The Best Drink - Poem

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

image.png

Today I am wearing blue jeans and writing about how to enjoy old wine and new wine. The key is in the expanding of the wine skin. We have a choice to make our mind like a new wine skin or an old wine skin. A new wine skin is always ready to grow and learn new things even if we make many mistakes. An old wine skin meets its limits and breaks. The same is with us when we try to keep all the old ways and never change. This poem is based on my blue jeans and new wine.

Original Poetry @mineopoly

The Best Drink

I found a new patch
And put it on my 501 blues
Threw the pair in the wash
And found the tear even worse.

I meet a man from Lebanon
Carrying a new leather wineskin
Filled with a bubbling wine
Expanding with fermentation
The leather stretches
Young and fresh
Just like the wine inside.

Another came up from Gerizim and Ebal
Carrying a fine wine aged with beauty and care.
We drank it together enjoying the sweetness of years.
With age the wine subsides
Satisfied within the confines of the wineskin
Of aged wine and turgid walls.
No more growth is required
In sacs of minds set in their course.

Not a drop remained of the ancient potion of
Tradition and rigid thought.
We finished the old wine with a Mencius smile.
The old wineskin stood empty and hard.
Even the remnant aroma
Made our taste buds water
Like Pavlov dogs

Without a second thought we filled up the old wineskin
With the bubbling joy of fermenting new wine
Expecting a mixed bag of the old and new
We found cracked casings and wine running through.

Habibi, “I’m sorry.
Your wine spilled out.”
My friend from Lebanon was not angry.
He took out a new flask and said,
“This one will last.”

With my torn Levi 501 blues I looked like a fool.
I took the new wine and drank it.
Not near as sweet but so alive
From my head to my feet.
That little sip I drank continued to expand and grow.
Young and fresh inside
The best I ever had to drink.

image.png

Stretch your mind. This is my 13th poem in the Steemitschool poetry competition.(Steemitschool Discord)

Verse of the Day/ Mark 2:22

"No one puts new wine into old wineskines."

Mineopoly Quote:

Don't take spamming from strangers.... It's not good for health.

image.png

@mineopoly Posts on English and Education

First Day of School
Cleaning the English Classroom
ELS - I get where you're coming from
Creativity in the box
Is Nature the Best Teacher?
Dyslexia and Dyscalculia
Play
ESL I love you
Even Monkeys Fall From Trees
Groovy School
Distraction
Personality
K.I.S.S. Creativity
Proof of Brain
The Sounds of Silence
The Wall- Education
Shy
A Straight Line
Trains
Ryu Gwansun
Korean Independance Movement - Manse
Paint a Fish
Wisdom and Humility
Five Love Languages
Intermittent Media Fasting
COBOL Queen
The Greatest Teacher

@mineopoly Posts on Mining the heart

Will you be there?
Voices in a Blockchain
Avatar Falling Star
I am a Work in Progress
Songs of the Playground
Morning Miracle
Tasty Spam
Gold Dust
A happy Song
Collaboration
A Closer Walk 1
A Closter Walk 2
A Steemit Heart
Hearts joined together
Revival Korea
Feeling Groovy
As White as Snow
Unconditional Love
Strapped to a printing press- Batman
Choice Wine
The Sounds of Silence
I'm a Seoul man
It's not easy being Green
Reach Out and Touch
Who is Mineopoly?

Woodstock source. All other pictures here can be found on pixabay or they are a creation of @mineopoly

QTTA: (QUESTION TO THINK ABOUT)

What is the best drink you ever had?

I love you all.

For amazing adventure in English please follow @mineopoly mining the heart.

Sort:  

That is a excellent new post today my friend. I love it @mineopoly ♩ •♬

Thank you @luckypower. I am happy to hear from you. I don't have the strength or time to write like I used to but I'm glad to share the drink that quenches my thirst. I want to grow and expand and learn something everyday so I will check out your blog too.

Peace,

@mineopoly

Quality lyrical piece of poetry. This was great read.

Thank you very much @naquoya. I wrote this in the subway on pen and paper. I am really swamped these days and need a drink but my stomach can't even handle a drink. That's true but the poem is really about the limits of legalistic teachings and the dangers of not growing. This is what makes writing a poem a day so difficult. We should be free from the routine and rules and write with not restraints. I really appreciate your comment. I avoided promoting this post on discord simply because I am tired but a visit from you is always an honor. Steem is still low so I'm considering some semi-fiction writing in my "free time". I have the story all written in my head. I just need to be behind a computer without kids running around. Have a great day. Are you in Melbourne?

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.41$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68843.90
ETH 3813.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48