STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #38: Amparan Tatak - Vegan Dessert From Borneo, Indonesia

in #food7 years ago

1502807131970.jpg

Although Indonesia is known for its non vegan dishes such as satay (grilled meat on skewers) and "rendang" (spicy meat curry), many of their traditional sweets that we call "jajan pasar" are vegan. One of them is this next dessert that am entering for SCC by @woman-onthe-wing

This dessert is originally from East and South Borneo and is called "amparan tatak". You can find them served at anytime; can be at breakfast, at lunch, as afternoon snack, and after dinner dessert.

Although today this dessert is still exist in East Borneo, it can only be found during Ramadhan, the Moslem fasting month. However, in South Borneo, it is still common everywhere. Best is if you can spare your morning time to catch the floating market. Many of the boat vendors offer this dessert with many varieties, heaven for the sweet tooth!

1502806866480.jpg

This dessert is mainly made of rice flour and coconut milk. It is very rich and it is very sweet. As I mentioned above about varieties, the original flavor is with banana, which am posting below.

Why am I entering this for Vegan Dishes From Around The World? Because even though "amparan tatak" is from Borneo, the other islands in Indonesia have similar desserts, with different names and fillings (such as jackfruit, brown sugar flavored, etc). So imo, it is truly Indonesian 😉

1502807039926.jpg

For this dessert, you will need:

Bananas
Coconut milk
Rice flour
Water
Sugar
Salt
A little cooking oil for greasing your mold

1502806030790.jpg

Let's get baking (or rather steaming)!!!

Brush your mold with a little oil, place it onto a steamer pot which already filled with enough water. Bring to boil.

1502806179046.jpg

Bottom Layer:

400 ml water mixed with 400 ml coconut milk, 200 g sugar, 200 g rice flour and a pinch or two of salt

1502806133798.jpg

If it's needed, strain the mixture so no lumps

1502806287401.jpg

Pour this mixture into prepared mold that's been heated and steam for 20 minutes (covered obviously)

1502806371242.jpg

Meanwhile, prepare Top Layer:

Mix 200 ml water with 400 ml coconut milk, 50 g sugar, 100 g rice flour and a pinch or two of salt

Again, strain if needed

Set aside

Once 20 minutes mark is up, slice a banana, and place all over the cake, and steam for another 10 -15 minutes

Take off lid and slice another banana. Place all over the cake and slowly pour the top layer mixture. Place the lid back, and steam for 30-45 minutes

1502806420910.jpg

Cool cake completely before removing from mold and slicing

1502806499159.jpg

Enjoy! 😊

1502806600329.jpg

Sort:  

Nice food)) Upvoted and resteemed)))

Yay! Much appreciated !!

Hi @thekitchenfairy I love your name =D Thanks for your entry into SCC this week, I am so thankful to be able to judge the delicious meals that everyone created =D
I live in Bali so I am so excited to see an Indonesian entry! These look delicious! I am always afraid to buy sweets in case they have milk in them but I love that these are made from coconut milk and will have to try them! Good luck <3

Apa kabar @heart-to-heart 😊

I am jealous you are there 😅😅😅

Thank you and good luck in judging!

A truly impressive entry that @heart-to-heart felt deserved a reward, so she has given you a bonus prize of 5 SBD! Very well-deserved @thekitchenfairy!

Yay

Many thanks !!! ❤️

What an awesome culinary creation. I've never seen something like this before. Looks really great @thekitchenfairy! :)

Also the fact that you choose a recipe that includes steeming is pretty well thought through. ;)

I wish you good luck for the challenge! :)

Hahah that's clever, steeming 😂😂

Many thanks!!!

Looks interesting, maybe I'll try to make this sometime.
Nice recipe ^^

Give me a shout out when you try this😊

Many thanks!

Following you btw, yay vegans!

Thanks I'm following you too (:
If I will make this I'll let you know ^^

Oooh I've never seen this before, but the combination of coconut milk and banana is soo good!! Great recipe!

Many thanks!

For sure, coconut is bananas best friend 😉

Oooh wow, I've never seen a dessert like this before @thekitchenfairy, it looks really fantastic! I think I can imagine how it might taste, but I will have to make it myself because I'm so curious about the texture too. Do you ever make this using other types of fruit, or is the banana essential to the flavour - I love banana, I'm just asking out of interest because it seems as though this recipe could be adapted quite easily depending what flavours you wanted? Absolutely beautiful presentation and you have made it look really appealing :-) Good luck to you!

Yes!!! Jackfruit, super good! I have also made variant of it using brown sugar, Taro powder, and/or without any filling at all.

I know other people use Pandan (screwpine leaf). They also sometimes colored the layers either pink or green.

The texture is almost pudding like.

Indonesians have 'wet' traditional cakes, and this dessert fall into that category as the texture is custard/pudding like 😊

Many thanks!

I will be entering a second entry. I think I read we can enter 2 right?

It's similar to Nagasari in Java. This one looks less complicated because we dont need to wrap it up with banana leaves. I should try it one day because I miss some Indonesian snack. Anyway, good luck for the challenge! :-)

Hi Ika, Salam kenal

And no, Nagasari isn't the same as Amparan Tatak. Amparan Tatak is almost pudding-like. Oily and wet.

In Borneo we also have Nagasari which we call as Pais Pisang

😊

Many thanks and good luck to you too!!

Ah ok. I thought they were almost the same :-) Btw, just call me Putri. Nice to e-meet you!

Monggo Di coba, Putri

Amparan Tatak ki eunak tenan, tapi yo kuwi, super Legi 😊

Kapan2 tak cobane mbak, tak kurangi gulane ;-) Oiyo, sampeyan asmane sinten? :-D

Aku Nina, Putri 😊

Wis suwi Rak nggo boso Jowo, Wis Rak lancar. Putri pundi asline? Mugo2 lancar karo mas-e yo, aamiin 👍👍

Mantafff....so pasti yummi, kesukaanku

Di pasar be, banyak 😂😂😂😂

Kulo saking Jogja mbak. Aku isone yo ming Jowo ngoko e. Nyuwun sewu nggih, hihi

Hahahaha yay

Aku Disik kos2an ne cerak TNI au 😂😂😂

👉👉 Cah UPN 😂😂😂😂😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46