Ooopssss .. I Planted the Onions Close to the Radishes ! (panic)

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Have you also a garden? I've been writing that I've been busy with mine and have been spending the late afternoon working there. These days, I'd be busier than usual since I'm maintaining two gardens and a few other commitments are eating my time.

Last time I've been to my garden, I have sown a few seeds on the spaces we've finished weeding. I first planted broccoli, carrots and ... Last time, I let a few seeds of spinach, radish and onion sleep in the ground.

Only those who really reads would click on this video and answer this question : Which event that has happened in Steemit a few days ago did I mention in this video - and what did I say exactly? Answer the question properly and you're in for a surprise - but then you have to be the very first(wink wink).

....the harvest ...

Okay, kidding aside .. those were just remnants of last winter's harvest. Despite the cold they have managed to grow very well. I added them on a Kiran Mari that night.

These are what those seeds look like. They are all okay to be sown directly on the ground in March.

Things to remember in planting these three seeds.

  • Sow any seeds during the dusk or near dusk for this time, the birds won't be digging them up. The soil is soft when you rake them up and the birds know that the earthworms will be crawling up and it would be easy for them to pick those crawlers off the ground. The seeds could possibly get raked out with their claws and not grow. During dusk, most birds are already perched with their mates on their nests so you won't have to worry that your freshly sown seeds would be dug up.
  • Cover each hole and water. As for the Raphanus Sativus I will have to keep watering them a lot otherwise they'd be a bit bitter sharp and that won't be delicious.

I planted two rows of red onions between the radish and the spinach thinking the onions could repel larvae that would gnaw on the spinach leaves. While doing that my instinct told me I shouldn't have done that but I was sure it's okay to plant them beside the spinach. When I got home I checked my chart of incompatible plants. Damn it! There was nothing to worry about you worry wart. There was totally no reason to panic and stress myself out thinking about - making a reminder to thin the radish and transplant them elsewhere the whole drive back home.

How about you?
Have you also been gardening too, lately?
Which seeds have you already sown?
Which incompatible plants have you accidentally planted beside each other?
How can or did you solve that problem?

I took both the video and pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

@meesterboom has answered first....^_^

Yes...very humourous .....bleujay thinks you were having a good time. No such luxury for us.....a strike.

Wishing you all the best. A bientot.

Photographs are not coming up for bleujay.....so thank you for the video.
bleujay is sure the photos are lovely....will come back round later.

@bleujay thank you for reading, too!
yes, unfortunately he was freaking fast haha that's why his name ends in a boom :D

I'm always having a good time when I'm gardening - there's never a dull moment even when I get dirty!
When will you share your gardening experience love?

Abientot!

Thank you for your reply @englishtchrivy.

As for your query regarding gardening.....begins with......a trip nearly every weekend in the Spring to the nursery.....for flowers: annuals and perennials....herbs: :annuals and perennials....and a few vegetables.....flowers for every setting in the garden....perennial herbs in three rows and a small vegetable patch. Something of that nature in some variation every year. Thank you for inquiring.

bleujay is a great collector of seeds and seed packets and gives planting from seed.... a go from time to time. Very much enjoy your posts and the information you post.

Wishing you all the best. Cheers.

@bluejay thank you !
I hope you have fun, too!
I hope you let us take a peek of your garden one day !
I could only imagine the flowers look lovely!

Thank you @englishtchrivy.......did you have a look at yesterday's post.

That is a close up of one of the herb beds...a photograph of the Lemon Verbena which is a perennial....which bleujay was sure you would inquire after....but the principle was just toooo appropriate...as it should be. ^_^

Cheers.

@bleujay oh I only noticed the bee and the principle indeed hahaha
I'm sorry - I didn't take notice which plant - which you know I normally do :D
thanks !

The onion might go on strike!!!

Hehe!!

I love it that your gloves have your name on them!

@meesterboom yes! why?it has to be complete!

Lol. There a lot of laughing!! If it's not twenty centimetres apart and ten deep they might revolt and not grow!!

@meesterboom! Oh you really read it and since you are the first and it's complete - you get a gift!
Thank you for reading and clicking the video! It was the strike indeed :)

Gaaar, I really can't wait for the nesting limit to be removed.

I look forward to more accent changing garden tomfoolery! :O) Once the ice has broken on my lawn I will get back into the gardening!

I did notice the accent changing! The end especially! Thank you for the prize! !! Woot woot!!

@meesterboom you're welcome!
That's the best part about reading ;)!

Hehe, i always watch your videos. I really like placing the voice to the text if you get me? I remember the first, the gambler! Of course your singing voice is really different from your speaking voice!!

@meesterboom hahaha
I also switch accents did you notice? :D busted! mewwww~~~

You are really busy. Maybe you are simillar earlly bird ^^
I wish your seed going to well grown up!

@sochul nim neh.. nan pahpahyeo .. nomo.. hahah
thank you!
I hope they do, too!

EDIT : @sochul nim, post opsoyeo?
post again!

Yep. I just posted a picture posting.
Anyway your hangul skill very well.
I'm happy your hangul expression ^^

@sochul nim hahaha thank you!
I tried using google translate but it's not cute hahah
the translation is too formal and sometimes wrong so
better this way - my Hangul is very basic and almost rusty
I barely use it - I only have listening practice - from films and songs

As I am not American or English, I can not use full English.
It is strange that you use correct Hangul. ^^
Even my English is a mess.

@sochul nim, thank you.
I got my Hangul from my kids student in the past.
I learned by mimicking when they were translating everything I was teaching them.
I sent you a message in the chat - please check it - it's a suggestion, don't worry nothing dangerous kkkkk~~~

EDIT : your English is fine!

@englishtchrivy, Growing vegetables is a happy thing. I have never seen black weed, I almost forgot what's the onion's weed, though my family grew it when I was kid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10