Being On A Diet Doesn't Mean You Have to Eat Boring Food or Does It?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Are you on a diet? Are you planning to go on a diet? Well, if you need to get thinner ... the faster the better eh? I remember @sharingeverybite had a hard time finding a good food that won't give her allergy during the Steemfest she got sick and lost weight and wrote that one of the many ways to do is to catch a cold. Well, that's the fastest you could loose weight - getting sick.

Another way is to go on a diet. How does that plate up there look? It really looks like you're on a diet if you get served with just this, doesn't it? In this house, nobody goes on a diet cause hub and I are both pretty skinny though we eat a lot. However, it must be what we eat that keeps our built so.

I'm not a nutritionist nor a health expert (disclaimer) but I'm sure its what we eat that keeps us this fit not to mention we're pretty physically active.

I agree with someone in the chat that being on a diet doesn't mean you have to compensate the taste of what you eat so I came up with this recipe.

Why this little ? ....well .. it's bird's feed I mean ...this is a two bird's in one stone recipe cause my betterhalf is sick now and has lost his appetite so I needed to tease him into eating and I thought of making this.

What did I use to make this?

How did I do it?

As you can see I made small balls out of the rutabaga to make the plating cute and cut the chestnut mushrooms tails as well. I also cut a thin strip of rutabaga to make thin squares which I soak in the dressing while waiting for the rest to cook.

I added a cup of the cheesed rutabaga in case my Dutch hubby asked for more. Yeah .. the Dutch love cheese and anything with cheese.

The side dishes I added were just fresh slices of tomatoes with a squeeze of salted lemon, spicy aubergine curry strips, steamed sugar snaps and steamed brussel sprouts soaked in honey lemon dressings.

In Asia specially in the Orient, we eat more vegetables than carbs or grains or bread. The fiber of those vegetables help our tummy digest all the carbs and the meat we eat. We don't like being hungry and in fact, most of us eat a lot yet we stay fit - it's because most of what we eat are vegetables. Vegetables happen to be cheaper in Asia as well and if you get lucky, most of them are also organic.

What does it taste like? You have to make it to know but all I know is that every bite of those small pieces of each element on the plate would tease your palate to eat some more. I think it was the mandarin and the mushroom chestnut that did the trick.

Hub ate them up, in fact his plate went empty and he asked for more of the cheesed rutabaga and emptied the cups of side dishes.

Are you on a diet?
Do you sacrifice the taste of your food just to get thinner faster?
What do you eat then?
Would you give this a try?

I took each picture with a Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here: Some I made up or are original recipes and some I tweaked for the purpose of making them free radicals free.

















I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME

Sort:  

na das sieht ja mal richtig lecker aus!!

@homeartpictures
Dankeschön!
you can make it, too!
very very easy :D

EDIT : and thank you for resteeming!

A work of art!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Oh ..The Old Dog took notice. Thank you!

That looks utterly fabulous and check out your new sassy photo!! Fantastic.

You know I would never have thought of Salmon and cinnamon. Not at all, but it looks flipping marvellous!

@meesterboom thank you!
the sassy photo was trying to tell hub take a bite or else hahaha

you should try .. just salt and cinnamon - lotza a cinnamon
I ran out of ginger again and I didn't want to pull out from the pot specially not in winter.

Its so cool, I have said it before and I will say it again. Its the mark of a good cook when they can improvise and create something tasty when they dont have the initial ingredients!

I am sure he took a bite! Fierce!

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely presentation. Appreciate the details and photographs. It looks delicious. This looks like something to add to next week's menu.

Wishing you and yours a lovely weekend. Cheers.

@bleujay thank you very much !

Looks delicious, but for me withoit the fish. ;-)

@oaldamster thank you!
no they're not fish they're steak hihihi
I knew it you'd say that hahahha

You're welcome @englishtchrivy!
Have I become that darn predictable? 😂

@oaldamster yes :P
wahahah
ik ga zometeen moet boedschappen doen voor de winkels dicht gaan
fijn weekend !

Ownooooo, I've become boring...! Hahaha.
Have a good time shopping @englishtchrivy!

And whish you an awesome weekend!

C U L8R

Hungry for breakfast already. Lovely presentation.

Had all 3 meals by now. :-)

@ace108 oh yeah!
I forgot about the time difference hahha
have a great sunday then!
since sat is almost over there
time flies pretty fast these days

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49