What Makes Hydrangeas Turn Blue

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Common Facts about Hydrangeas

Hydrangea macrophylla 'Semperflorens"

Soil:

They love rich, medium moist and well drained soil. Loam soil and sand are the best choices. They could grow in pots, containers, hedges as long as the soil needs are met.

They love composts so I normally separate the vegetable peels, blitz them in the food processor and add it to the water for them in summer.

Diseases:

Bud blight, bacterial wilt, leaf spot and mildew. Some aphids get lost and mostly shelled snails - specially teeny tiny ones gnaw and hide under their leaves. In rainy seasons, I look like I'm harvesting escargo. If I don't, they big ones tend to suck the sap out of the branches at the bottom.


Hydrangea macrophylla 'Libelle

Bloom Time:

Some start in summer, some in late summer, and some during early fall. Since all of these hydrangeas bloom almost consecutively, our front yard is such an eye catcher to some who parks in front of our house.

It's not common for people to get nosey and take pictures of other people's plant here, but some just couldn't help it. Can you blame them? I even do, too. So from July to late September a shopper to the grocery next to our house would first drop by take a few snap shots specially of these Hydrangea macrophylla 'Semperflorens".

This was in July this year. We had to trim them way back down. Many of them broke when it hailed some time this July and rained like crazy for days that those pompom flowers got too wet and heavy they bowed and eventually broke.

Pruning:

The best time is - immediately. We cut the old, browned and dried flowers before they sprout on stalks. Cutting the new stalks would mean no flowers for the next year since the new stalks carry the buds.

Although most of them would love being placed in the full sun, some of them love being under partial sun like this Hydrangea macrophylla 'Tovelit'.

We put them close to the window in the front yard so the Hydrangea Macrophylla 'Taube' could serve as their shade cause they actually prefer partial than full sun. When it gets too hot, hrydrangeas could easily get scorched. This was what happened after three consecutive days of hot summer sun shine ranging from 28 to 33 last year. They were fried when it hit 37 degree celsius.

Not all of them are winter hard so you'd better know which one is. The ones we have have survived hard winters for years so they all are.

What makes the hydrangea turn blue?


The Hydrangea macrophylla 'Semperflorens" that we have must actually be purely pink. However, since it is so near the concrete sidewalk, concrete contains lime and that could turn the hydrangeas near them into blue when the soil gets contaminated with it.


Hydrangea macrophylla 'Taube' Teller Pink

Another trick I use is - putting crushed egg shells (washed) in the soil. I'm half a vegetarian so most of my protein come from eggs. Instead of throwing the eggshells I washed them and powder them using a knead. It's quite a work but if you get used to it you can use those egg shells to combat snails and that's how I found out that they actually could turn pink hydrangeas to blue just like what they did to these Hydrangea macrophylla 'Taube' Teller Pink.

Yes, they were originally pink.

I just spread the egg shell on the soil around them and they first turned red violet and later bluish. By tweaking the soil to a ph of at least 5.5 - which is very acidic would do the trick. You will have to take another plant beside it in consideration though.

Some plants like the Rhododendron can't thrive on acidic soil. I have one that used to be between two Hydrangea macrophylla 'Taube' Teller Pink - it still is alive but hasn't grown bushy and bear teeny tiny flowers. I moved it and hopefully it performs better next year.

I also tried it with this Hydrangea macrophylla 'First White' but it didn't work. Somehow, when the flowers have almost wilted, their edges turned a bit reddish.


There's one more hydrangea in the middle which I featured in this post. The white ones with cone like florets. They are my favorites cause they really attract bumble bees and they sometimes conduct a buzzing party in the garden. The very reason I
made sure both the front and the back garden have flowers for them to feast on.

There are two other hydrangeas that I would really want to acquire. The Hydrangea macrophylla 'Ayesha' and the Hydrangea arborescens 'Grandiflora' . Someday .. someday.. when I get to score an organic one in an organic plant shop near here. They always go out of stock and sell out pretty fast because they really are so beautiful.

Have you got hydrangeas in your garden? Which one?

I took some of these pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition and some with my Samsung Galaxy Note 1.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Hello @englishtchrivy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Lovely post @englishtchrivy - being a keen gardener and not having my own right now (am in LatAm), good to see this - I like to do the landscaping - and building pergolas is a favourite! Wisteria, Bougainevillea and climbing roses - Rambling Rector - Hydrangeas drove me mad as I was for ever trying to get more acid into the soil without burning the roots of surrounding shrubs ... Namaste! And thanks again.

@ebryansThank you!
wow! you should post your work then!
We used to have a Wisteria on the garage but my hub got rid of it cause the flowers tend to make the garage look very messy and its damp here so some people could slip on them when it rains. I love them actually and they smell so good.

I hope this article helps you, it would make the hydrangea blue faster if you dig the soil a bit and put the crushed egg a bit under them without hurting their roots! Good luck! I used at least 10 eggshells per plant .

Nice, i didn't know concrete could turn something blue.
What makes me turn blue is when at 23rd hour, still no sign of a whale.

@ace108 cheer up!
we all have that moment so I know how you feel :)

Worst. lost my wallet today. Think may have been pickpocketed.

@ace108 ah ~~~
that sucks!
how dare them pick an 80 year old man's pocket!
hugs?

Thanks. If I'm 80, losing a few hundred bucks may not be a big deal since I won't need much more money for the rest of my life but i still need money for rice and noodles and all for at least maybe 30 years.

@ace exactly - wow you're rooting for 110?
I'm okay if I make it 90 -
You don't look like 80 so maybe he thought let's victimize him - let karma go after that pickpocket!

darn! I hope only money was in there no cards or IDs :(

you can throw coffee grounds around them on a daily basis! on the soil to help with acidity. Actually, I did that for a while last summer, I'm sure I'll report here on steemit on their color next July :-)

@gardenlady yes, that, too!
you're right about that - since we used that to rid of cats pooping in the front yard. That adds to that, too
but will be looking forward for your post, too!

I always love your posts and pictures! I am addicted to your words! <3

@poeticsnake thank you! I love you and I'm so happy you put it up there - so we're here for already seven months - oh dear
quite a ride - shall we just keep enjoying still?
Bumpy or not - let's just have fun toch!
Proost! 7 months - wow ! mileage !

should you get lost in Arnhem - you know where to look me up :)
addicted to my words - hahaha okay okay :)

Yes, 7 months already and still alive and kicking for some reason! Bumps for sure and many WTF moments but I still enjoy it here!
I do not post as much as I did before but who knows, it might change again and again. Right now my focus us on my work more than posting!

If you ever get lost in Woerden drop by for some coffee or tea!

@poeticsnake these days am busy, too
almost didn't make it tonight
very very sleepy now
hahaha

I would keep you posted if I do
and likewise here with tompoeze?

I love tompoezen! <3 I will bake you a apple pie!

@poeticsnake that would be nice!
I love apple pies with black coffee okay
I hope we meet soon hahaha
we're having a btc meet up every month
perhaps you would want to join and experience using that crypto money you have now and know this is for real
the crypto world is for real :)

Excellent informative post. Pity I don't have a garden.
.



ColdMonkey mines Gridcoin through generating BOINC computations for science.

@coldmonkey, Thank you!
it's never too late to have one - ;)

@englishtchrivy~
Your flower photo is so beautiful that it is enough to make me happy.

@jejujinfarm nim, thank you!
that's good to know it makes you happy.
Stay happy! no matter what :)

I love Hydrangea for its boldness and delicacy. Just planned some in my garden this summer... they looked fabulous!! Thanks for sharing your lovely photos :)

@rea thank you!
I hope they bloom and make you so happy!

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy. Lovely photographs....lovely garden. Appreciate your commentary and intructions for how to obtain that marvelous bleu colour. bleujay will try the egg shell method....have bought the garden shoppe supplement without success.

Annabelle hydrangeas are one of the varieties that can bear freezing temperatures. Whilst they do not trun bleu...they are white...their best quality is that they make lovely dried flowers in a lovely mild shade of green .....besides the fact that they bloom with great abandonment.

Great post....well done.

@realmeandi did a painting of one these the other day and posted it.

All the best to you and yours. A bientot.

NB Again...you are too kind....quite a surprise.

@bluejay thank you, you're going to need to save a lot of egg shells :)
but then it's really very easy I just let go a bowl of them last week
I'm preparing the spot for my matured avocado plant in the garden
I'll try letting it out but this time on the ground
cause I let 3 out and 1 already died
too cold :(

as for drying hydrangeas I want to but they have tiny bugs that crawl fast
they look like black spots and won't bite but am worried they'd crawl in my ears
Those bugs were also in the lavenders eeeeekkkk hahahah

Thank you for your reply @englistchrivy.

Eeek is right....bleujay desposes of the leaves and hangs the flowers on the garden chairs for a bit before bringing them inside...the insects seem to find somewhere else to go with all the rustling about. Have not checked the lavender ....however same method...collect and hang for a bit and then bring in.

Good luck with your Avocado plants.

All the best. A bientot. :)

@bleujay okay I'll try doing that on sunny days
in the wood shed
thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82