Steemit Culinary Challenge #38 - Vegan Smoothie Bowl with Salted Cinnamon Chia Granola

in #food7 years ago (edited)

America steals so many great foods from other countries.

America's copycat style makes it hard to showcase American vegan food. However, there's always some trendy new item in boutique cafés. Whether it's avocado toast or acai bowls. bagel balls, or poke bowls. Seriously, there's always something new and trendy and hip, until enough people discover it and it becomes very un-hip.

dJI6A4236.jpg

Here's my vegan take on one of those trendy American foods, the Smoothie Bowl. It's a simple and beautiful way to start (or end) the day.

The base is made of fresh local peaches that my family and I picked last weekend, along with sliced bananas and rich coconut milk.

dJI6A4244.jpg

The combination of toppings makes the Smoothie Bowl. A balance of crunch, chew, sweet, tart, and nutty elevates the cool smoothie base below to a level you just don't get when you drink a smoothie out of a glass.

I topped my Smoothie Bowl with loads of goodies:

  • homemade salted cinnamon chia granola,
  • goji berries
  • flaked coconut
  • local bee pollen
  • hemp hearts
  • diced peaches
  • diced mango

dJI6A4223.jpg

Here's how to make the salted cinnamon chia granola

dJI6A4075.jpg

Ingredients
  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 c chia seeds
  • 1/4 c cacao nibs
  • 1 T cinnamon
  • 1 t sea salt
  • 1/4 c raisins
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup local honey

dJI6A4070.jpg

dJI6A4073.jpg

Directions
  • Mix all of the ingredients together with a big spoon
  • Press onto a parchment-paper lined baking sheet
  • Bake at 295°F for about 20 minutes, until your kitchen smells fabulous
  • Once cool, use your spoon to break up the granola and store in an airtight container until you're ready to use it!

dJI6A4077.jpg

dJI6A4079.jpg

Here's how to make the Smoothie Bowl Base

dJI6A4220.jpg

  • Toss 3 frozen cut-up peaches and 2 sliced frozen bananas into the blender.

dJI6A4217.jpg

  • Add about 2/3 can of coconut milk (including the coconut cream) and begin to blend.

dJI6A4218.jpg

  • Add more coconut milk as needed to help it along, and if you have a tamper, use it to get all the fruit chunks blended up.

dJI6A4219.jpg

  • That's it!
Assembly!
  • Once you have your smoothie base finished, you can begin to assemble the toppings!
  • Pour your smoothie into a big bowl (or two) (or just one) :)
  • However you like, load it up with toppings.

I used, from left to right

  • Unsweetened flaked coconut
  • Salted cinnamon chia granola
  • Goji berries
  • Local bee pollen
  • Hemp hearts
  • Local peaches
  • Diced mango

dJI6A4230.jpg

dJI6A4235.jpg

dJI6A4233.jpg

Once this was sitting pretty on the table, we grabbed four spoons and ate straight from the bowl. Someone may or may not have even licked it clean.

dJI6A4232.jpg


Thanks to @woman-onthe-wing for hosting this challenge, and to @gringalicious, @sirwinchester, and @englishtchrivy for sponsoring! Also thanks to @heart-to-heart for this great challenge theme and for being our guest judge!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 11, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

Good job))
Upvoted and resteemed))

Thanks @kleryk200!! I appreciate your support!!

Congratulations on your 'Most Creative Entry' prize awarded by @englishtchrivy. Beautifully presented and fabulously nutritious!

This looks delicious. :)

Thanks @vegetarianbaker! it was indeed delicious. I need to make another one ASAP!

Wow, a bowl full of goodness there! I've just finished my early dinner, but now I'm craving for some healthy dessert after seeing that bowl :-D

It's so good for dessert or breakfast! For dessert, maybe adding cocoa powder would make it more indulgent :) Thanks @ikaputri3 :)

My goodness this dish is beautiful @jaymorebeet! What a gorgeous combination of ingredients and attractive presentation... I wish I was there with my spoon to dig in too!!! Big bowl of nutrition... perfect to eat with a few friends... or perhaps as a hangover cure after a heavy party night :-) This really is an extraordinary recipe that I would love to try, so thanks very much for sharing it with us!

Thanks @woman-on the-wing! My eyes were definitely bigger than my stomach with this one so I called in the troops to help out. Coconut milk and coconut cream is so rich and filling! Yes- loading up on all this nutrition the morning after a glass of wine too many would be a fabulous idea! (If I could find someone to make it FOR ME!) :)

Slurpy slurp! A beautiful smoothie bowl packed full with nutrients and textures!!

Looks like someone chopped up and froze some of her softball-sized peaches =D

Thanks @foodie.warrior!! Correct on the peaches!!! So many so so many!!

Looks like I am the first one to comment yay! What a treat this is, oh my goodness, bowl full of goodies. Super healthy and super delicious. It's so true about America. I live in Canada and we have food and nations from around the world here......including me lol. We are truly blessed to live here, even though is far from perfect, yet, compare to other parts of the world we are living in a luxury and have the choice to eat anything we want. The key is to make the right choices. UPV & RSD 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

So true! I started think about what food is "American" - I got sandwiches, fried chicken, burgers ---> so much junk! So much of our GOOD food is from other countries! Or somehow adapted from other countries. I guess US and Canada just embrace (sometimes better than others) foods from everywhere and mix and match. Thanks @lenasveganliving!

My pleasure Dear @jaymorebeet and best of luck with the challenge 🍇🍍🍑🌸🍑🍍🍉

Ohh my. Even though they are trendy, I love smoothie bowls... my hubby doesn't like them though! He always says it reminds him of baby food. Hehe! This one looks so good. Good luck!

hahah! Your husband is funny! Thanks amy!

Americans do have a hard time on this challenge. As you said you are a mix of a lot of other nations. But that's is not a bad thing or course. ;)

I think your entry is great because you choose a vegan recipe that is not only healthy but currently trending which is because all these healthy trending recipes have their origin in the USA (mostly). So despite what I said before, Americans have a lot to post about in this context. :)

Awesome post @jaymorebeet! I wish you all the best for the challenge! ;)

I guess you're right - there are a few things that fit the bill :) ! Thanks so much @alinalisa!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 21.74 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @jaymorebeet. Vote @zeartul for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59888.38
ETH 2373.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48