How To Maximize The Health Benefits Your Body Could Get on Your Ayurvedic Ingredients in Any Hot or Cooked Food

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever eaten in a restaurant that says Ayurvedic food on their menu? No? Me, neither, however, two years ago, I was introduced to the health benefits of eating Ayurvedic food by a friend of hub's friend. Here, people organize gatherings related to yoga, gardening, painting, photography and food. Hub and I are both health buffs so we checked out and gave in to an invitation to an Ayurvedic lunch party.

It was held in a farm and the host catered to several Indians who are living here, Dutch and other nationalities. It was a success and the pots were emptied. I went there because I got curious about Ayurveda and part of that lunch party was an orientation on what Ayurvedic ingredients could actually do to live a healthy life without spending much. I sat for hours to listen to it and got oriented about how different our body and health needs actually are. I was convinced because - when I came here, I had to adjust eating to what hub eats while looking around for the right food for my body.

I just am not friends with dairy, flour and potatoes so I noticed. They get me pretty windy and it's no fun for my tummy. I love myself and my whole body so I swore not to feed it anything that would cause torture to any part of it back in the Philippines but when I came here, I had to figure out what and where to get what to eat. These days, people are getting more aware of what to eat and what's the right thing to eat for their body and Ayurveda is becoming a trend. I grew up with my grandnana and she always had fed us with food that actually has Ayurvedic ingredients in it since I had asthma back then.

I wasn't born with it, my aunt took me to the sea for a swim back when I was just crawling on fours, rinsed me in a basin half -filled with water and left me there playing. She accidentally forgot me and when she got back I was in a doze but she noticed that I already had the whistles. She took me to the doctor and there - got the bad news that I got asthma. That's her story about how I got it but I think it runs in our blood. My cousins in my father's side have it, too but then am no physician so - who knows. Grandnana fed us with food that actually have Ayurvedic ingredients and many herbs. I hated the taste of pharma meds so I actually got healed from asthma taking herbal medicines grandnana and my aunt thought I didn't know they were sneaking into my food.

Many people use ingredients that actually have health benefits in their daily cooking and I came up with this article because - perhaps like me - you also would want to maximize the health benefits you could get in any food that you eat .

Enzymes in food carry the health benefits of any food we eat - be it fruits or vegetables.

It is therefore important not to kill enzymes or let it oxidate in fruits case - when we eat. A certain level of heat could either kill or turn enzyme into something else and sometimes, instead of getting the health benefits we want from a certain food we are eating - we actually don't.

Here's how I maximize the enzymes in any Ayurvedic recipe I take - to take it as raw as possible.

How is that possible in a soup or in any cooked food? Here's a sample of a recipe on how to maximize the effects of your Ayurvedic or any healthy recipe ingredients.

This makes two servings only.

Peel and cut the pumpkin into pieces.

Throw into the pan and add half a cup of water or more - it's up to you how thick or thin you would want your soup to be. I prefer mine almost pure.

Let it boil . I cooked the pumpkin at noon because I didn't want to hand blend it hot since my veggie blender is made of plastic. This soup was for dinner -as we don't eat a lot for dinner because we're just going to sleep. It's important to just be full. We only eat much for breakfast and lunch.

Blend the cooked pumpkin.

Add in a teaspoon honey.

Add in a teaspoon oregano.

Sprinkle with salt - just one sprinkle - that's enough.

Bring into a simmer. No, I didn't boil it anymore. I just needed it to simmer since it has already been cooked.

Peel and cut the turmeric, ginger and into smaller cubes. One that would fit in the garlic crusher. Yes, we're not cooking the turmeric, ginger and garlic we'll be squeezing it using a garlic crusher but don't fret yet.

Juice an even amount of the cubes of turmeric, ginger and the peeled garlic in each bowl you'll be serving. If you don't have a garlic crusher, a cheese grater with a teeny tiny hole like the one I used in this Lemon Water Plus post would do. Scrape off and add those bits in the soup - you won't notice they're there.

Cut the broccoli into tiny pieces and place the raw broccoli in the same bowl. Unless your broccoli is organic, don't eat it raw. Chances are - it has been sprayed. If your broccoli isn't declared organic but you found several cabbage worms in it - chances are, it hasn't been sprayed so you can just soak it into salt water for 10 minutes to clean it up. I normally soak some of the vegetables I don't trust in a bowl of water with half a teaspoon baking soda and salt. We eat organic vegetables most of the time because unless we do, we're not really eating healthy.

Scoop your 'just hot - enough soup' in each of the bowls.

Serve with any bread or meat and enjoy. That's a brown bread bruschetta that went with it that night.

Eat right away but haste not in eating.

sources:

What Is Ayurveda?
The Top Four Cancer-Fighting Spices
The Effects of Heating
At What Temperature Are Food Enzymes Destroyed?
Fact or Fiction: Raw veggies are healthier than cooked ones



disclaimer: The information in this article may not be construed as medical advice or instruction. Readers should better consult appropriate health professionals or their physicians. This article is written for the purpose of giving tips on how to maximize the health benefits one could get from their Ayurvedic recipes in cooked food.



I all of these pictures with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 .

I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

good recipe - love soups of any variation.
Homemade is always best.
nice share :)

@ladypenelope1 - thank you - but this article isn't about the soup alone. I made the banana - persimmon smoothie this morning I liked it. Thanks a lot for the idea :)
Keep writing!

PLEASURE - glad you enjoyed
no I understand the post and it was a great way of showing healthy is not boring - Ayurvedic - I have done a little read up on it and would like to invest more of my time in to it, now that I have some time on my hands. Also some of the old type of herbal medicines work better and no side effects..

@ladypenelope1 I took a pic of it and posted it on the post's comment thread :)
why don't you join this?

thanks will go take a look - any tips to maximise healthy post I'm up for :)

This recipe is simple yet it looks great. I read a book called The Enzyme factor (Hiromi Shinya) that said that adults have less enzymes to break down dairy products, then when we were little.
http://www.happyhealthylonglife.com/happy_healthy_long_life/2010/12/shinya.html

@anca3drandom true - we don't have whey anymore
I'm Asian most of us are lactose intolerance. Thank you for the book tip :)

I don't know about the no haste in eating ;0) looks great and I am interested in the health aspect too!

@meesterboom - hahaha - very manly :)
I just learned it from my Vietnamese classmate in the Dutch class I attended to learn Netherish. He's a monk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50