Which Cactus Is This?

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Last time I posted about the basic care tips one could give their cacti which you'll find in this post.

However, those are just the basic tips. Every cactus is unique and each of them actually needs special care.

Each of them have a different amount of light needed. Some could grow outside and are winter hard. Others aren't very ideal for growing indoors.

I'm growing them indoors and in case you decide to buy a few, it's better to know these basic tips and a few more such as:

When to re-pot? The rate of growth in cacti would tell you how often you might need some re-potting. Some cacti grow faster than others and might require frequent potting.

When is its bloom time? Some discard their cacti for having no bloom but the fact is each cacti have different flowering time.

How much sunlight does it need? Sunlight is very important for some cacti but some requires hiding in the dim during dormancy. Some need full sun the whole year through.

What's its spine like? It's important to notice the spine of any cactus because the thicker the spine the more sun it needs. It's also important so growers could tell how to hold them when re-potting and some would require thick gloves or holding them gently because if the spines happen to be weak, they could come off the cacti very easily and it would hamper those cacti's growth losing those spines. Spines do not only serve as protection for a cacti, it is also its shade provider and leaves. Leaves are the chef in the plants - they are responsible for cooking any plant's food.

Here are a few names, scientific names and specific info about the cacti that I'm growing indoors. Some of them have a common Scientific names but still look all different and have their own special care needs.

RED HEAD IRISH MAN CACTUS

ARIZONA SNOWCAP CACTUS

CANDY CACTUS

EMORY'S BARREL CACTUS

COTTON CORAL CACTUS

MOON CACTUS

GOLDEN BARREL CACTUS

SUN CUP CACTUS

PERSIAN CAT CACTUS

GOLDEN TORCH CEREUS

Now, this one is called "Zebra cactus" but it actually belong to the succulents' family.

ZEBRA CACTUS

Now, I got this one on my birthday and I don't know which cactus it is. I looked it up in the net and na - da . Since, it's a gift, I have no access to the receipt which could have told me which cactus that is. If you happen to know do write down in the comments section.

WHICH CACTUS IS THIS?

I took the rest of the photos with a Samsung Galaxy Note 1 and Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

Sources

List of Common Names
Anny Cactus of Cactusoase in the Netherlands

Love cacti like I do?

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Nipple and candy cactus?
Wow I didnt know they exited!
Very beautifull and informative @englishtchrivy !

Happy birtday to you Ivy. :-)
A lot of beautifull cactus flowers.

@oaldamster Thank you, birthday was in early autumn - didn't post about it but had a post about where I celebrated it - that post had water reflections, birth date is not the same day though.

You're welcome @englishtchrivy.
And you mentioned it in a different post I remember. :-)

excellent post, I never thought there were so many varieties of cactus, I learned something new today thank you very much, feliciades for achieving this post thanks for sharing

Wow
Cool Post!
I Love These Cactuses!
Steem On!
:))

heheh... that one almost like angry bird if you have the right colour.:-)

To all 97 Steemians who's upvoted and posted their comments on this post THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH FOR THE SUPPORT!
sadly nobody has guessed which cactus that is and I just want to say - the offer is still on. If you happen to find out which cactus that is just post your reply on my most recent post and as long as the referrence matches I'll send you the 10sbd.
Thank you all so very much!

Is it a Matucana madisoniorum?

A really interesting post. Do I assume looking at your name you live in the UK? I bought a small cactus the other day (£1 Wilkinsons) and I am trying to identify it. It's round and has brown fur like growths coming from the spines. Looks like the fur on a parker coat hood! Any ideas what it could be?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51