Am Blue ...

in #gardening8 years ago (edited)

Aster


Have you seen this around? Hub says it's called "Herftstaster" or Autumn Aster in English. It's been here before me so I don't know what it's name is. Asters look the same and just differ in colors but there are so many kinds of "Herftstasters" and since I can't tell which one this is, if you happen to do so - give me a link to prove that is it what you think it is for 1SBD. Let this few information help you. It grows on full sun. They don't need much attention and bloom from August till sometimes late October (depends) on how warm the autumn stretch has been. The buds of the flower starts in purplish thin petals to this light blue.

It could get invasive so it could make your whole garden very very attractive. Every kind of pollinator loves them and you could trim the flowers, place them in a vase and it would just encourage the main stem to branch out and sprout more flowers. Sometimes, there would still be flowers in November - still depends on how warm the autumn has been. Hub trims them in March at the same time he does the Buddleja.



Chicory


Cichorium intybus is which chicory to be exact? This chicory just popped out of the soil - where it is pretty dry, coarse and almost none was growing - just right under that sycamore tree where the sun is till full since the tree is already too tall it allows the sun to peep through it's naked main branch. I suppose a bird - either the red breast Robin that often visits the tree beside the Buddleja or the great tits that feed on the black aphids delivered by black ants to the sycamore leaves.

It's a weed and its leaves look like that of a dandelion - just thinner so I let it grow thinking it was a dandelion and I could get its roots later to make tea since dandelion roots help detoxify our liver. To my surprise - it has grown long branches that has thin stems that bear tiny blue flowers. They bloom from July till June. Yes, I think they are pretty and I'd want them to stay in the garden but hub says it could get very invasive so we got rid of it. I pulled out its roots and it looks like that of a dandelion as well and hub says it was used as coffee a long time ago. No, I didn't try making coffee out of it. Whether it would still grow back i have no idea .



Morning Glory

It's also called - "Dwarf Morning Glory" and Convolvulus tricolor. This is one of those seeds I got from Green Peace. The very first seeds I got were just three and I let them germinate in pots inside the green house. I sow them in March and they bloom in July till September.

Like the pollinators, I love them cause their flower looks so fragile and for their color contrast. They look like funnels and has very soft petals. No, they are not edible in fact, they are poisonous. They get easily scorched when we hit 30 degree celcius so I planted them in a pot where the Passion plant grows since it looked so empty and placed a few Nigellas beside it. I put them there so the pine tree beside the pot could provide shadow for the flowers in case it gets super warm in summer. Though they are annuals, they just reappear every year, I don't have to collect their seeds either.

Mountain Cornflower

Centaurea Montana also called Mountain Cornflower is like a miracle to have in the garden. I bought it as a young plant and just placed them where the Ibis Pink Ice grow in the back yard. During its first week, I had to look for the garden slugs that gnawed on its leaves. I had to put cracked shells of pistachio nuts and egg shells on the soil around it so it could grow because the naked snails must have thought it's their salad. They were munching on it to the last leaf.


It has survived many naked snails attack and finally it started[ flowering in May](() . It was stressed out from getting too much attention from me and the snails but it has managed to produce blooms.


Unfortunately, it wasn't just the snails that pest it. The black ants delivered it black aphids that hid under its crunchy leaves. It has also survived it with a little help of the dragonflies, hover flies and lady bugs around. One stem gives out three blooms and when all of those lovely flowers wither, the whole stem browns with the leaves and finally withers. Worry not, a sprout would eventually pop out again and they're winter hardy.

Though I already knew that they would just come popping out of the ground, I've decided to still collect the seeds so I could grow them soon. These are what the seeds look like. They are smooth like that of a sunflower's.

All of these blue flowers are not high maintenance and are effective on attracting pollinators. I find them all lovely and I do hope the chicory itself would sprout back since I wasn't really able to pull out the whole root. I have learned from all the gardening shows from UK that I've been watching (my favorite is that of Monty's) that blue flowers tend to attract pollinators for your fruit bearing plants in your back yard. Most of all, having plenty of flowers in your garden would save the bees.

Which of these blue flowers would you want to have in your garden?

I took all of these pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition and made the gifs here.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Hello @englishtchrivy,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Tse dami mong alam..yan di ko binasa lahat.

@immarojas hahahah dami kng alam dyan magsasaka peg ng lola mo
mag hardin k n din kasi
dami pa wag k mag alala uulan p nyn hhaha

sige paulanin mo.i like it lola.

@immarojas wag ka mag alla bagyo p gusto mo hahaha
sinave ko mga yan kc mga gnitong tym na prepartion mag ttanim b

Wag lang baha..preparation is during winter??

I think london is like a popsicle too i was told. Shame on that avocado lola.

@immarojas hahaha hunga kamote nagyeyelo dito -4
pati aphids s green house nag sipadlayasan n s ginaw
natigbak ang isang avocado ko dun
yung yelo nanigas lng di ntutunaw - mga 1 week png yelo yelo kmi
ice age and peg lola

@immarojas replying on ur nested comment here
hahaha ginawang chatboard eto
ate magchat k n nga kasi
ate daw o ilng taon k n b?
bka ms bta k p skin
mag kkwarenta nko

oo ata bumha sa inyo s UK
umapaw 2big
d2 nmn binbantayan ung mga dikes

No worries ate..i'll try to fix this chat in steemit when am back.honestly, all these keys are confusing.

@immarojas asn k b
telefono or comp?
esteem?

Am using my phone as it's very handy.

@immarojas replying to your last nested comment
I have no idea. I got a lot of those but I also don't know - wala tlga lola
hahaha andami dami ko n nkapaste lng sa threads pero d ko alm ano pwd gwin jan? Gusto ko n nga itanong e nkkain b yan haha

Bute nga kung nakakaen yan..balitaan mo ko kung wat yan!

Recommended this on gardening steem trail. The pictures are great!

@vegascomic, thank you - you're very supportive!

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy. Lovely pictures and commentary.

Yes the Autumn Aster is a fine garden specimen. Bleu is always lovely in the garden.

All the best. A bientot/Tot later

@bleujay, thank you !
I read your reply to @anotherjoe, I got teary eyed.
I still wonder which autumn aster this is do you happen to know?
I also love blue but any flower that would attract pollinators would do
even rafflesia hahahah :)

A bientot <3!

Thank you @englishtchrivy...for being real...thoughtful...and fun.
Now that is nothing to get teary about.

If it had a yellow center...bleujay thought it might be the Michaelmas daisy.....something or other...otherwise bleujay does not know or is thinking of something else.

All the best. A bientot.

@bleujay it was very touching so a tear dropped hahaha

Cute....and now it is all under the title...Am Bleu. :)

How humourous is that? Well you cannot say we don't have fun at Steemit.

Amazing pictures! I like these flowers, beautiful!

Wow, isnt chicory absolutely beautiful! Guess whats going in my garden this year!

@meesterboom - Belgian endive?
whattttt?
ahahhaha

Haha, sometimes you are funny nuts. I love it!

Beautiful flowers!! Good luck growing these seeds.

@knittybynature thank you!
It's going to be my 1st time and putting them in the front yard this time :)

I would like them all

@rynow - okay then wait till Summer :)

We are in the middle of summer here in South Africa.

@rynow - we're in snow
brrr.. today I went for a walk at 5pm
I felt needles on my feet thick socks and winter boots and all
it was just brrrrr
but I had to take a stroll it was worth it
but probably hitting the bed earlier tonight.
Too tired hahah

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47