Gardening Community Forum 1 : Help! My Baby Cherry Trees Are Under Black Aphids' Attack What Should I Do?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)





I took each pic and video with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 .



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely birds singing in the videos. Interesting topic. Aphids always a problem...so glad you are keeping an eye on them...lovely for the trees to be trained as espeiliers.

As for the aphid problem.....for roses...bleujay sprays water with a bit of washing up liquid poured in and mixed gently in a spray bottle...however with your sensitive area....one might suggest a dipping of the branch into a bucket of such a mix....trying to keep the water from becoming foamy so that you can see the pests in the bucket...again using a white bucket so you can see the results.

Here is hoping you will find a solution.

Abientotlater.

@bleujay - Thank you .. have never thought of dipping the branch to drown them annoying pests...

yes, i train them to be espaliers cause I don't have much space :D
and my other garden has much trees too already but I'd like to keep these nearby
I was hoping the blackbird calling his mate (it was black so male yes?) in the background would peck on them but even the great tits and the red breast robins that visit my garden seem to not see them. They're well hidden. Am more worried they'll eat the fruits later haha they should eat the aphids :(

As far as I know, the ants grow it, then to eat. If you destroy the ants then the aphids will disappear.

@erikaflynn - have you watched the videos - I mentioned that ;D
the thing is - the ants are hard to destroy I had allies in the form of newts - they eat the ants I had 5 last year but this year I haven't seen them .. I wonder if they're still hibernating but I do hope to see them soon again.

The neighbor's garden have them, too - and those aphids could fly - its all gardens around mine so it's tough ridding those 6 legged antsy

I would do two things. First, are they in the ground or in a pot? Aphids attack weak plants and sedate it, keeping it just alive enough to feed on it.
Feed the plant. Put some coffer grounds (full of minerals) and some banana peels ( high in potassium) in a blender with water and water the plant.
Then put 2 garlic cloves, a few mint leaves and/or comfrey leaves, and the tabaco from a smoked cigarette butt in a blender. Add a pinch of chilli power.
Blend it up and pour it through a coffee filter.
Dilute it 2:1 two parts water to one part mix.
Pour the filtered mix into a spray bottle and add 1 drop of dish soap.
Shake the bottle and spray all the leaves and underside of the leaves. Drown the aphids with it.
Repeat the feeding and spraying routine twice a week until they are gone.
Here's some more info on reproduction cycles

@luzcypher thank you and sorry for the late reply
I have been gone for days

I appreciate the tip the problem is nobody smokes here - its just my hubby and me and none of us smoke I wouldn't dare picking up cigarette butts in the streets - yuck! :D

Blend it using a coffee filter? Perhaps I could just try making such a spray without the cigarette butt?

To stop the ants, wrap a greasy cloth around the trunk.
Ants won't walk over it.
Then you can pick off the aphids by hand and don't rip out more leaves !

@felixxx greasy cloth? but would it not cause mildew? do we have the same weather in Germany? always damp here - oiled? petroleum jelly?
I do pick them by hands - but the ants keep bringing me back I told them I didn't order any - hahah
but if i don't rip the leaves - they would just get back to it the next day but okay I'll try .Thank you!

Petroleum jelly, butter ... whatever you got at hand.
Fat doesn't dissolve in water - rain shouldn't be a problem.

Just a lttle wrap around the trunk - it won't harm the tree.

Only downside to this is, that it does not only keep the ants away but some helpful bugs as well.

They even sell this as a commercial product:
https://picclick.de/175m-Fett-Band-Baum-Insektenschutz-Up-Zeit-401221944862.html

@donkeypong thank you I'll have a look

EDIT: this was supposed to be a link I wanted to write as a source but I thought - why put a source if it's a forum :D but thank you

go buy some hort oil, and spray tout de suite!

@gardenlady - first time I heard about hort oil I wonder if we have here - what @donkeypong gave me got neem oil I looked it up - have to get in India :( or maybe have to look harder. Thank you!

If you have a garden center near you, or a place like Home Depot, I would think you could find some there. Good luck!

Cor they are massive blighters!

Don't worry chica! I got your back. Douse the tree in white spirit. Make sure you get all the affected leaves and bracnches and the trunk. Now light the spirit with some matches. Initially the tree will catch fire but dont worry. The flames should go out after ten or so minutes.

The aphids should be gone.

:0D

@meesterboom Loooooooooooooooooooooool~~~~
ultra funny ahahahahaha!

thanks! but .. is there any other way - that would not involve putting them on fire?
how about just spraying them with dissolved white spirit?
wouldn't that be enough?
It's cold today but as you can see they're still present - never absent if they were in Steemit - always posting - very very active and thriving!

I have no idea at all. I do the soapy liquid thing if it is indoor plants but no clue how to tackle outdoor ones. I do hope you get an answer because I am quite keen on finding out these things in case I ever need to know!

Active and thriving but the kind you dont want!!

@meesterboom - I haven't had aphids inside - I always check my clothes before I get back inside so haven't had any. I tried the soapy thing - the damn ants just laughed at me I guess and brought back new ones the next day.

Exactly!

You are in for a battle I suspect. I still think fire might be the only answer ;0)

@meesterboom loool again Im off to bed very very heavy eyes - did not nap but made this post instead cause them black aphids are no friends and spreading fast cause leaves are yummy and many to munch now damn black aphids!
I thought where are them hoverflies?
I only saw one hiding from birds on a lavender tsk tsk

Hoverflies are fantastic arent they! Well, they are if they are actually doing their job and eating the little blighters! I need to get my lavender going this year. I have grown it every year but it never lasts the winter well. Hopes ya got a good sleep!

You have done good CSI work. Sorry, I cannot help. No geen fingers here.
Good luck with your trees.

@ace108 thanks !

You're welcome

Too bad snakes do not eat aphids, or we could send you a solution!

@little-peppers very cute!
we don't have much snakes here and what we have are teeny tiny - the size of your palms kiddos
but thank you - perhaps Ireland could use more of them - totally no snakes out there :D

There are four ways to fight these uninvited guests.

  • Call Monsanto and ask for a oversized weapon whitch might kill you as well, when you have eaten your cherries. Advantage: You will not be enabled to call Monsanto again.
  • collect as much ladybugs you are able to invite. Then call all the bugs to take place on one leaf to have a happy Easter meal in your beloved cherry tree. They will clean the mess within a few days. After, they will leave you because you don't feed them anymore.
  • Collect stinging nettles, fill tem into a vat and fill the vat with water. Let it ripen three weeks. Then take the water into an atomizer and spray it on and under the leaves. The disadvantage of this method is, your thee is suffering in the processing time of your fluid.
  • The exrra froggy method: I use to kill afid by afid by the pressure between my thumb and pointing finger, leaf by leaf. The advantage of this method is, the plant feels your hospitality and all the deep care from your heart, leaf by leaf and it will be convinced you are the best one in its whole life. Then it will give cherries like a whole market in July. And the ants will not starve, because they have all these lousy pressure–food now, you left on the leafs.

@afrog thank you for the tips and the laughter!
rotfl here as I read this specially after reading tip #1 ..
I do collect lady bugs am just waiting till its sunny again they're usually hanging out on nettles along the banks of the marshes

I got these ones from there they do combat them but right now its always raining and cold the lady bugs have gone on strike haha

Happy, Happy, @englishtchrivy, you are back on computer. As you see, the truth is sometimes very funny.
Now you just wait for the sun. In the meantime you maybe collect more ladybugs. I don't think four combat units are able to clean a whole tree. Don't worry, the afids are as lazy as the bugs now.

@afrog hahahah yes, you always make me laugh .. so i have to come back just to check what for reply I'll get from a few funny people - to some Steemit is like the drugstore - you get your daily dose of laughter from comments
they're not lazy these days - still active despite the cold but maybe not tonight we're getting -2 he he

Yes the ladybugs enjoy flowers near their favorite food source aphids. Any kind of flower will draw the lady bugs to defend your plant!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87