When Do You Say; "Enough Is Enough?"

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

I don't know about you but I'm not trying to start a revolution nor a strike.

That title has something to do with my lovely Passion Plants. I love them because they give me these beautiful flowers on a yearly basis.

Yes, this much and can you imagine it started this small and not bushy ...

aqou8t.jpg

EWmTaag

to this bushy ...

I give it a trim every two years. It should be trimmed every two years, doing that encourages blooming and fruiting.

Last year, I didn't trim it but it was the year it gave me the most harvest. Almost every morning, I got me more than a dozen of them - sweet ripe fruits.

uS4rxi9.jpg

I was very happy with it and I'm pretty attached to these plants cause they gave me the breakthrough I needed here in Steemit.

Even this dragonfly is smiling and is happily perched on one of its leaves . She and her other friends and cousin damselflies are often hovering around the stems or the leaves.

Unfortunately, yesterday I was so much into gardening I think I overdid trimming this time. I cut it way back since all the stems were damaged by the frost and most leaves turned yellow from all the ice age experience in January. I cut off the whole crawling vines on the string I've improvised for it last year and almost no more leaves were left.

Since it was shooting baby shoots under the ground (yes a passion fruit is like a runner, once you have one, give it a year or two and it'll send out shoots anywhere it could), I hunched that it would sprout again and bear me Passion fruits in abundance so I trimmed it - but then .. it must be a little bit over the top this time. I coiled it back on the pine tree but I actually want to trim it lower than this.

What do you think?
Did I over trim it this time?
Do you think it would still grow much leaves and just crawl back up where it has gone before? or would it actually cease to grow?
Do you think it would bear me more fruits this year?
Tell me .. what do you think?

I took some of the pics with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1 and A3 2016 edition.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @</h2

I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Wonderful flower! Very nice photo, good job @englishtchrivy

@sardrt thank you .. what do you think?
would they grow back?

I do not know .... I never grow!

Cor, those are lovely! You have the same ish climate as here maybe not as cold don't you? I wonder if i could get one of those started. Awesome!!

@meesterboom thanks! yes we have the same weather !

YOU CAN! just find a fruit to eat and deseed then soak in water for 24 hours - get rid of all that floats and plant the ones that sank.
Plant on loam soil and put on a sunny place on top of your heating and you'll have it pretty soon. Now is the time to plant - but you'll have to wait a year or two depends on the variety you have before it could bear you flowers :)

HA! That is utterly fantastic. I;m doing it. I have a fantastic passion fruit cheescake that I am going to get some fruits for this weekend so can save the seeds and love the tips, that will be useful for the planting!!

Yeehaw. I love special things for the garden. Those really stand out so I can bide my time and wait!

@meesterboom I wish you good luck!
It takes one to three weeks to germinate - that easy - it all depends on the heat it gets it's freaking easy.

Oops and I meant o say that with your gardening skills I think it will bounce back and give you more fruit this year!

@meesterboom haha thanks a lot - I hope it does .. sometimes plants could feel bad and sulk like people do when abused ;)

I'm worried it would feel abused but I think it also knows I was doing it for its own good. Crossing fingers for the regrow.

Lol!! ;O)

Yeah I know that plant sulk. I have offended many a plant in my garden with over zealous pruning or even repotting.

@meesterboom they're like people too yes - we could err and unconsciously abuse them - they do sulk. One of my oranges did sulk I had to talk to it every morning last year till it started sprouting in late summer so am worried history repeated itself on the passion plant haha.. the good thing about plants is that we won't get any complains or drama when abused. They just are quiet and don't grow - I hurt and suffer the consequences more lol

Nesting limit
No complaints or drama, my goodness. That must be an odd thing? How on earth do you cope! :O)

@meesterboom - how do I cope - I have to make up with much love and talk to it like its my child haha
seriously I do that to my plants - talk .. they do respond you know
I have to talk with the one I cut so short probably - talk not nag only talk - sweet talk haha

I'm totally envious of your plant! Envious too of your gardening abilities... I swear I'll learn though, it's shameful not knowing how to grow plants!

Also I checked out your breakthrough link... Looks a super tasty pitcher, yum.

And you take very good photos!

@woman-onthe-wing thank you!
but I think I killed one of them this time - sometimes enough is enough I guess

I believe you can always learn when you want to ;)
I only believe in - nothing is impossible if you think you can ;)
having seen what your hands can do - I believe that given a chance - you'd be growing things in no time, too!

Thank you - it was water hack post :D who would have thought :D
thanks to blocktrades for that hahaha!

Mburucuya or Passionflower, it is a beautiful flower, the fruit is edible, it is very tasty, I would eat it as a child.
Thank you very much dear friend @englishtchrivy for this great post

@jlufer thank you mi amigo!

I used to eat the yellow ones, I'll try growing those, too !
I guess this one's a hybrid cause it's sweet - a bit similar to a jellied red hibiscus flowers.

The passion plants have beautiful flowers, really! One of my neighbor have Passion plants in his garden and when they are full of flowers is a beautiful scenes. Here in my city is rare to see them. ^_^

@silviabeneforti they are indeed. I love them and so all the other flying insects :)

I can understand you! ^_^

wow posting very amazing, thanks @englishtchrivy for sharing the story here

@curiesea thanks a lot

A very beautiful and unique flower. I don't know anything about gardening or trimming back things so I'll leave that to the experts. I am drooling for passion fruit though! YUM.

@merej99 hey, thanks for dropping by, get a passion fruit then you sure can ;)
I miss @poeticsnake don't you? I 'm glad you're back and kicking asses I hope she gets back too :D

I have no idea where Bibi disappeared to. I'll have to see if I can find her on Twitter. Life happens - it would be nice to know she's okay. :)

@merej99 I saw her reply on my feed the other day
I thought she was back .. I miss her :D
here and in the chat.

@englishtchrivy Very beautiful flower. I also love flowers and I have a lot of them.

@lil4a yes Passion flowers are freaking lovely :D
I love them too!
Unplucked!

beautiful post @englishtchrivy !! beautiful flowers sure) we have them here everywhere on my island !! my latest post if you feel you have time, nice photo for u at the end of the post >) https://steemit.com/science/@gomeravibz/the-fantasy-superhero-spiderman-s-ability-to-walk-effortlessly-up-walls-is-now-a-reality

@gomeravibz thank you for stopping by my friend!
Yes, that's fine you may always send me here or better yet in the chat - so I won't miss a post from you!
Will go have a look - I hope I like what I see haha :P

Nature always keeps surprising me, so I think your garden will flurish and bloom.

@oaldamster thank you!
this post is a double edged sword haha
zeker komt dat nog - denk ik hahaha nu niet zeker
maar de andere edge niet meer die had genoeg gehad - meer dan genoeg
de maat is zeker vol nu - die is moe en zat

You are welcome @englishtchrivy!
Think I got that... ;-)

{NL} Rustig aan. Op naar nieuwe avonturen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64