STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Vegan Sushi Rolls

in #steemitculinarychallenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, your tio luis here <3

Let me start by saying that I love you all

and you are amazing, you are beautiful and you are capable of doing everything you want.



This week the challenge is a Vegan one which comes perfectly as I have adopted a vegan

based diet for the last week and for more weeks to come :)

The benefits are just amazing, there is nothing with some meat here and there but I love

how I feel with this plant based diet and the energy levels it provides me with

064.jpg

So for this week I prepared this raw vegan sushi roll with some home made sour kraut

Delicious!


004.jpg

We will need:

carrot

cucumber

green onion

cilantro

avocado

nori sheet or which ever sushi wrapper of your preference

jicama (for the rice)

sour kraut (optional for extra filling)


we will start with our rice since it is the one that might take the longest.

collage jicama ricew.jpg

hmm, look at this beauty! Thanks @jaymorebeet for sharing the link on how to make

this awesome collages :D

Back to business

  • first, we need to peel all that skin and if it is a good jicama most likely will have a lot

of skin, I use a knife since it is easier, yes there is some waste but once you get skilled enough

you can get most of it with out wasting a lot and for the price... Using a peeler is not an option

  • after clean we will chop it down to manageable pieces 1 or half an inch cubes, it doesn't

even have to be cubes have in mind it will end up in the food processor and tiny.

  • after we pulse it to the desired size which is close to rice grain we have to squeeze most

of the Jicama juice out of it or we will end up with soggy sushi rolls :S


  • once almost dry I'm not saying it has to be sand dry just not wet, we are ready to proceed



012.jpg

Move on to the carrots and I have this marvelous tool called julienne peeler which will give me

the strips of carrot I need for this amazing meal :D (is the silver one on the left)

look at this <3 beautiful and E z

013.jpg


015.jpg

now to the green onion!

We also need thin strips of it and the best way to get them is to get a little knife and

make a whole lot of string out of a green onion tail :D

like this

018.jpg

lovely job tio :D by the way the cilantro we just need to rinse since we want the whole piece

moving on.. the avocado we will slice

019.jpg

I usually like to get around 10 slices per every half avocado since I don't need them super thick but is up to you

you can also just smash it or add more instead of sour kraut

For the cucumber, we need to peel it, cut it in half, seed it and also do thin strips

cucumber collage.jpg

now that we have all our mise in place we are ready to assemble :D
025.jpg

look all this beautifulness of fresh organic produce <3 The Best!

029.jpg

Time to fill that nori

we start with cucumber at the bottom to provide structure

next, we place cilantro and the carrots, I like to do it this way because it will also

add a layer of insulation and will protect the nori sheet from getting super soggy

sushi collage.jpg

after we add a layer of rice, sour kraut and the avocado.

Remember you can add whatever you desire for this meal. Some jalapeno sound amazing

041.jpg

To close we need to get the opposite end of the nori sheet wet

I don't know if you can see it but just grab some water with your finger tips

and run them across the nori sheet, making sure it gets really moist.

We are ready to roll!

044.jpg

Gently lift the bottom with both of your hands and start rolling with a firm grip

not too firm that you will break the paper but firm enough so it won't be loose.

If it happens to break on you because it happens, dry nori is super delicate

046.jpg

Well if that happens just drop everything on top of another nori and try again :D

or you can snack it as nori tortillas hahaha. Don't worry sushi rolling ain't easy.

But you can always try again until you get it

049.jpg

I also made a really good and simple sauce to go with it


050.jpg

I just mixed

1 tsp sesame oil

1 TBS rice vinegar

2 TBS coconut aminos (like soy sauce but no soy)

and stir it up it was delicious and went amazing with my sushi :D

056.jpg

look at this!

Also I made a jicama limeade :D

YES! there is no reason to waste all that delicious jicama juice. I just added some lime and since

jicama is sweet naturally, I did not have to add anything else different than ice

It was delicious.

052.jpg


057.jpg


062.jpg

Thank you so much for looking and good luck everyone <3

Soy tu tio

067.jpg

Have an awesome week :)

Cheers

073.jpg


Sort:  

friend of mine swears that peanut sushi roll is the best ;) try it

ahhaha I will have to see, where is this peanut sushi roll :P

Thanks for stopping by <3

Nice post, beautifully presented and explained. detail oriented with nice pics. thank you for sharing this with us, Upvoted

Thank you for reading, I'm glad people don't get lost with my crazy explanations hahaha I just want to make everything easy for everyone :)

Thanks for the feedback <3

I love you

Soy tut io

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Damn dude, food looks good :)

Thanks daw :P

Mis syou <3

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Great share. Never tried making my own sushi. These look so good. Good luck!

You need to try, it is so easy and so good. I just love the nori sheet flavor with cucumber cilantro and avocado that will make a perfect sushi roll for me.

I mean I will not turn my back to an upgraded on ;D but that for a basic will do :P

SUSHI !! // BONZAI !! (-:

I'm the sushi masteR!
and your tio ahaha

YUMMY!! We are vegan and sushi lovers as well. The culinary challenge is a cool thing. How get I know, theres a new challenge? We are brand new on steem it and explore the posibilities. Ohh now I got a sushi hunger... cheers!!

oh sweet stay posted to the steemitculinarychallenge hashtag on Fridays, @woman-onthe-wing announce the winners and the next theme for the challenge. You should definitely participate although it is a different theme every week I mostly present vegan versions of the food :)

I have noticed a lot of steemians are into health <3 which is amazing!

Your woman is one lucky girl with.

very nice post

Thanks a lot :)
I did try I'm glad you appreciate it <3

thanks you

ahhaha I try I try, She makes me feel super lucky too. Giving me a family and love <3

Although she didn't try this, She hates sea food! I really thought that was a deal breaker but she is good and lets me eat it whenever I want she just doesn't eat it :)
More for tio!
Soy tu tio

soo true

Jicama in the rice? I really have to try it! Thank you

You need to, super easy and actually has no taste, which is good because you can make it taste whatever you like <3

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this and share it as much as possible
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Really awesome post @tioluis! I can see how much effort you invested by creating this post. I feel with you! :D

Sushi is so versatile that it can be easily prepared vegan which is great. There are endless possibilities. Thanks for sharing this one!

I wish you good luck for the challenge! :)

Aw thanks a lot <3

I do put my heart into my food ahhaah it doesn't taste right if I don't :P

Soy tu tio

If anyone wants to know the grave impact of going Vegan and the easier methods to adopt ZERO cruelty on animals....plz read this
https://steemit.com/vegan/@cutu/will-going-vegan-save-our-planet-from-climate-change

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40