잡채 KOREAN DISH HACK: "JAPCHAE" or Korean Transparent Noodles with Chicken and Vegetables

in #koreanfood8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever eaten Korean food? Then we both know - they're freaking delicious !

Today, I'm sharing a Korean noodle recipe which was passed on by one of my ex - tutee's Mom. I learned this recipe back then when I was tutoring a group of Korean Moms - conversational English. I learned this from them - when I asked them to walk me through cooking a Korean dish.

That time, they chose a Korean noodle dish called "잡채 " or Japchae. Originally, it's cooked with beef but I made my own version and used chicken instead. I got to score the Korean Transparent Noodles in the Toko store in the city and it's exported worldwide so check one out at any toko or Oriental store near you.

Here are the ingredients:

Here's how to cook it:

Marinate your chicken first. Combine all the ingredients on the Marinade for chicken's list. Mix thoroughly and let it marinate for 30 minutes.

Bring a pot of water to a boil then throw your noodles in. Most Korean Transparent Noodles would cook for 8 to 9 minutes but this one says boil for 5 minutes on its packaging. See label for boiling instructions of the Korean Transparent Noodles you bought. Once it has boiled, rinse well with tap water and drain to dry. Make sure it's no longer dripping then put it in a bowl. Mix all the ingredients in the Marinade for noodles in the same bowl. Set aside.

Start working on your vegetables. Since the rest of the vegetables are young leaves, just make sure to pluck them into smaller pieces.

Slice your carrots, mushrooms, sweet pointed pepper and green paprika thinly.

Stir fry the chicken strips. Heat up a pan and throw in your chicken. I'm using a ceramic pan so I won't need to add more oil. Fish them out of the pan once cooked. Set aside.

Start stir frying your vegetables in the same pan you've cooked your chicken next.

Throw in your mushrooms and carrots first. Let both vegetables get half cooked. Fish a few mushrooms out of the pan for toppings purposes.

Throw in your sweet pointed pepper, green paprika, young celery leaves, young sweet potato leaves and young pechay leaves. Stir fry till half - cooked.

Add the noodles in the pan. Toss the noodles and vegetables till you get a perfect mix. Taste test and adjust seasoning to your preference.

Plate it. Top with your pan fried chicken and the mushrooms you've set aside.

Makes 2 servings.

Cooking time: 40 minutes

Enjoy with your favorite Korean side dishes!

I used the Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition to take all these pictures.

Love Korean food like I do? FOLLOW ME @englishtchrivy.

Other Japchae recipes you may find at these sources:

Beef JapChae www.aeriskitchen.com
Japchae (Sweet potato starch noodles stir fried with vegetables ...www.mangchi.com
Jap Chae, Stir-fried Glass Noodles (with Vegetarian Option www.crazykoreancooking.com

Sort:  

That looks amazing!

Thanks, now I want to eat. :-)

@oaldamster haha dat was lunch gisteren - nu op, volgende keer mischien :D

Nou dan zelf maar wat fiksen. :-)

That looks delicious! :D

@firepower thank you very much!

looks yummy - my husband worked in S Korea last year for 8 months and he loved the food- especially the chinese leaf wraps - he felt very healthy with all the veg and fruit .

@ladypenelope1 thanks!
You're right, most of their food's really healthy.

Congratulations @englishtchrivy! This is to let you know that your post is featured on the Steemitrecipes Daily Picks - Entry 008!

@steemitrecipes, thanks a lot! I appreciate it a great lot!

I'm saving this recipe because I wasn't sure what the marinade was for the noodle but I usually throw bulgogi in it instead of chicken. And I like to add a boiled egg to the mix...and KIMCHI!
When I was visiting family in New York, my mother and I went down to New Jersey to the closes Hana Reum and did some shopping so I already have the noodles. (Ah, the benefits of having a Korean mother) :D

@merej99 Thanks. The marinade is for chicken as bulgogi has a way different marinade. Bulgogi would require more soysauce and honey plus there should be onions in the marinade for bulgogi. If you read the whole recipe I did mention they normally use beef on the third paragraph. I want to make it my own version so I used chicken. Tofu would also be another alternative.
Adding boiled egg to the mix - that's new cause normally, I'd fry the white and the yolk separately and cut them into strips. They could be put together, too. Maybe you should post Korean food ;) Ask your Mom!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49