Would Someone Please Identify Which Bee These Are?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Are you a bee expert? I'm not. Today, I was thinning my strawberries when a teeny tiny bee started hovering on my nose. I followed it and found a trio in between the near blooming Iberis sempervirens Candytuft which are growing very close to my strawberry greenhouse.

I found what looks like an ant's hole on the ground and the other two took off while one of them look like very weak - or at least that's what I thought before I've decided to take a video of them fellows.

If you are a bee expert - yes! YOU who's reading this now, would you please click on the video and confirm whether these are Omnia Bicornis? I have a hunch they're that kind of mason bees and I'd like to let them multiply in my garden just because them bees went on a revolution and almost went extinct years ago. They're back last year and I'd really like to encourage them propagating.

Sort:  

I have no idea but I'm confident that someone will come through for you!

@kus-knee thank you for all your support!
I do hope so, too!

Am not a bee expert per se but if you let it bit you and show me the biten skin..i might know what it is ;)

@immarojas lol
I need to get stung no ...
i even touched it and it just went away - closer to its hole
it was guarding it
they just ignored me lol

Can't help you then lola lolsss..i thought i can get away with it ;)

@immarojas I'll tame them and send them to you
so you know is that good?
lol

Nah..i got thick skin..it will loose its' teeth. wawa naman ;)

@immarojas kamote hahaha
wala k post la..
sulat dali

wa lola..busy pa akesh

Looks like a Busy Bee, they prefer all flowers without pesticides :)

@cryptofunk - yes, they were pretty busy .. one goes on guard and the other two must be gathering what? mud?

Hi @englishtchrivy. This are soil-dwelling bees called mining bees as well (Andrena ). They are living there in the soil. This „dying“ bee maybe came freshly out of the nest. The nest is there, where the other one flew in. Hope you let them stay there. It is a part of your hotel now. Oh, the queen said, this is a very nice hotel, I will stay here.

@afrog oh, thank you for watching the video!
I'm glad I bugged you - The Old Dog's wish for me has come true!
You're heaven sent with a source - I've checked .. it does look like them.
They're pretty tiny and yes, I'll let them stay .. maybe they'll pay hotel rent and I get passive income :D hahaha
I wonder if there's a queen there's just the three of them.

Bees always come with a queen. Some species flies out of their host alone and some takes a bundle of working–bees and leave their origin home. It's like the highlanders. There can be one queen only in the nest. But the workers are feeding special stuff to one or two larves. When they are ready, they have to leave their home to build a own new nest. You are the lucky one they decided to stay. I'm glad to read that you are not afraid of them, @englishtchrivy.

Thank you very much for the STEEM, dear lady. I would have told you all my knowledge without any payment because your movie has been so cute, hearing you talking with the bees. I was overhelmed by your bee chat. You never bugged me.

Bees always come with a queen.

Don't forget there are solitary bees as well, where every female is fertile. There is no division of labor so their nests lack queens and worker bees.

oh it's been identified by afrog :)
this is a very old post already

It looks to me like a "Bee Cool" ;)

@melip lol Bee Cool hahaha
sounds like a countryside in the Philippines where people love eating spicy food
Bicol

You're a vertical filmer! Gasp!
I'll ask the local bee expert here what it is, may take a while though.

@ocrdu thank you for watching the video
vertical filmer lol
these bees are cute
they don't sting ..no :D
he was probably nervous as I'm freaking huge

No, you're not, you're tiny 8-P. They can sting, but they won't unless you really annoy them. Friendly little beasts.
There's a woman in the local insektenwerkgroep who knows eveything about bees, I see her next Tuesday to exchange some photos, I'll ask her.

@ocrdu oh please do thank you very very much already!

She couldn't tell the exact species from your video, unfortunately. She says "sorry" 8-).
Here are some bee photos I took last weekend, you may like them: https://golos.io/ru--fotografiya/@ocrdu/digging-bees-pchely-kopayut-golog-first-posting

@ocrdu it's alright @afrog gave me the answer they're mining bees
he posted it on the comment
but hey, thank you very very much for checking it out still

Yes, I know, but there are very many species of those.

@ocrdu he also included it on his reply - with a link - it was blued but I forgot
Every day those guys say hello to me
and I have to deal with them everyday!
for two weeks probably .. from what I know they don't live long .. you'll see - later on :D

I'm no expert on bees, I can distinguish a bee from a wasp and that's all:)))
Your bee looks a little sleepy, probably still did not wake up after the winter.

@erikaflynn haha he is very awake they were flying here and there after this video :D

Hello my friend filming is really beautiful

Although I am afraid of bees ... because if I approached the bees will bite (stings)

@mars9 lovely pic .. don't be afraid of bees
they don't sting unless they feel threatened
if you stay calm and just be .. they won't .. they even land on my face, my shirt - on me sometimes
they're very very cute creatures .. no need to fear them.

this one said hi to me 5 days ago, landed on my sleeves and crawled up to my face :D

I was a little boy to go to the garden ... When I get back to the house there was a bee on my face so I'm afraid of bees

@mars9 I see.. you must have been kind to nature
they don't really rest on meanies ;)

I have not run away from these things, but I prefer to stay away from them

@mars9 well you were a boy so you must be so kind at that time
but hey, if you're scared that's allowed
now cheer up :D

@mars9 it's alright to be afraid ;)
we all have fears ..
My hope for you is to be able to conquer them some day
I used to be scared of swimming cause 2 boys tried to drown me in the sea when I was 10 - in the Philippines, I was boyish and a bully so they got annoyed but with EFT I have managed to get a C diploma for swimming in the Netherlands - I can save someone from drowning now :D
so if I can - YOU TOO CAN - in time!
I'm crossing my fingers for you when you are ready but for now -it's alright ^ ^

@englishtchrivy There are a lot of things that have moved away from (bee sting)
(Swimming in water) (electricity) or after that there is nothing
Although I write ... but every man has a fear station of a certain position
(Bee sting) I still keep away from the bees because I do not like to bee bees so it is simple
(Swimming in the water) a situation occurred from 14 years so I stay away from swimming in the water I like to sit on the river Nile + the beach of the sea I am now 32 years and moved away from swimming because I was in the sea and I was in the case I drowned lost consciousness of the waves and from that time moved away
(Electricity) I do not like it because I was doing it and was in many incidents for friends and I am also
I almost need a psychiatrist :D

@englishtchrivy Thank you so much my friend ... I appreciate that much
I do not know the English language correctly or not

@mars9 you're doing fine

Yes I'm fine and I hope so for you

How can I not be good ... and have a lot of wonderful friends like you

To be or not to be.
Sorry but i don't know any bee.

@ace108 hahahah I'll bee you :D haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45