Appetizer #1 : Flourless Kale Sponge Bites

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Were you shocked? Did you also think they were blocks of cake?

I actually was supposed to post something else but then I saw @bleujay and @ace108's comment offline on my mobile so I've decided to share the recipe in English. No, not the exact translation of the story I posted in Dutch but you get the same bits somehow. If I weren't as busy as I am these days, I would have posted the Dutch and the English version simultaneously - unfortunately, my sched is pretty full these days so here I am writing the English version of the recipe and then some~~ ... minutes before my hungry husband arrives.

If you have decided to copy paste the title on google translate (yes, I do that on posts that are written in other languages - patiently, paragraph by paragraph - and it doesn't really translate very well eh? ) then ... you knew this is actually an "eierkoek" (ey - yerr kuk'") or eggnog cookies (except for they're not sweet - is there such a rule that says eggnog cookies should be sweet? ) from kale. Soft and spongy.

What? Kale again? Yes, this time I bought kale myself. Hub passed by it and ignored them but I took the last two bags of kale in Ekoplaza because I'm pretty bored having quite a routinary day (sort'a) plus am not done with my kale experiments. I just wanted to know ...what else could I make out of kale aside from the other recipes I already made out of it. So this recipe was born. Yes, it's mine.

Did you also think - it was sweet and made from pistachios? It sure looked like a greenie - that's the green version of a brownie (laughs). Well, at least am enjoying writing this. Thank you @bleujay. These were actually the ingredients in it which I didn't manage to take pictures of because I had guests (what a fine excuse eh?) and had to cook 'em speedy quick and they're all being nosey. All of them want to help but part of being a bit of an OC is being a bit of a control freak - so my favorite line to any friends who want to meddle in cooking - "Thank you but I got it all covered." I just like doing things my way - just because. . .

Anyway, here are the ingredients ...

How easy peasy was the process ? ... - It was - like the pics - "a piece of cake"....

I always soak the kale leaves in water with baking soda for hours even though they're organic. OC remember? My grandmother told me back when I was young ... on days my nose were running and I tried to pull them back in ; "Ivy, no matter how poor we are (oh yes, we were) . . . we don't eat mucus". more so - sand and mud on kale leaves. Ewwww? back to the walk through ...

'course, I made more than that but they screamed "Attack!" and before I knew it - they're gone. Well, it's easy to eat something small - that, too. It's just an appetizer so you don't need to make such a huge slice. Plus, the more people on the table - the merrier or is it just hub and me who feel that - just because we're so used to just having the food to ourselves.

What does it taste like? I told @dresden - a combination of hearty, a bit sweet and the zestiness of the lemon peels. I wish I could also describe the smell - it was .. lemony and then some.

So, yes, I posted in Dutch ... because I had to show them how freaking easy it is to Steemit and hopefully they join, too cause - it's more fun when you're a group plus I wanted to show Ekoplaza what else I did with their organic kale and so after I logged out last night, I tweeted the Dutch recipe to them and the world. They saw it this morning and hit liked. Mission accomplished :).

But I liked it that I wrote it in Dutch because I bumped into @harrypeters and @playfulfoodie - who are both Dutch and babies here. The NL community seem to be giving birth and that's good ... because remember, "America first, the Netherlands - second". (more laughs)

I took each pic with a Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.



Here are the rest of my kale recipes - all of them are mine - (original recipes).











I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

Thank you for positng @englishtchrivy.

Appreciate the mention. You are too kind.

The English translation of the recipe is also appreciated...it sounds delicious and quick. Kale is ever so versatile...you will be discovering something new for a long time yet.

Wishing you all the best. A bientot.

@bluejay I took a peek after making dinner before going online earlier to check entries and saw your reply. I was hoping for that effect, too but you know I have never posted anything about baking pastries nor cake . It's just hub and I plus all of my friends are of the same feathers we barely indulge into sugared flour - very unhealthy. But I love anything with chocolates even cakes and floured chocolate recipes grrrr
hahahaha women :D

All true for more of us than would appear. ^_^

Looks and sounds delicious I like kale on its own anyway mmm

@cryptofunk the first time I tasted it was a long time ago - on mashed potato
lots of it got stuck between my teeth and didn't appreciate the plain taste.

It's the first year I've given it a 100% try but then - on its own .. not yet - I liked the smoothie the most though.

It looks very yum yum!

@afrog oh you thank you!
You may eat this not bad for high blood pressure - low calorie promise :)
how's it going ?

Those are really pretty! Your recipe looks great! I really like the nuts and seeds in there! Kale is so good, especially right from a garden. I like to take huge leaves straight from my garden and just steam them a little, with a little black pepper and raspberry vinaigrette splashed on.

@haphazard-hstead this year am going to have them in the volkstuin :)
I'd try that, too steamed huh .. wonder what that would taste like

Happy kale gardening! I wonder which varieties you will grow? I like the big Siberian Kale. In good growing conditions, one leaf is big and eating it is almost a whole meal. It's like a kale-steak!

@haphazard-hstead I'll find out when the seeds are delivered a week later cause then they have the names not just the code numbers

That's interesting how seed ordering is different in different countries. Our seed catalogs show each variety and we order a specific one. But some catalogs do just day "Kale" and then will never tell what kind it is. Happy gardening!

These look awesome and I cannot believe they are made of kale!! To create something with healthy ingredients at the same time taste delicious, you are simply amazing!!

@rea thank you, you're always very kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50