Zesty Easy Peasy Chicken TeriyakisteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Yes, you read it right but no am not serving you a spoiled dish (laughs). I published this is Dutch - that's true but that's just because I got Dutch readers now, too. After tweeting the Flourless Kale Sponge Bites recipe to the store where I bought the kale I used in making it, I got me all fired up to write this is Dutch, too because they re-tweeted my tweet and that was the first time I got 400+ tweet views. It's not about me getting my tweet re-tweeted that made me so happy - honestly, everyone in my life who knows me well - know... that too much attentions freaks me out - introvert remember? That's draining for us. However, we want to grow remember? We therefore need more traffic and I suppose you could read between the lines and are now getting the point. (Don't worry, I'd only be writing recipes in Dutch when I use a certain product of a certain store here.) Plus... since some of you are at least paying attention to my posts(thank you!) I felt obliged to write this in English, too specially for Steemians who may happen to like Japanese food and chicken teriyaki as much as I do.

What makes this chicken teriyake different? I didn't have to grill it plus I used fermented soy sauce and most of all I didn't use any thickening agents like cornstarch or white sugar. So, this makes it paleo and 100% pure organic. I never used cornstarch on food these days, I lost my confidence on corn cause most of them are genetically modified. @sarahewaring(not sure if it was her though) once posted that she has managed to inherit heirloom corn seeds from her folks so I have to say - "most".

As for the soy sauce - I choose organic ones and not from the US cause 91% of soy grown in there is GMO and choose fermented ones cause just the normal soy sauce could actually mess with your thyroid, hinder proper digestion and post harm to your breasts. Yeah, Yeah you may be using them often and not experiencing any of these yet but if you get lucky and live longer - eventually, you'd suffer from the side effects but then its your body ...

Are you using any seasoning that has soy in it? Soy sauce, oyster sauce that has it, ketjap manis etc? Unless the soy in it is fermented, I suggest that you don't use it on a daily basis. Oprah had used much soy in the past - it messed up her thyroid.

Anyway, let's get back to the recipe. If you are working at home and have an hour or less to prepare lunch or had to make a quick dinner... a chicken teriyaki is a perfect dish to make. However, I've added some zest on this one.Teriyaki means grilled glossy meat dish but my version of it is just cooked in the pan therefore ... easy peasy. wink ~~ wink~~
I used to make it the old fashioned way .. meat marinated a night before, grilled and brushed with the marinate several times but you could actually just cook it in a pan like I did with this one. How? Let's get on it then.

How to? ... the secret is cooking it on high heat.

The smell of the lemon zest mixed with the garlic and chicken meat will make your mouth water and the taste is divine .. you'd probably eat more rice than usual and eat like you're going to a war. That saves time and you could get back to work earlier but if there's one thing I learned from the oldest and healthiest women in the world from Okinawa Japan, chew your food slowly.

I took each pic with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

EDIT : so it was actually @reddust who wrote the article about 'heirloom corns thanks to @sarahewaring for replying ASAP and confirming it wasn't her.



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here: Some I made up or are original recipes and some I tweaked for the purpose of making them free radicals free.















I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

Teriyaki chicken - also good on a subway sandwich.

@ace108 my husband would love the idea :)

Yumm, very nicely caramelised!🤤

@steved thank you very much

Looks so delicious!

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely post...photographs...commentary and recipe.

Looking forward to making it....sounds delicious.

Wishing you all the best. A bientot Tot later.

@bluejay thank you - very easy to make :)
good luck! I hope you nail it!

mmm mmm mm lemon, garlic and chicken! Toperoo!!

@meesterboom thanks only zest :) no lemon juice otherwise it would be adobo - a bitter version
you saw the article chico?

Yas, I love lemon zest. Its a good way of getting that fragrance in! I saw!

@meesterboom - you're a tag I knew it hahaha
yes, the kitchen smells freaking yum that day

I am a total tag! Hehe, yeah. I love the way my kitchen smells when I make limoncello with loads of the stuff

@meesterboom I think citrus is in season I got blood orange, mandarins, lemons and pomelos now - maybe it was also due to the lunar New Year

Wow, thats good. Here its rubbish. Everything is just not very fresh. Very annoyed

Jealous of ya!

@meesterboom noh, it's the first time it happened this year
but then we got Rotterdam - so must have done the fresh ones plus all on sale these days even mangoes can you imagine 1.19 euro organic - unusual eh?

chinese soy sauce or japanese or filipino alright??

@immarojas if it doesn't say organic or fermented then it's not. If you click on the blued words about it - a certain physician in the US wrote about the possible side effects - more than just what I wrote up there.

We likey eh? adobo righty? I missy hahaha

cant definitely cook adobo without soy sauce lolsss otherwise it wont taste adobo nymore

@immarojas there are many fermented soy sauce these days so that would help a lot I suppose - specially here in the EU there, too in the UK. The sad part about organic here is they sell it expensive - like fish - I don't get it. In the Philippines, fish is freaking cheap so its even a poor person's food they say but here - what on earth the price of fish is freaking gold more so the seafood. I miss Pinas when I go to the wet market here haha
In the Philippines organic is cheap - we just grow them effortlessly on our own backyard eh? Here, I'm growing some in containers and our back yard but I miss my grandfather's place - he has a huge back yard and he died thinking he was poor just because he didn't have a car .. that guy didn't suffer any mortgage payment nor taxes - if only he knew - he was living a great life out of a rat race more so - organic !

Once in a while i do check..criticisms are now coming internationally. hinde pwede tatahimik esp un ICC sa Hague, amnesty international, so biased.now even the ex-president of Colombia. they should just leave pres Duterte alone

@immarojas - don't let it get to you
cause even Digong just shakes it off - he just laughs at 'em

ano ka..he called the ex-president an idiot na nga lolssss..tutulog na moi lola

@immarojas nested na yung comment mo at now ko lng nkita - the ex president is a muppet till now isn't he? anyway .. aga mo nahiga pahinga ko kaya pwede magpuyat haha

maaga pa un? obviously, the opposition abroad and sa pinas will gonna use his criticism to aggravate the situation..make a fire ika nga

foraging everything in the backyard when hungry..may it be fruits or veggies, you got that right. what is to tax in the phil kaya,life in pinas is way better so long me money konti

@immarojas korek korek and so proud to be Pinay eh? :D

oh yeah..esp now with the Duterte admin..dont u??

@immarojas I love Digong actually
I like him and most of his program .. nobody's perfect eh?
but he's got big balls and a word of honor he really does most of what he promises so there ahahha

yeah..there's lots of opposition but this is our time now. change is here.

@immarojas there's always that - oppositions - people who don't get there's no perfect system they should give the one that's there a chance to try its idea and if it doesn't work - then offer a solution instead of just criticizing - talks and more talks dont solve any problem eh

Sore losers eh kaya sour graping sila, that's what they're doing and can't see how ridiculous they are behaving. sarap asarin.

@immarojas that's why I never watch news from our place - manipulated and fake not to mention too negative eh

Hi, thanks for the mention. Wasn't me though, but great post!

@sarahewaring I knew it - so it must have been @reddust?
darn I should fix that hahaha thank you

@hilarski ohhh.. I forgot to tweet this
thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50