A Chart of Incompatible Plants

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Some plants aren't compatible to be planted beside each other because one could influence the ph of the soil or would need much watering more than the plant beside it and for these and a few other reasons the plant beside it might not grow well.

I've decided to share you my chart so what happened to me here won't happen to you, too.

I'll let you in one secret as to why - Potatoes are better not be planted beside corns, cucumbers, legumes, pumpkins, squash, tomatoes and turnips. All of them are susceptible to the virus called Phytophthora which could cause root rot and spread fast. Imagine all of these plants are planted in a row - you won't be harvesting any fruits nor roots in the end.
This chart isn't complete so if you happen to know what other plants should not be planted beside any of the ones on the list, do share below and please do add your source. Thank you very much.

Do you happen to know why these plants should never be put together?

If you do, kindly share it below as a comment. If your answer is based on your experience kindly write it down and if not - kindly put your source of information below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



Sort:  

Oh i will use this one. It reminds me of a similar list (only opposite) which I think @pharesim touched on of what grows well with others and for what reasons. Some non crop type flowers are complimentary to vegetables as they attract pests which in turn keep them away from your good veg.

I will hunt it out!!

@meesterboom another gardener with a gardening know how thank you!

Ya!!! When i first moved somewhere with a garden i did a course and everything. I was determined to grow my own stuffs and it worked. I was more surprised than anyone else!!

@meesterboom ah - we did, too it was essential for the "volkstuin" / public garden community I joined in to make sure no idiots caused a contagion hahaha.

Haha that's good thinking! I still volunteer in summer at the community garden i did the course at. It's great fun!

One reason can of course be the pH, but it's also about different chemicals they omit to the soil and the earth.

On the other side of the coin there's a lot of positive combinations! Your thought about the onions protecting the radish wasn't too far fetched - it works with carrots :)
Instead of worrying about incompatibilities, maybe you could try planning your beets with beneficial combinations. There's loads of different pests and deseases which can be kept out just by choosing a good neigborhood. Search for intercropping and mixed cultivation.

@pharesim so I take it - that is based on experience?
having seen the Swiss chard next to Juka on one of your old post?
Thank you for sharing that!

When I get the chance to work a garden I take it, but my experience is limited to a couple of seasons.

Last time I got a book about organic gardening before and used some of the techniques described there, intercropping being one. I can't say if it helped, but it didn't hurt and I did not use pesticides or mineral fertilizers.

@pharesim I see - i'm into organic gardening, too
a great know how is really essential specially in this zone!
we had the same zone - but then you moved far away - I guess it would be easier there now - having the sun all the time!

But it's hard with water. I didn't figure out yet if they use the chlorinated stuff here, or how it is done :D

@pharesim oh that part - how about rain water? We have a rain water tank - oh but then it's mostly sunny there. I forgot about the water. YES they put chlorine indeed - I think only in our zone in the EU - don't do that so we could drink fresh water straight from the tap. However, coals could filter that so put coal filters in your tap - there's that - we brought one when we stayed in Calpe for 2 weeks.

Several years ago I bought a book on the subject of companion planting. I followed its suggestions and was pleased with the result. One year, though, I forgot about it and planted the green beans next to the gladiolus. Neither one did well.

@scribblingramma Thank you for sharing your experience. Gladioli work better with sweet peas - rather than beans but you're not alone, I made the charts for 2 reasons - 1 to post and share here and the other to print and bring in my veggie garden. It's hard to remember everything :D

Great information!! I heard once that we shouldn't plant parsley close to corianders, i tried once and only parsley grew! :s

I did a little search on Phytophthora sp. here where I found "... the Irish potato famine of the 1840s, caused by P. infestans. This Phytophthora species, probably natural from the southern Mexico, infects native species of potatoes without, causing major epidemics. But in Europe, it causes the potato disease commonly known as potato blight, which ravaged potato crops during the 1840s, with disproportionate impact in Ireland. The costs of these agricultural epidemics have been very high, every year billions of dollars are spent to combat Phytophthora diseases through the use of fungicides, resistant plants, and other horticultural practices."

@liliana.duarte any reason why the coriander didn't grow? I only experienced that parsley grow with everything - actually , specially with asparagus and tomatoes - these are its best growing buddies - so your coriander case is new.

EDIT : I experienced the phytophtora during my 1st gardening here I didn't know that the tomatoes should be in a glass house or anything similar to that otherwise it would automatically have that due to the weather here. Luckily only the fir tree beside it was affected but vinegar + water + salt helped the fir tree recover from it.

I'm not sure, but someone i knew that grows plants on a balcony told me that, and I never planted (seed) both in the same pot. I was able to grew parsley and coriander this winter in my small balcony, urray!!

@liliana.duarte I see. Perhaps it was more of an issue of the time or plant care? not really compatibility? - must be that
Congratulations with your parsley and coriander!
I have them in one pot in the kitchen haha easy for grabs but the coriander gets pulled more often and almost bald hahah - I love it on rice - makes the rice smell so damn good. I also have an Indian blood so there - hahah

She told me it was a compatibility thing, and she explained something about chemics​ in soil inhibition​n (I don't remember exaclty). I'm trying to find the document she send..but where?? If (when) i found it i'll share it with you!

@liliana.duarte sure,
she? - Mama?
Lucky you! My Mama went to slumber a long time ago!

This "she" was the person who explained me about the incompatibility.
But I'm really fortunate, yes, I still have my mother​ and hope to have her for a long time! Sorry for your loss...

Glad you were able to treat fir tree with natural methods. I would love to have a garden too, I love when I visit my mother (I will tell you a secret, I can go out in pajama and walk in the garden...it's so good)

@liliana.duarte that's something :D
thank you for sharing me that - quite intimate hihihihi
you know we're on public yeah?
now it's not a secret hahahah
I hope your boyfriend gets you a garden .. or that your mom shares it with you? Here, they have a lot of public gardens - its where our taxes go - the government supports that - the one on the video on the previous post is an organic one. The government here allocated a budget to allow the people to enjoy organic food - cool huh :D
I wonder if that's only in the Netherlands I think Germany and Belgium as well as France do the same -

Sometimes i forget it's public, but I wear decent pajamas!! I'm ok! ;)
Organic food is very appreciated at this place, from time to time we buy a basket, and vegetables are lots better!! Since I tasted organic spinach i never return to the conventional ones!

@liliana.duarte I can relate to you!
It's hard not to get carried away here specially when we are already virtual friends! for some reasons we developed a bond didn't we? It's something that cannot be explained - only felt. That's something I like about it here -
yes, you are so right about them tasting very different!

Yes, we really developed a virtual friend bond!! These Steemit relations are great, hard to explain really!!
Now I must turn off!! Nice chat :)

@liliana.duarte sleep tight <3!

Thanks for sharing! This is a very helpful chart! Once the worst heat of the hot season has passed, and we don't have water shortages this year I'm starting a second growing food from home in the tropics experiment. Strawberries are def on the to try list and many other plants from the list you shared too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59005.68
ETH 2516.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48