Minty Smoothie to Combat Hormonal Acne

in #food8 years ago (edited)

Near having your period? Seeing acne attacking your flawless skin? I know some who suffer from hormonal acne on their backs but in my case they seem to have my wide forehead as their favorite place to sprout on. Like mushrooms that came out of the blue they just appear overnight, a week before that time of the month comes ... specially when I take caramel macchiato that has much milk in it. Yes, unfortunately, milk encourages acne attacks.

A week before my period, my body must be actively producing sebum which could cause blockage in my pores - hence the hormonal acne. In other women's case, they suffer from hair growth. I don't so I can't really complain. It's just acne and thanks God for creating spearmint.

Some studies prove that taking spearmint twice a day can help you fight hormonal acne.

Health experts claim that if we take it twice on a daily basis ... for a week or two it could reduce the sebum production of our body because that is its antiandrogenic effect. You may take it in tea but I prefer to take it on an empty stomach so I incorporated it in my smoothie.

Well, unless you're a guy or you're allergic to spearmint, I won't recommend taking this on a daily basis. Spearmint isn't good for male, it could damage your testicular tissues and if you would want to have children you'd better not take this cause it could lessen the sperm count and worse - it could lower your libido.

You're a woman and suffering from hormonal acne? Why don'y you give it a try and just don't overdo it since - too much of everything is never good. The key is balance. I suffer from hormonal acne a week before my period. That's the only time I take it.

What's in it?


Just follow these steps.

'Course you could use other fruits like red berries, persimmon, avocado, kiwi and the likes instead of mandarin and banana.

What does it taste like? Something like that of a very light minty crème brûlée with a balance sweetness and a popping sensation created by the sweet pieces of pomegranate.

Want one? Make one!



Find the rest of my recipe articles both in English and Dutch here:











I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME@

Sort:  

looks amazing - one that I would definately drink just for the taste alone:)

@ladypenelope1 thank you hub said the same. Had to wrestle to get more :D

Hiya - did I mention the new paleo channel to you?
https://steemit.com/created/paleo
We're aiming to gather together lots of resources, especially for people who might be just starting on real food diets.
Some of your recipes would be great paleo resources. Any of the ones without grains or sugar, but plenty of real food.
Just put paleo as one of your tags. I'd replace food-trail - I think their curators are away at present.

@kiwideb Thank you for the info. Doing it right now :)

This looks delicious. I'm a guy and love spearmint or anything mint for that matter. Thanks for the heads up to not use it more than twice a day. :)

@lydon.sipe my pleasure :)
hub and I share the smoothie every morning. He doesn't get more than a cup of any minty smoothie I make :)

Haha. I love it. :)

Thank you for the warning, I will stay away from the spearmint.

@rynow, you don't have to just don't take it everyday

Are you a chef?
I did not know that you are very good at food. ^^
I can not cook well.
When I made it, it looks the same, but it does not taste.
So I envy people who cook well.

@sochulnim, I wish I am a chef.
I'm a home cook :)
I cook for my hub and me and sometimes for some house guests.
I love delicious food.
You can still learn cooking - practice makes perfect :)

Mint taste, here called it as "bandret" :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50