Make Your Own Organic Plant Fertilizers From Your Kitchen Scraps

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever fertilized your plants? What do you use? Bought or self made fertilizers?

If you have read my previous post I've inserted a link about having grown chestnuts and walnuts from seeds in it. The walnuts germinated earlier and I have just inserted updates on their development on some of my posts but in case you didn't get to read them, here's the gif on it.

I was growing them indoors and they were growing just fine but I've noticed that some of their leaves are browning. They looked scorched though they are placed totally far away from direct sunlight and were regularly watered. They were also growing too thin so that rings the alarm of being malnourished which led me to making them a smoothie (sort' a) to boost their soil when I transplant them. All these signs are screaming my baby walnut plants need more Nitrogen, Potassium, Posphorus and Calcium. Yes, yes, there are many other nutrients they do need but let's focus on the major ones.

I'm growing them in pots because walnuts could release chemicals in soil that could kill plants like apples, tomatoes and many others. Plus, I intend to keep them short not necessarily like that of a bonsai but similar to it - in a sense that I'd like to just grow them in pots meaning their roots will have to be cut every year till they understand I don't want them to grow that tall. It would take them 10 years before they flower and fruit but I don't mind it's worth the wait. Having said that, it's necessary to know which kitchen scraps can provide which nutrients for them.

Here are a few samples of kitchen scraps you may use to make your own organic fertilizers for your plants.

I know you want sources though I've always made my own stuff from my head but you want sources so I have to edit this to include them the last minute.

List of Organic Fertilizers
Easy Guide to Vegan Organic Fertilizers



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Excellent post dear friend @englishtchrivy, I am passionate about agriculture and gardening, we do not use neither fertilizer nor pesticide we deal with natural things, such as egg houses, food remains, hangovers and cow dung. Excellent information thank you very much

@jlufer thank you - those you mention are organic fertilizers ;)
you should watch at least the 1st video then you know what am talking about

Bonjour @englishtchrivy. Lovely to see you posting.

Lovely post...always enjoy learning gardening tips. Best of luck to your walnut tree.

To answer your query regarding what to add to soil...a soil enhancer if you will......'egg shells most important....organic tea bags...organic coffee pads......vegetable peels....looked like carrots....a bit of water or leftover tea......egg shells were from boiled eggs.'

bleujay adds coffee grounds and ash to pile of dirt for gardening purposes....have not really tried anything else on a regular basis.

All the best to you and yours. A bientot.

@bleujay oh thank you for watching the videos !
you did watch huh ^ ^
nobody does that these days
mousy quiet here
where's everyone? hahhaa

You are too kind.

Your video was informative, short, and sweet.....bleujay recommends it for anyone who loves gardening.

Appreciate the surprise @englishtchrivy. Sweeet. ^_^

You are right ......mousy quiet.....love it...the words that is.

Cheers.

@bleujay - efforts are always rewarded ;)
you're not the first one who had that
so keep up what you're doing ^ ^
have a great day!
I need to recharge my VI now
but will go around return ups for a few minutes more

That was a whole new realm discovery for me Ivy. Thank you for sharing the information on how to make homebrew fertilizer. You may need to hire a camera person. Although you seem to manage very well yourself.

Liked the special extra water sound fx you added. :-)

@oaldamster hahahah - the special water effect hahaha- slurping?
oh if you have hydrangeas - the coffee pads could turn the pink blue - so don't throw them coffee pads
first, let them dry and then spread on the soil - it'll do the trick

You making watery noises while pouring in the water with the plants yes. :-)

Thank you for the tip Ivy, we do not have hydrangeas, but handy to know.

@oaldamster well you really watched the videos I appreciate that a lot!!!!!!!!!!!!!
i like the sound so I slurped hahahha

My pleasure Ivy.

It was a funny bit, the slurping, made me smile. :-)

Great stuff again, @englishtchrivy. And you gave away additional Steemit–Skills for newbies in the appendix.
Well done, master of mining bees and bonsai trees.

@afrog thank you
I wonder if you ever garden or did - I'm about to unplug and I remember seeing your comment online this morning - I have to check :D

Yes, check it please. MUAD'DIB has a strong evidence on the Steem.

I was gardening in my childhood by being forced to displant undesirable individuals from the vegetable patch. Then I studied biology because I wanted to understand human being in total. And, it worked. Now I'm a frog, able to talk to humans. But anyway, now I am forced to keep a garden clean or my female great reed warbler will make a tasty barbecue out of my rear legs. You know the demanded stuff you use to eat with your hubby, when you are travelling in France.

Yes, and sometimes I am gardening some nice fingered very smelly plants, I'm not allowed to mention their real botanic denotation. I had to stop this for years because I'm a father and I know what I did when I have been a polliwog. But now the kids are adults and I don't have to take care for educational correctness anymore. So yes, I am gardening too…

Nice one!
Kitchen scraps? Will pizza boxes work as well? 8-P

@ocrdu thank you !
wahahahah paper - would better be put in the fireplace? :D
tin - in the paper bin? the blue trash can ;)
save it and sell to the how do you call the boer for that?

A downside to this is, that you have no real control over the PH levels.

@felixxx am glad you commented ..
thanks a lot
yes, we can't really measure how much of which will give how much nutrients nor control it so I'd have to monitor them, too and will actually have to move those pots when the marigolds have germinated - cause then I have something to protect them from aphids while they sit on tiles - cause am worried they'll still release the chemicals in the ground with the water and where they're standing now is near a Budleja, a fir and another pine tree - not sure they're friends :D

didn't know that walnuts could be this hostile - :D

For PH you could buy a bunch of PH test-strips - they're cheap.

@felixxx I have :D
but they were upstairs and I noticed late
my husband forgot to tell me the leaves were browning
he waters the ones upstairs - am off limits hahahah

Excellent post!

@papa-pepper thank you!
you inspire ;)
am off to bed... btw I sent you a reply in the chat
forgive me I've been gone for a while and have not seen your message for days or 2 weeks already am so sorry !

Thanks for the post/videos. I've just started saving egg shells, tea bags, etc. for use in my garden. I appreciate your breakdown of which nutrients can be found in which items. Very helpful! I'll be following you for more gardening tips.

@redhens thanks a lot for the follow!

You're on the right track.. having written this - that means you also do gardening? Have you any solution to the question I asked on my post? I'm trying to start some sort of a forum - and I wonder if you could add other tips on how to deal with black aphids which are very very annoying pests.

Your article is very helpful! Thank you!

@olga.maslievich hey it's good to see you here
Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28