actually get much as you can see with these much photos I made and yes, I have more in files because of their cute, pretty puny flowers. They do not attract pests like aphids or anything so yes, I'm propagating seeds every year and I actually just started with three seeds from Green Peace but now I have a lot of them.

They are self seeding and would eventually come out where ever they drop but I collect them to move them here and there every now and then. A cluster of them in bloom is a feast in the eye and maybe, also - for the bees.

It's January and I'm looking forward to spring. These Love - in - a - mist bloom in Spring if you sow them early in the green house. Normally, blooming comes in summer till early Spring if you plant them in a full sun. I just soak the seeds in water for 24 hours. Rid of the ones that float, plant them that didn't in moist soil and keep the soil moist till they can manage on their own. After that, not much caring needed. Pretty handy huh?

Have you got any flowers in mind to plant in your garden this Spring?

I took all of these pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition and have only shared them in Steemit.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Hello @englishtchrivy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

I have tried other Nigella's but not these. A definite for this spring!

Thank you for posting~@ englishtchrivy
I feel happy ^^~*

@jejujinfarm nim, am glad you're happy
Fighting!
Odiseo? Write again :)

Very nice and informative post. I didn't realise that you were such a gardener!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

@kus-knee Thank you
How could you not? Remember the tomato post you published?
I commented about why they taste better and they really do when self grown.
I am - almost a farmer :D hahaha I love it
it has a therapeutic effect

Beautiful pics, Englishtchrivy!
Upvoted & Followed.

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.
Very nice.....lovely photographs, commentary and composition. These are a favorite in the garden and of florists...for their wispy contenance.
As for your query regarding flowers in the garden....how about a white floribunda rose...not the prettiest but certainly bountiful which is a must in any garden.
Appreciate you bringing information regarding these lovelies to Steemit.

All the best. Cheers.

@bleujay thank you

I love the smell of a rose specially the yellow ones
We had this in the front yard but we let go of it last year due to mildew and aphids infestation. This one is also very very fragrant

It's very beautiful post!
Great job dear @englishtchrivy :)

You're well now I gather? Can I have some pls??Need to read your post of malunggay.

@immarojas the seeds?
I could ask Green Peace UK but not sure if they have the same program as here. Am not sure I could send you seeds via mail - is it allowed?

EDIT : well now - recuperating, dizzy every now and then and lymphnodes still swelling and sore throat
but no biggie as long as I can eat - there's energy how's Pinas?

It's that time of the year amiga,you're on the mend just rest more and eat ;)
Via mail is fine. Am thinkin of juz bringing a small malunggay branch to plant ;) haven't tried the seeds.
In the province now so it's nice, can't stand mla.

@immarojas, I get you - lived in Makati for more than 16 years and manila for 8 years freaking polluted
branches won't grow, better take the seeds it's allowed
the challenge is on growing it, they're leafless now and wilting but hopefully, they recover a bit later.
Have fun and post about what its like out there ;)

Brought dried leaves last april,it's ok for tinola.In the filipino store,there are frozen ones.
Am trying to posts as am playing with my new galaxy. Charging point of the S6 got broken but can be charged wirelessly.Samsung changed it with S7.Am loving the camera.

@immarojas you betcha
that phone's cam is a spy cam hahah
anyway, we should chat for your seeds

Stupid as it may seem,i can't get into the chatroom ;) thu ive only tried once.
It's the iphone that have cia spying on people..that's what ive read anyway ;)
you're using a samsung!

What fascinating plants! I've never heard of them before and they are definitely unique. I may have to order some seeds once I have property to plant my garden. I'm curious about the taste of the seeds too. I use cumin in chili but I have no idea if there is a difference between what I use or the black cumin as you've mentioned. Thank you for the information!

@merej99 big difference in the taste, totally different. The cumin is much stronger and it would kind'a fend you off if you take a teaspoonful of it but the black cumin will make you eat more - it smells better - IMHO

I just can't eat much cause I'm trying to propagate them till they are a lot, hopefully, soon.

I really like Love-in-a-Mist. They are such a classic, old-time cottage garden flower. I like the puffy seedpods - they are fun to look at when they are still green, before they split open. I have never tried eating the seeds, though. I better do that this year! :D

@haphazard-hstead the seed are a yum!I love them but I can't eat much - I need to make more of them first.

It's a good thing that one flower can make a lot of seeds, lol. Keep on growing! :D

@haphazard-hstead 4 to 5 seeds in one pod, one pod per flower :)
but yes I'm going to!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58004.44
ETH 2579.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40