Homemade Sea Bug Shabu Shabu with Greens from My Garden

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever had Shabu - Shabu? That's one Japanese dish I really love. Unfortunately, no restaurant has it on their menu where I live. To get one I'll have to be on a daytrip in Adam or the other huge cities like Rotterdam or Leiden on rainy days.

If there's one thing I miss about living in the Philippines it was that I was 15 minutes away from any kind of cuisine I may have a craving of. I live in the heart of Makati and if i feel like having some Japanese, Korean, Chinese or Vietnamese food - all I have to do is hail a cab or catch the metro rail transit and head to either Rockwell or those restaurants at The Fort or anywhere in Mckinley or drive to Greenbelt or the Mall of Asia. I was also chubby back then - from too much eating. Well, you know what they say - YOLO so try everything you feel like trying. It won't hurt and its better than having regrets and saying " I should have' ~ would have ~ done this and that" when you get older.

It was raining the other day and I was craving for shabu shabu. Originally, this Japanese Hotspot dish means having thinly sliced beef or pork and vegetables to dip in a hot soup they call dashi and tsuyu. I didn't have any of those and I have always admitted am no longer a fan of beef and pork - thinly sliced or not. Chinese cabbage, onion, tofu and shiitake or any mushrooms is also very very essential in making the soup for the shabu shabu. I didn't have a Chinese cabbage nor any of the other usual vegetables you could find in one shabu shabu from a restaurant but I had recently harvested the ramps, spinach and sugar snaps from my garden. The rest were bought from the store and were in the fridge.

0.jpg


Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here: Some I made up or are original recipes and some I tweaked for the purpose of making them free radicals free.

















I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

Wow. I also see two kinds of kimchi on the side.
I noticed cuz I also love kimchi!
the shabushabu looks good!

@crawfish37 yes .. they're banchans indeed
very good you spottin' that :D

It definitely does look good.

Interesting. Never heard of it! Looks and sounds yummy!

I also love shabu-shabu. I especially like shabu-shabu with pork

@jejujinfarm nim I used to eat one but I wonder what a shabu shabu with bokduigi would taste like. How have you been? Long time no write

Your ingredients look really fresh and it makes me hungry! Yum!

Looks good, sounds good Shabu Shabu.👍

thank you

Nice. Free food. Need some sauce for me.

thanks it had one but I didn't get to take the pic anymore
just soysauce, ginger and honey for the shrimp
I was hungry and overly excited cause I haven't had a shabu shabu in 6 long years!

haha.. don't wait another 6 years.

hahahaha I don't know why I forgot to ..
but that's history now hahha

Shabba! I mean Shabu! I aint ever heard of it. I do love a hot and spicy soup with thinly sliced beef though so I bet I would love it. Hehe, I can practically smell it from here so I might come back to this post on a rainy day! :O)

It's not common here but shabu is hahaha
It's also called syabu syabu
it's not the same Chico the original shabu shabu with pork beef is eaten this way - they slice the meat super duper thin and then dip them in the soup - to cook but then the vegies first cause the veggies give the soup the taste which is absorbed by the meat since its thinly slice
It's actually addictive that they offer a shabu shabu all you can in Asia but these days you only are allowed to do for 3 hours max I think not sure cause it differs everywhere.
Then, after cooking the meat they dip it on a certain sauce - pretty complicated hahaha
plus the better if you have a portable stove for shabu shabu
its hard to take videos I tried but my phone's cam keep getting the damp from the soup
something like this

source

it got its name from the sound the soup makes according to a Japanese friend of mine
you may also use thinly sliced chicken
when we get rich let's travel to Japan and experience a traditional one

edit damn pic didn't load

Aw man can you imagine. Yeah, when we get rich we will do exactly that. I shall go to sleep with that at the front of my mind!! Japan!!!

hahahah sweet dreams then
yes Japan!
the next BTC capital of the world
damn ! btc paradise
July come fast!

Sweet dreams of mega millions to you too!

I shall receive! Pronoia! hahaha
likewise!
i took a nap so am staying abit

I hope you had fun! LAst night was my early night night and I still stayed up quite late! Ridiculous. Its like I am a teenager again!

The pic loaded now! It looks simply stunning. Its exactly like the kind of food I know I would love! Sirry for the late reply. Had to trot off to bed as I have been burning the candle at bothe ends a bit!

You can not eat shabu-shabu with your own
It's really cool.
I also like shabu-shabu very much.
My family goes to shabu-shabu restaurant in the neighborhood and eats every week.
My dining room is mushrooms, buttercups and beef.
It is kind to eat in spicy broth.
Shabu-shabu that I eat so lightly is also nice.
Please enjoy with your heart ~

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Your presentation...photographs and post are looking lovely. Easy to read and just flows.

The meal looks like a winner. The food of Japan is an art......and a favorite of bleujay and co. As you said to @meesterboom......lets meet up in Japan.......lovely idea. Yes....BTC country..... ^_^

Wishing you and yours the best. A bientot.

Wowza! Your posts are always awesome, Ivy!

thank you!
you really are so sweet to me!
i appreciate you a lot @richman the generous!

You always welcome Ms Perfect!

no way my darling friend @richman the generous Ms Perfect doesn't exist :D AFAIK but thanks for the compliment :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50