Start Your New Year Mornings with A Mouse Cabbage, Banana - Mango Smoothie

in #dutch7 years ago (edited)

If you're Dutch you'd probably ask me; "What on earth are you talking about? What's a "mouse cabbage". Well, it should actually be written as "mouse cabbage" but then I won't get their attention had I not used that word. Mouse cabbage is what people up North in Groningen call - kale.

Have ya' eaten much junk during the holidays? Didn't forgive all those yum cakes. meat dishes, seafood and tripple yum dessert you were served during the holidays that made your weighing scale pointing further to the right eh? Yes? Guilty?

Then, it's time to detoxify.


Kale is one of the highest level antioxidant containing vegies. It's not just rich in protein, Vitamin A, C and K, minerals like potassium, calcium, thiamin, riboflavin and ijzer. It's actually said to be a super detoxifier. I'll let the pic below do the talking.

Therefore, if you are indeed guilty of pigging out during the holidays ... then it's really time to detoxify. Admit it, you gave in to all the sweetness there was on the table didn't you? Well guess what? Sugar is ain't our body's best friend and most of what's been served during the holidays are but - sugar bombs. Taking much of it is much worse if you did it after 20:00 - that can sign you up for having diabetes. Well, worry not, mouse cabbage to the rescue!

I'm with you if you say .. "but, but, but .. it ain't a party eating kale or having it in ya' smoothie." However, if that's what our bodies need, I'll damn write about it. Combined with turmeric and ginger, this smoothie can give your metabolism a super boost. You won't have to go on a diet, you may just eat on - (well, no pig eating ' course! everything that's "too much" is ain't good for ya' ey?) Anyhow, if you start your mornings with this smoothie recipe - you'll loose those kilos ya' gained in just a few days.

Here are the ingredients.


How to:

' course I drank more than that but I really wanted to present this pretty pretty so I used those tiny goblets above but I actually drank this much. Yes, we do this every morning these days, half an hour before taking breakfast. It's kale season and everything that is in season is exactly what our bodies need so I encourage you to challenge your excuses and try having adding kale in ya' morning smoothie.

Do this every morning and surprise yourself with an almost effortless - weight loss. Make it a habit and say .. 2 months and you'll really slim down after a few weeks, well - it'll only work if you won't pig out on anything. Stop when you feel full. No gluttony allowed. You may also add pineapple, persimmon or avocado instead of the mangoes in your kale smoothie ( always have a banana in mine that's where I get my "adhd - like energy" ) to give it a different flavor and make it not a bore. As long as you use ginger and turmeric in your Mouse cabbage Plus smoothie then - it'll definitely work as a "weight loss formula". "course, a bit of self discipline would surely help.



I've decided to have my recipes in Dutch and in English as well in response to @good-karma's call for translators.

I took the rest of the pics with my Samsung Galaxy A3 and A5 2016 Edition .



Find the rest of my recipe articles (both in English and Dutch here :













I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

very nice post. I should probably give this a try

@gringalicious thank you!
this is a piece of cake to you ;)

What a great way to start the new year!!
Guilty as charged. It was a gluttonous holiday. I can't even pick kale right now, because my gut's too big to lean over. And I just know that I won't be able to get back up if I stumble. And I can't even put on my shoes. So I'll have to sit here until I lose enough girth units to be able to tie my shoes again.

@anotherjoe, thank you funny, you're not the only one haha

really ? like ... - 3 mos preggy? hahaha - ask for help from sweet wifey :D
well we could loose everything we gained can't we? I hope you do :) a lot lighter to move when fit

That looks like it would do me a world of good!

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

@kus-knee you ate much, too?
me, too - it's hard to say no to yummies
anyhow you seem fine last time I saw you hugging a tree

I much understand in English, thanks for re-translate this great post, @englishtchrivy

@steemvest17 thanks and thanks for getting my account name right this time

Top healthing for the new year!! I didn't misbehave once so have no need... Raaaar, I lie! Straight on the smoothie and health kick for me!

@meesterboom
thanks but I don't believe you chiko!
hahhaha we're both foodies hahaha

I've gotten out of the habit of making smoothies....I actually miss them. I'm not a kale fan so I use spinach. I will use kale in soups though.

@countrygirl I understand, it's never too late to restart :)
as for the kale in the smoothie, it was my first time, I got the idea from Alanis Morissette :)

I like your point about eating in season. There is still a lot to eat in the winter time. I've got kale still surviving from this year's garden and more small kale that seeded itself. Kale is so good! And those leaves are bigger than small weeds, so the picking is faster -- so no complaints allowed from anyone on that score! ; ) Happy New Year and here's to lots of kale in 2017!

@haphazard-hstead hahaha - complaints allowed :D
yes, you're right about Kale it's winter hardy and they say it here that the later in winter the tastier it becomes, in this smoothie's case I only used 2 leaves to balance the taste

Yes, best eaten after a frost. We Dutch are convinced of that 8-).

@ocrdu ah after a frost :)

It's getting down to 10F (-12C) tonight. So my kale shouldbe getting plenty of frost - probably too much! :0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25