🏅Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 [PDC3K] > Week 5 > Winners + new roll🏅steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetrydice7 years ago (edited)

Winner's Announcement & Week 5 Dice Roll

prizes_lineup_graphiccollage_re.jpg

Welcome to the Week 5 Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 [PDC3K]!

~Hosted by @robyneggs~

*Disclaimer: The winners are based on the entries which I think are the best. I am not saying anyone is a bad poet, I will not say that. Instead, I seek to offer you my encouraging and supportive feedback as a fellow poet. My opinion takes into consideration many things that can add or subtract to the value of a poem, including:

  • grammar / Does it make sense?
  • flow / Are there any unclosed loopholes that leave me confused?
  • rhythm
  • rhyme
  • imagery / Can I imagine the pictures the words paint?
  • feeling / Does it cause a reaction?
  • and emotional pull / Do I suddenly have an opinion?

37 entries last week! 💡

That's the biggest engagement yet. Thanks so much for everyone who made a post, wrote that poem, and broke the dice open with their wordsmith skills! ⚗️It's been quite the job to decide on the winner's. There were a lot of great poems and unique uses of the images. Good work all you fancy poets - and way to kick it off for this week!

The Week 4 Roll:
PDC3K_week4_robyneggs.jpg



The winners of PDC3K, Week 4 (below)



3rdPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

3rd Place (1 STEEM) TIE!

Between: @thelastsage & @krizia

"Week 4 Entry" by @thelastsage

The darkness crept into the forest of trees
With ghostly shadows that no one could see
But a feeling was present in the air that night
One of fear and One of fright
How I ended up in the woods you see
I was just looking for an apple from that one special tree
The kind of tree that is locked away
That produces the fruit to keep you sleeping for days
The tree is hidden deep in the woods
Yet somehow like magic, there I stood
In front of me I witnessed the bees you see
Making their honey from the flowering tree
And off to the right was a bubbling brook
Teaming with fish none of which I hooked
It seemed this forest was budding with life
Tipping the scales from darkness to light
I discovered there in that moment of time
This forest I stood in was all in my mind
Soon I would wake and the dream would be gone
But all of this wonder would live through my song

Review

This one sits well. Nice compilation of the required imagery. Other poems this week were more powerful, but I dig the laid-back style you adopted for this entry @thelastsage. Nice work! I hope to see you again this next roll.


Tied for 3rd (1 STEEM)

@krizia "The Cravings of Mary Jane"

"Pass me the weed."
Mary Jane uttered, half-asleep.
Grew into a tree, once a seed
Her greed of ganja, now rooted too deep.

One time beside the fountain,
she smoked using an apple as a pipe.
Suddenly, she was a bee in the mountain.
Gracefully buzzing in yellow and black stripe.

She'd sometimes lock herself in her bedroom
And try to battle her own demons.
But often, she becomes a salmon in a chamber of fume.
Too often, she'd lost all her reasons.

Poor Mary Jane can't balance her cravings.
Who could help to stop her ravings?

Review

I really enjoyed this poem @krizia! Great job on combining the MJ references with the other nine dice this week. Are you ready to try it again this week?



2ndPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

2nd Place (3 STEEM)

@clayboyn

"Fruit Roll Ups"

I was walking through the forest the other day,
It felt like I was being followed the entire way.
Looking around I spot my homey Big Whale,
I was like, "What up whale! You got a scale?"
He passed a joint, I grabbed it by the stinger,
He weighed up a bale of that Cali Nap Bringer.
I thanked my dude, for keeping kush on lock,
Handed back his joint then I checked the clock.
Wanted me to stay and smoke, I was too paranoid,
The bag didn't help, I wreaked of the cannabinoid.
Stepped off the path, found a grove of apple trees,
So I'm still here smoking, roll up and join me please.

Review

This poem was a close first. It's very powerful imagery and paints a clear but hazy picture. You did really well on slamming out the challenge this week @clayboyn! Congrats and I hope you join us again.



1rstPlace_pdc3k_re_306.jpg

1rst Place (5 STEEM)

@steemmate

"A Concussed Minnow Swims On By"

The OJ spilled onto the floor
With varmints planning to explore.
Uh oh, the bees are loose!
Attracted to the orange juice.

Say "hello!" to all the racket
Of the buzzing yellow jacket.
If you snooze, you may get stung
Avoid the booze, so you stay sprung.

Be lithe and nimble, quick and spry,
A concussed minnow swimming by!
Without your thumb placed on the scale.
You may just wind up dumb and pale

If you have an allergy,
A sting could sap your salary.
So flee and keep yourself at bay,
Make sure to lock your pay away.

When finally you're in the clear,
Have faced your demons and your fear,
Take a fat hit of some herb
And sit down on a comfy curb.

A joint, a pipe, an apple bong,
Don't matter, try to inhale long.
Soon the past will be the past.
Our fountain youth just doesn't last.

Review

This was my favorite this week because of its joyful rhythm and engaging soul. You did an excellent job bringing out the images and making me feel like I was hella stoned! Congrats on winning the week 4 PDC3K @steemmate. I really enjoyed the poem you crafted for us!


(All) Entries - Week 4 PDC3K


  1. Fruit Roll Ups by @clayboyn
  2. Week 4 Entry by @jacobtothe
  3. What We Lost by @leviatan
  4. The Scales of Madness by @thehattedtomfool
  5. Pdc3000-4 by @bleedpoet
  6. Never Balance by @tegoshei
  7. The Tale of Two Bees by @hopehuggs
  8. Week 4 Entry by @jerrytsuseer
  9. Great Prescription by @dearjyoce
  10. Love Story by @yerdna87 not linked back
  11. Week 4 Entry by @mamadini
  12. Rainbow Love by @sumsum
  13. Straight Edge Outcast by @mitchelljaworski
  14. Trapped Within by @positiveesteem
  15. Week 4 Entry by @mhelows
  16. Afternoon Daze by @mrslauren
  17. Mary Jane, Entry 2 by @tegoshei
  18. Knowledge by @japhofin8or
  19. Mother by @imamaii
  20. Chill Out by @droucil
  21. Fountain of Youth by @positiveesteem
  22. Getting to Know MJ by @elementm
  23. The Cravings of Mary Jane by @krizia
  24. Where Did I Put My Niche? by @steemmeupscotty
  25. Week 4 Entry by @natasmr
  26. Steemit Addict Poem by @enjoywithtroy poetry dice not first tag
  27. Mary Jane - Entry 2 by @tegoshei
  28. Week 4 Entry by @thelastsage
  29. Mary-Jane's Trees Shade my Day by @hypexals-spiral
  30. Gravity Well by @dbzfan4awhile
  31. Innocence by @wandrnrose7
  32. Nightmare Silhouette by @nkr
  33. A Concussed Minnow Swims On by @steemmate
  34. Death Waiting for Slumber by @aineyann
  35. In Pursuit of Living 1 by @unspeakableme
  36. Conversation with a Mirror 2 by @unspeakableme
  37. Miss Demeanor by @tinajordan

Without Further Ado...The Week 5 Dice Roll!!!


PDC3K_week5_roll_robyneggs.jpg

What will the dice hold for you this poetry session?

-

pdc3k_week5_mjroll_re.jpg

Rules:

  1. All 9 images must be referenced at least once, each. Images are interpreted loosely. How you interpret (or assign the image meaning) is up to you and does not count against you.
  2. Make your first tag #poetrydice, so I can find your entry.
  3. Label your entry clearly. Include "Poetry Dice Entry:" in your title, so I know it's official.
  4. Put a link to your post in the comments section (below). Feel free to message me your link in steemit.chat (optional).
  5. Please submit no more than 3 entries. If you wish to write more than 3 poems per roll, that is fine. I just ask that you clearly label which ones are your official entries.
  6. Use the same number of "Mary Jane" references as shown on the MJ die roll (optional).
    Note: I forgave everyone the "same number as shown on the die" stipulation for last week. This time I will be holding true, so choose wisely!

Deadline to enter contest is next Saturday at Midnight PST (UTC-7)
Winners will be announced weekly

***Please only use the “poetrydice” tag for official entries. 👮🏿‍
I will be flagging any user who intentionally misuses this tag. Flagging a post can remove rewards and make this material less visible. Some common reasons to flag:

  • Disagreement on rewards
  • Fraud or Plagiarism
  • Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
  • Intentional miscategorized content or Spam***

Want to guest judge or co-judge? ⏰🔧

Yes I am the only judge of the poetry dice contest right now, but I am wishing and hoping someone else will want to join in and take a turn, too. Two or three heads are better than one, so if you would like an opinion too, please let me know and we can chat up which poems we like best for the week and why.

Just leave me a comment to let me know you would like in this week. Judges forfeit the opportunity to win, but are encouraged to make their own entries for fun.



thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Follow me on social media:

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Flickr

View my credentials:

Artist Services Webpage



Each up-vote goes to support a - single-mom/autistic child - @robyneggs Help support a well-minded artist support their child today.

Thank you for visiting @robyneggs blog

~one human basket~

robyneggs_profileeggs_150.jpg robyneggs150_hs_profile.jpg

Sort:  

A great contest, and I am very interested to read it. Thank you for posting you share. I like your contest. You are a great writer. Happy to meet you. I like your post @robyneggs.

I will try harder and write something good this time around.

Thanks for the contests, they're really fun.

And you were a close contender! I really enjoyed your last poem and i look forward to this week's poem very much @hypexals-spiral! :D

Upvoted😆

Thanks for your upvote @mae09!

Congratulations to the winners and applause to all the poets who participate. Writing within limits is challenging and you all step it up and write wonderful pieces. My appreciation to you @robyneggs. You do so much for the artists who love to share their work on STEEMIT. Take a bow ma'am. I hold you in the highest of eSTEEM.

Haha Thanks @japhofin8or! Your rule! XOXOXO Glad I could be of service :-) and that I could host something we all enjoy! :D Cheers!

:) Congrats guys and I'm glad you liked mine! I'm going to work on twisting up something even more out there this week! :P

Congratulations to everyone especially to the winners! Awesome job!

I'm looking forward to the next challenge. Great fun, and thanks for bringing so many great writers together :)

I love bringing writers together! :-)

It was great fun and kudos to the great work of all the winners! That you for hosting the dice challenges!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58000.61
ETH 3105.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42