STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE - Winners of #38 "Vegan Dishes From Around The Globe"

Apologies for the delay in announcing the of winners of the last round, but hooray the wait is finally up!  Thanks to everyone for being so understanding and for all your kind wishes to have a good time with my friends.  I did indeed have a wonderful week!  Now I have so much catching up to do with my blog and my own family life I'm unable to respond to all the comments I received, but I do hope you know me well enough by now to realise I appreciate and even cherish all the lovely things you say to me, and never forget who has said what :-)


A big thank you to our guest judge of the last round, @heart-to-heart, who not only chose a theme that everyone seemed to really enjoy, but I can say for sure she has been amongst the most thorough of all the judges!!!  As you may have gathered by now she is a super enthusiastic vegan and takes much delight in seeing what kinds of dishes and ingredients are prepared by vegans in different parts of the world.  She loves influencing healthier choices in others too.  All of you who participated in this last round have impressed the socks off @heart-to-heart, and she seemed pretty glad of the extra time to choose the winning entries!  As she felt more rewards were needed than we had to offer, she has most generously provided two extra bonus prizes, which in addition to @englishtchrivy's three choices for the most creative entries, it means we're able to give out 9 prizes this week!  Groovy!  @heart-to-heart also wished me to make it known that in order to ensure no favouritism was happening with the entries from her steemit foodie buddies, she called over a 'real life' foodie friend for a second opinion of her choices.  After hours and hours and days and days and much consideration she finally settled on the entries you'll see below.  So you see, she's one thorough judge!  And I do believe she genuinely means it when she says she'll try most of these recipes out for herself.

  

For those of you who have never entered this challenge before - it's very easy!  We have a different theme each week, and all you have to do is prepare a dish appropriate for the theme, and also ensure you follow the general rules of the challenge (which are posted every week along with each new theme announcement). You don't have to be a master chef - just try to be creative with your recipes and take beautiful photos, since unfortunately we can't taste the entries so you must help us do this with our imaginations!  Original recipes are encouraged, but you may use someone else's recipe as long as you credit the original source. 



Bonus Prize - "Amparan Tatak - Vegan Dessert From Borneo, Indonesia" by @thekitchenfairy 5 SBD sponsored by @heart-to-heart

@heart-to-heart comments: "I want to do a special reward "Indonesian Shoutout" for this Indonesian dish outside of the parameters!"


Bonus Prize - "Vegan Sushi Rolls" by @tioluis 5 SBD sponsored by @heart-to-heart

@heart-to-heart comments: "Jicama rice! Now that is next level creative my friend! 😃  I love your attention to detail and the effort put into making this dish not only delicious but also beautiful! I love sushi so you stole my  heart! Awesome work making your own sauce as well! Super creative and worthy of the award!"


Most Creative Entry - "Vegan2.0" by @progressivechef 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


Most Creative Entry - "Vegan Smoothie Bowl with Salted Cinnamon Chia Granola" by @jaymorebeet 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


Most Creative Entry - "Vegan French tomatoes pie with roasted zephyr zucchinis" by @victoire 5 SBD sponsored by @englishtchrivy


4th Prize "Japanese Vegan Set Dinner" by @steemit-foodie 5 SBD sponsored by @sirwinchester

@heart-to-heart comments: "Obviously a great amount of time was put into this dish given all of the  components, I couldn't skip over it! I love gyoza and am excited to see the vegan version in action! A note to steemit-foodie, I found the ingredient list a bit difficult to read as it was arranged, maybe next time you could try setting them in a list for ease of the reader 😃 Great meal however, I will need to have the whole thing one day soon!"


3rd Prize "Vegan2.0" by @progressivechef 10 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@heart-to-heart comments: "This gorgeously crafted dish comes in from Mauritius! Moringa is a super food over on this side of the world and utilizing it in cooking is always a great health benefit! I love how @progressivechef has taken local ingredients and made them into this fun entry that I would love to try when visiting his neck of the woods!"


2nd Prize "Ratatian - Ratatouille Tian" by @ikaputri3 15 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@heart-to-heart comments: "The dish is beautiful and definitely plays on my love of color in food! @ikaputri3 collects local ingredients, even some grown in her own family's garden for this dish! I don't know how much more local you can get! She takes a French staple and makes it vegan! I can't wait to try this one!"


1st Prize "Vegan Canadian Poutine" by @natashahall 20 SBD sponsored by @gringalicious

@heart-to-heart comments: "Poutine is the most popular Canadian dish out there! It's even more  impressive to me because Canada is not known for very many dishes so this is truly patriotic at its core 😃  I love how @natashahall explains the health benefits and origins of her ingredients. I believe these aspects are very important when it comes to food and shows her attention to detail within the challenge! For anyone who isn't in the know, Poutine is incredibly un-vegan normally but is a delicious dish that I have made myself many times and know the struggle of it! Can't wait to try your rendition! Great job!"



The NEW THEME will be announced on FRIDAY.


I am toying with the idea of doing separate posts for the winners and new theme announcement as it might make things a bit easier for me.  But I will keep you all updated so you know when to look out for what!!!



I'd like to share my sincere THANKS to @gringalicious, @sirwinchester and @englishtchrivy for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 


PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#38 - Vegan Dishes From Around The World

#37 - Healthy Yet Tempting Food for Children

#36 - Food Fit For A German

#35 - Ice-Cream

#34 - A Smoothie for @smooth

#33 - Brilliant Berries

#32 - Picnic Alfresco

#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 



Image kindly created for me by @sashagenji

Sort:  

Congrats to all the winners! As usual all entries were just amazing! It's really great to discover so many talents each week with the wonderful contest!

I am so happy to be amongst the winners, wow!
Thanks so much for everything @woman-onthe-wing and all the sponsors!
Have a great day ahead!
@progressivechef

Congratulations @progressivechef well you truly deserve it 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Thanks so much for such a nice compliment @lenasveganliving! SCC is just an awesome contest, just love to participate everytime!

My pleasure @progressivechef ................yes I do too 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

you are so Beautiful
will you marry me

Congratulations everyone, it was truly an amazing array of dishes around the world. Well done 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Congratulations everyone! Great job I'm so happy we had a vegan challenge that way people can see that there is different alternatives to beautiful, delicious, easy to prepare food different than animal products.

I do eat meat and seafood every once in a while and I am not against it but there is definitely several benefits to having a vegan or high in vegetables/fruit diet.

Get out of the fast food, all that sugar and clean your body. Stop poisoning it with food that will give you no benefits than a bigger belly and a good taste in your mouth. Food has a purpose but that purpose of nourishing and healing your doesn't have to differ from that good taste in your mouth and I think we have shown a little bit of that with this challenge <3

Thanks @gringalicious for sponsoring this challenge and @woman-onthe-wing for hosting it, and everyone else who in one or another form helps and participate in this challenge, Extra prizes, and contestants because I know that will bring more and more people into it

You're right @tioluis... there are stacks of benefits in eating a predominantly veggie/vegan diet. It seems that people who eat meat every meal or every day encounter more illness than those who only eat meat occasionally or not at all. From a personal perspective my fibromayalgia symptoms vastly reduced after cutting out meat from my diet, and I don't sweat as much either, which I found very interesting.

I'm very happy that you feel the SCC is helping raise awareness about healthy eating... that pleases me very much! As you know I try to encourage healthy choices through example, and it seems the same is true for many of you who regularly participate. I think all of us involved with this challenge are doing a very positive thing here and already have increased the knowledge and cooking skills of many 'viewers'. Fantastic! I hope that you continue sharing your recipes @tioluis, as they seem to get a very good response from people looking for healthy, tasty and something a 'bit different' :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46