Rhubarbed Breakfast Smoothies

in #recipes7 years ago (edited)

I always take a smoothie first for breakfast but I've never thought of adding rhubarb on it till we got an abundance of it in our garden as I mentioned in this post. No matter how much stalks you cut out of it, it'll just grow new ones back week after week.

0.jpg

0a.jpg

0b.jpg
0c.jpg
0d.jpg
0e.jpg

0f.jpg

I took each pic with my Samsung Galaxy A3 2016 edition.

Have you ever used rhubarb in your smoothies?
What other food or fruits did you combine it with that works?



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here: Some I made up or are original recipes and some I tweaked for the purpose of making them free radicals free.

















I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

Yum! Ohh miss rubharb.. wonder if it would grow here!

I love rhubarb. We used to serve it at my restaurant, which was a weird choice I thought, but it was great!

@amy-goodrich I have no idea
you like it?
am still getting used to the sourness sometimes but I also like it specially the juice and in tarts I mean pie :)

We used to have it in the garden when I lived with my parents. My mom always makes jam of it. Delicious too!

@amy-goodrich it is indeed

I do love rhubarb but never had it raw- I always discard the leaves too as the leaves of the plant are poisonous.

@opheliafu Hi ya! how's it going you :)
it's also the first time I had it raw I tried it then since it has a bit of the same texture as sugarcane so I thought - churn it
yes, the leaves should never be eaten indeed. They make nice art stuff wink wink

Thank you for posting @englistchrivy.

Lovely photographs, recipe and commentary....very chic. ^_^

This sounds lovely. I must give it a go.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Abientotlater.

NB Thank you for your support.

@bleujay Thank you, too
and you're always welcome my dear!
you probably have rhubarb in your garden as well?
btw, you might want to adjust the amount of your source of sugar since I'm used to light taste - it's not really light but I noticed that almost everyone I know who are used to eating out or fast food always ask for more salt or sweetener when I invite them for a meal here, and my husband and I can't help but look at each other because our food is actually - just tasty enough. Having known you're gardening am thinking you must be making your own food, too so it may not apply to you but in case some people are reading the comments .. oh bother.. am overthinking again haha

No worries....very kind of you to think of me.....yes...bleujay and co. have the same thought regarding sugar.......and one really does not miss it.

Strawberry and rhubarb tarts are a favorite.

All the best to you.

@bleujay I love rhubarb tarts too
but with just my Hubby and I - I barely bake and just buy
if I were just in the Ph I have my neighbors to share the tarts with but here we barely talk to each other hihi too much observation of privacy I guess

yummy I should try <3

@lenatramper thanks
good luck :)

I've never used rhubarb in my smooties, but I'll try. I usually use bananas (my favorite), apples, plums or peaches with yogurt ^_^

@silviabeneforti sounds like a healthy combi too :)

Healthy and good ^_^

Raining rhubarb indeed!! You are certainly finding the ways to get it used up, I have never been that food of it but these look great!

@meesterboom you bet it is - damn plant won't stop producing stalks haha
you haven't seen the last of these haha
if you were just my neighbor I'd give you much - you can turn it into a sweet yum pie surely wink wink

Well how could I refuse that! If we were neighbours there would be a non stop for exchange. We could open a cafe!!!

@meesterboom probably!
accepting crypto currencies on the rise haha

That would be truly something!!

So, you decided to imagified all your post and load it?

yes .. just to give it a mag look
you figured :)
am off to bed goodnight man!

very complete article :)

Wow.....................!!!!

@dubi kamsahamnida :)

I love these mixtures, and fruit salads @englishtchrivy, that's a big upvote! Here is some fun with your beautiful breakfast:

https://steemit.com/comic/@lighteye/b-c-stands-for-blockchain-apr-27-2017-burning

@lighteye thank you .. easy on the links .. it could get you flagged .. be cautious :)

edit: I personally don't mind but some people may

Sorry. I'm not going to send them to you any more.

@lighteye you don't have to say sorry and I don't mind but I bumped into you in many comment threads so lets just say .. I saw something consistent and got worried for you. It's normal but take it easy ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85