How to Make Kimchi (김치 ) My Way

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Have you ever eaten in a Korean restaurant or in a Korean's house? I did ...

Have you? Then, we both know that Koreans always have kimchi as one of their many side dishes they serve along with their main courses.

I learned making kimchi from my student's mom, the very same woman who taught me cooking JAPCHAE.

These are the only pictures of her I have left as we parted 15 years ago. I haven't heard from her since then cause at that time, I didn't have any email yet. She had to leave out of the blue and we weren't able to bid each other goodbye. I've learned most of the Korean dishes that I know of - from her. It's because we got very close she had often invited me for a meal in her house or had always had lunch with me after our class.

I was her English tutor and in so many of her classes I made her walk me through recipes using English since - that's what she knows best. I found out that Korean students tend to talk enthusiastically and push themselves to speak English when what you ask them to talk about is their forte. Agnes had walked me through many Korean recipes... some of which she made me taste.

I'm a big fan of the movie The Dead Poet Society. Like the character Robin Williams played the role of in there, I don't stick to books when I teach English as most of my students already do that in their English Academy and school. I make them talk as they already could read. It's writing and speaking English that challenges them the most. Doing such activities don't just pull their tongue out, it brings the best out of each of them. I don't know about any other teachers but my best friend and I always fall in love teaching our students so we find ways to make it FUN and not 'torture -ish.'

Going back to kimchi, Agnes is from Busan that's all I know and though she taught me making kimchi the Busan traditional way, I've tweaked the recipe she taught me, making it my own. I guess it's true what they say, "You can take the Asian out of Asia but not Asia out of that Asian."

I just thought back then, "okay.. I don't have the ingredients but I know how to do it - let's tweak it!". Since then, I've been making it this way.

When I moved here, I lost access to Korean fish sauce, Korean chili powder, kimchi rice powder and those tiny shrimp paste. They don't sell them here. Those are the key ingredients in making Agnes' kimchi. She taught it to me in a very traditional way and mind you, every Korean dish is all made with love and attention. Don't expect something like a quick fix.

Here's mine - altered but tastes very much like hers.

Here's how to make it.

Peel each leaf off the Chinese cabbage.

Wash thoroughly.

Arrange them in rows on the chopping board.

Slice vertically and evenly.

Separate the part of the Chinese cabbage stalks with more leaves from the bottom part. Put them in a pan or a huge bowl ( I put mine in a pan.).

Add 1 and 1/2 salt on each pan of tips and bottom parts. Mix thoroughly. It would water in a few minutes and that's normal.

Let the slices of Chinese cabbage sit in the salt till it looks a bit limp. In autumn, it takes me at least 4 to 6 hours to get that. In summer, half an hour would be enough. Leave it soaking in salt.

Go back once they start looking limp, rinse the Chinese cabbage 3x.

Squeeze to the last drop, let it drain well and put back in the pan.

Wash your spring onions.

Cut them into tiny pieces diagonally. Set aside in a bowl.

Work on your kimchi mix next.

Pour in 250 gram sambal oelek in your hand blender. I could put more but I prefer it mild spicy than smoking hot - for it could make your eyes bulge like that of @meesterboom's last hotdog sandwich recipe :).

Peel the garlic cloves and remove the dry ends. Don't touch it for it'll make your fingers burn and sting.

Slice the garlic into small pieces then throw them into the blender, too.

Peel the ginger.

Slice the ginger thinly then throw them into the blender, too.

Peel the onion.

Slice the onion into small pieces then throw them into the blender, too. Both onions and spring onions bully me and made me cry every time.

Cover and blend till every single ingredient is turned into a paste like consistency.

Go back to the spring onions.

Add 3 tablespoon honey into the spring onions.

Add in 2 table spoon fish sauce.

Add in the kimchi mix from the blender and mix thoroughly.

Get another bowl and put a row of the sliced bottom part of the Chinese cabbage. Never touch the kimchi mix. I did in my first years and my hands sting for two days. The garlic's power has been released and was working like that of Pikachu's electric volts.

Fill each top and bottom part of each slice.

Carefully transfer them in a container you could seal tightly.

Fill the container till 1/2 an inch from the lid. That would give room for the water that would come out of the kimchi during fermentation.

Let it ferment in room temperature for 3 days.

Refrigerate after three days.

Enjoy as a side dish with any meal.

No, it doesn't have to be done this compulsive. I'm a bit of an OC - so there~. You could also just put everything together in the pan and mix thoroughly. Fill every container you have, seal tightly and let each ferment in room temperature for three days.

If you want to make Kimchi the Korean way check out the sources I listed on this recipe post.

Every autumn, I just crave kimchi and hub loves having it as a side dish and would ask for it every now and then specially when our noses start running. Many studies said kimchi boosts the immune system. It also improves the probiotic in our guts.

Some of my female students claim that - its that "hot spicy" taste that keeps most of them skinny and fit. In my case, I just love it. Hub and I can't wait a day or two for it to ferment so normally, just after I made it, we automatically eat it with a meal. I could live on just kimchi, baked seaweed and rice. It's enough though .. I'd probably have to eat half a kilo of kimchi in that case :D.

Here are different sources you could check into to back up my claim.
Health Benefits of Kimchi
The Health Benefits of Kimchi
Kimchi Packs Proven Health Benefits

I took each picture with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

Love Korean food like I do? FOLLOW ME @englishtchrivy

Sort:  

Its not bulging eyes hot?!?!?!? LOL

Looks great though!

@meesterboom it should be actually, the original Korean way
but I tweaked it so it's tamed.
If you put 500 gram sambal - it would be ;)
Well, at least you read it. Thank you. Try?

Oh yes for sure I will try, I will have to get a hold of some sambal but it shouldnt be hard! :O)

i'll try! can i use any type of hot sauce though? like salsa or whatever.

@razavanelulmarin - salsa has tomatoes - it would taste different.
I used the sambal because its main ingredients are @papa-pepper's relatives - Chili peppers + salt + Acetic and Ascorbic acid.
If you can find Chili powder that looks like this
I think the hot sauce would be too liquidy - unless the ingredients is closer to what I wrote above - it won't taste the same nor have the same health benefits.
The mix is the key to proper fermentation and producing the right probiotic.
I won't recommend salsa for kimchi but I sure love them with Nachos or potato chips :D
When you come here for the Steemfest, hoard some sambal! ^ ^ haha

very hard to get sambal here...i'll look around.

@razvanelulmarin how about jalapenos, do you have them? They would do - just scrape off the seed, then just add as many as you can bare. If you like it spicy hot like @meesterboom for this much Chinese cabbage you will need at least 10 jalapenos I suppose. If you don't have jalapenos in Romania, if I read it right - you're from there? Any hot spicy @papa-pepper's family member would do. You will just have to measure it for your liking.
I made this mild spicy because I'm already skinny. I loose more weight in winter - my metabolism is very fast and eating more spicy food not to mention that it has ginger in it would make me burn more.
I only eat it to boost my immune system. Good luck and I hope you find the right pepper.

I have 2 containers of kimchi always. I eat it daily. I have never made my own, always buy it at the Hmart by me fresh then let it sit to get good and strong. I might have to try to make my own now. Thank you for the recipie.

That looks very pedis (spicy) to me. :-) Don't like the fishy part. But it could do with vegatable broth insteed I guess.

And I saw that you could not find that shrimp pasta. Indonesia kitchen uses something that might come close to that, it is called trasi.

I think it smells and tastes very awefull. But Indo cooking uses it a lot. But in our Family is one Vegetarian so luckily no trasi.

I use sambal badjak a lot, even in Italian food. Not as Hot as oelek. Never tried fernenting food. New ideas, Thanks Ivy!

@oaldamster, yes, kimchi smells like a casserole - that's why I tweaked it - hub won't be able to stand it if it was the original version.
He loves this one, he often asks me to make.
There are many versions of kimchi and some don't need peppers nor fish sauce.
I'll try to tweak the "white kimchi" as they call it cause that one needs fresh young coconut milk's juice and that I can order in the Philippine product store here but surely - the readers maybe can't.
I tweak it cause it has to have the same fermenting effect - a proper one, otherwise it won't have the same health benefits.
You guys have fermented food, too - Ajar I think - it's called that?

My better half has Indonesian roots, I'm a blanda toto, hahaha, I'll ask her about fermentation. But I like to learn things that broaden my horizon. And I love experimenting with cooking. As Long as there is no Fish involved. :-)

Coconut Milk I buy in a can and I use it making vegetarian Soto, a meal soup. Gives it a nice smooth taste in combination with the mild sharpness of sambal badjak.

And now I stop writing about food for now, cause I want to eat again, while I just had lunch. :-)

@oaldamster - ah - hahaha I'll keep that it mind
No fish on the table for you ..
I meant buko juice :)
I looked for sambal badjak in AH last time you recommended it but the AH help said it was "op" .. i forgot about its name , now i do - writing in the agenda - hahahaha

This one, Koningsvogel brand, is perfect, it has no trasi in it, hahaha. Our daughter even did eat in on bread, when she was younger. Sometimes with cheese.

I bought the Sambal badjak at Jumbo's.

Selamat makan!
image

@oaldamster - I see, okay will be off to jumbo for a new stock of banana for the smoothie, will look for it.
Thank you for the pic, it's better to know which one exactly.
and Thank you for resteeming!

Thanks for this. Really well done. Sure there aint no chinese cabbage near me but I'll be looking :)

Love to eat Kimchi being a Korean man. Thanks for showing me how to make kimchi. Up voted and following you.
Be sure to up vote my blog. Thanks. Much success.

awesome :D im trying this tonight :D

:) i made it ^_^ its was so tasty :D Thank again :)

@manzoor1984 really?
share a pic? curious how it turned out with you.

Too Late ; ) its in my tummy now :P hehe ;) ^_^

I will be trying this!!!!!

excellent post, beautiful photographs, I really liked the akusay, thanks for the desserts. Congratulations

I've seen a different way they make this in a TV show. They keep the cabbage in whole. Then flip open piece leaf by leaf and apply the sauce layer by layer. It was quite laborious.
My friend told me they have to have 2 refrigerators in Korea - one for kimchi and one for the rest. :-)
Just wondering have you ever tried to google for: Agnes Park?

@ace108

laborious

you should give this word to @opheliafu ;)

I've seen a different way they make this in a TV show. They keep the cabbage in whole. Then flip open piece leaf by leaf and apply the sauce layer by layer.

You're right - that's the traditional way of making it as I wrote above and shown on the third picture. Like I wrote, I tweaked it because I need to make it easier for me to do. And if it's too difficult the readers of this article would have a hard time, too.
Making Kimchi the traditional way needs a huge space and I have a kitchen with just enough room for me to roll around not to mention that it's very white. The kimchi mix could stain the cupboard doors so I had to find ways to make it a lot easier to do.
What matters is that it has the same health benefits as that of the traditionally made kimchi.

My friend told me they have to have 2 refrigerators in Korea - one for kimchi and one for the rest. :-)

Yes they do, they consume a great amount of kimchi. It's always served in every meal and they always eat a lot so they make a lot of kimchi -and have a separate fridge for its smell could get to the other dishes.
This is a normal scene in Korean table - I miss experiencing this. It's a always a buzz eating with them. They always tell a joke, and that I like a lot because I was brought up - with a certain table manner - one is "no long faces in front of the food." With the Koreans, I was always happy having a meal with them - not just cause of the food but also cause they tell so many funny stories. I love that about them.

Just wondering have you ever tried to google for: Agnes Park?

Yes, that's after daum, naver and kakao story didn't give me anything about her. You probably are the same age as she is - however, I'm not sure she uses computer as many other people your age. I was late with having emails - had it not been to my students I would have not had an email. I was a workaholic back then, oblivious that the world was leaving me behind till one of my Japanese students asked me to have one when her family had to go back to Japan. I was already 24 - it was too late isn't it.
Hahaha my comment already looks like an article.

Then, let's upvote the comment. :-)
Thanks for the detail reply.
Tried FB for Agnes Park? For the land that produce Samsung phones, I think we have to give them some credit for use of technology.
Any chance: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100010001643696

@ace108 Thank you!
Oh I forgot to put in that long comment above -
Koreans have a different name, they use a certain character like in my case they would write Ivy as 아이비.
Agnes is not the name that's on her birth certificate. That's the English name she chose to make it easy for the international friends she had when she was in the Philippines. I don't know her first name. I only know her last name which is actually the last name of her hubby. Korean women don't change name after getting married, they have that privilege like we do here in the Netherlands. So I only know she's Mrs. Park but it's possible that she was actually a Kim or a Lee or a Wang or - any other Korean Last name. I had her back when I was young - early 20s - on those 1st years of teaching Orientals, I wasn't aware of so many things about their culture. I was joggling between Japanese, Koreans, Chinese, Hongkongese and Thais "culture and info about them" back then.

Oh well. I guess you tried everything you thought of. :-)

@ace108 I did. I was close to her - like a mom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60881.34
ETH 3378.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49