Crispy Pan Seared Salmon on Laing Cremeux

in #recipe7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever eaten a "Laing"? It's a Filipino dish - Bicolano's to be specific. It's made of Taro leaves and stems seasoned and cooked in coconut milk. I grew up being fed with vegetables and that's one of my favorites and having lived with my grandparents in Bicol as a kid - we eat it spicy hot. I love it and it has been three years since the last time I was able to eat it. A friend of mine has managed to sneak one bunch of them Taro stalks in her luggage last time and she shared it with us. On some days, I ordered from the Filipino product online store here in The Netherlands but it doesn't taste like - how I expected it to be and it's very very frustrating.
0.jpg
0a.jpg
***** Laing
0b.jpg

0c.jpg
0d.jpg
0e.jpg

0f.jpg

0g0.jpg

0g1.jpg

0h0.jpg

0h 1.jpg

0i.jpg

0j.jpg

0k.jpg

0l.jpg

0m.jpg



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here: Some I made up or are original recipes and some I tweaked for the purpose of making them free radicals free.

















I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

Lovely! I felt that I must resteem this post :D

Thank you very much!
You're ever generous - everything you touch seem to turn to gold
just like that cow in your pic! :D
Thank you again!

Salmon is my favorite fish and this looks wonderful.

Love laing but not so spicy..or else smoke comes out of my ears!

hahhah you saw I didn't put chili huh
I had kimchi with it so no need

oh kimchi spiciness i can handle..like!!

yes .. its also not burning spicy hot
not really

Yes..nice with rice..to the max!!

korek korek!
lintik mag aalasdos na nagugutom na naman ako

Buntes ka lola? wag ka sumabay sa ken, duty akesh :)

buntis?
am almost 40 !!!!
no way!

Looks delicious!

thank you

I miss laing! Makapagtanim nga ng taro at magaya to ^.^ yumyum...

hahah - gora
how can you miss Laing
you here, too?

hahah - gora
how can you miss Laing
you here, too?

I'm in the Cayman Islands. Never seen laing sa mga Pinoy resto.. Thanks sa recipe. :D

that explains it
no . .. I get it why - it doesn't look presentable
but the stalks actually do
good luck!

sorry all eaten up
but thanks for the slurping cute smiley

OH MY GOD, this made me hungry hahah, Upvote and follow me and i'll do the same to you, cause im a man of my word guys.

thanks but I suggest that you cut back on that blatant approach
some people may take that as spamming here
just a friendly advice

meep

That one I had to look up: Taro, new to me. Now that dish with those slice red peppers sure would be spicy enough, still got them seeds in them, burn guaranteed! :-)

hahahha yes
but in Bicol we eat Thai peppers like candy :)
but I didn't put that on this one
it would spoil the taste of the Taro
my grandma never did
one of my cousins can't and still don't eat spicy screaming hot food :)

Like candy? Jaiks...!
I like sambal badjak, use it for a lot of meals. But peppers just like that? Oh no, my stomache would dislike me very much, hahaha.

My daughter, when still very young, often did put Sambal Badjak on her bread, nothing else, just Sambal. :-) And did not move a mustle as if it where too hot and spicy. Me I would have had pearls of sweat on my forehead already after the first byte.

hahahah
poor S
still turned out so pretty
watch this

Thank you for sharing this recipe! I grew up eating some Filipino food, but I don't think I've ever had this. Can't wait to give it a try. :)

really? good luck then :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81