Pdc3000 #4

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

image.jpeg

Isaac Newton once said,
"A genius is a fish that scales trees."
Or something like that,
I've slept through the best advice given me.

To unlock the fountain of knowledge
They say it was in a fruit,
I've peeled at least a hundred bananas,
And not once found evil before me.

Except one bee. Who stung me.
Repeatedly.

Poetry Dice Competition 3000 #4 runs till Saturday, enter here

Sort:  

Food for thought... if real bananas have seeds, then is each banana peeled today an abomination in Nature's eyes? Nice poem. I like the phrases and connections in the 3rd/4th pair. 5th pair is amusing.

The real abomination is people who peel bananas upside down 🤔 True that all those unplanted seeds are a Catholic conundrum, but the fact that the banana as we know it is going extinct from disease and mass cultivation, the seeds of today should be stored until the plague passes. The fifth pair sticks to the absurdity, the same bee can only sting once, it was the bee in my bonnet trying to use all the poetry dice😄

the same bee can only sting once

You know, I have this in my head as a random factoid of bees, but it didn't come up during my passing... a little inebriation to blame, perhaps. Amuses me more, now. I won't even speak to the upside down peeling people... I just can't even.

The funny thing is, people who peel bananas upside down have no idea they are doing it upside down. 😄

There are so many varieties of bananas I don't think they will disappear altogether.

No but the most common one, which is the tastiest and found in the grocery store are suffering a serious blight. It actually has happened before, apparently there was an even better strain of bananas that has already gone extinct 50 years ago that was even tastier. Was a fascinating article I read about it, I should dig it up.

Yes the extinct one was called cavendish. The least tasty one is the one in grocery stores!! Tastes like nothing compared to so many others. Do you live in a tropical area?

I live in a land of great fresh water lakes, a paradise that will thrive in global warming, southern Ontario, Canada. Sadly I've never been to the tropics, never seen an actual banana tree😞 It's on the list.
Grocery store fruit is the saddest fruit of all, it has the shape and color, but the texture, the juice, always lacking. Watermelons filled with white flesh and water, tomatoes without a zest. I find it most amazing that through homogenization of certain strains we can cause an extinction in the world of fruit. Have you ever seen a banana tree?

This is definitely awesome! Don't forget to post a link back to the original contest! XO You rock @bleedpoet! :-)
I give 100% of my (real person) upvote to posts with the tags "poetry" and "onehumanbasket". I also host a poetry dice contest weekly, for 5 STEEM!

Added to the bottom, after missing last week the insomniac in me said I should enter instantly... His manners are atrocious.

haha thank you - sorry I meant rule 4 to link your post bakc to the comments section of the week 4 roll post ;-O no worries! also use the tag poetrydice (as first tag) xo you rock!! :-)

Finally! Now I feel like a fully initiated member of Steemit. I have waited so long for this honour and privledge. Send the professor my regards.

meeep...

meep

I sometimes sleep through advice but those pesky bees that sting keep waking me up and steering me the right way :)

Enjoyed reading your witty poems. This time round, i was inspired to submit 2 entries. Check them out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57868.91
ETH 2362.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36