What is the 'One Human Basket'? > (reference post)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #onehumanbasket7 years ago

OHB_curationpledge_re.jpg

[My own curating initiative]

Why am I curating?

I asked myself that same question. The thing I enjoy most about my experience since I signed onto Steemit, 11 months ago, is the feeling of community I have here. It is not like Facebook. When I scroll through FB I feel like I just wasted my time over one or two "good-to-know" posts. When I scroll through my feed on Steemit, however, I feel engaged by more than just one post. Several posts will catch my interest, and I find it easy to find something I want to read or look at and is deserving of an upvote.

Considering I have limited amount of voting power, it is important to me to use my upvotes constructively.

Now that I have a significant amount of vests (~3.4mv) I am able to curate much more than ever before, using my voting power wisely all the time. When I realized that I was posting a lot but always had a lot of voting power leftover I wondered to myself how important was it to use it up? And what level was best to keep it at, or if that mattered. Then I read one of @thecryptofiend's posts about how when you have more vests you do better to start switching from posting to curating. I thought about that. Then I forgot about that. Recently, I realized maybe there was something to it.

I should at least spread around my goodwill and voting cheer...

I thought to myself. Why waste all that voting power when I could be making people's lives better and possibly make a little more steem, too. I had reviewed other user's accounts "curation rewards" and compared them to their "author rewards" as a study over months. I found that the majority of large, vest-holding artists (whom I aspired to be like) made only minimal curation rewards. @thecryptofiend, however, was making a decent amount of steem with curation rewards, even though their author rewards far exceeded them, more than other users. And look how great they are doing now.

Jul 24, 2017 @thecryptofiend

My Pledge

I want to be a whale someday, too. And, it's not just that. I want to immerse myself in the poetry community. I want to use my voting power wisely to foster my passion for poetry, here on Steemit. I want to reward my fellow poets for joining in the Poetry Dice Contest and for putting themselves out there and taking a risk. Not only do I upvote poetry I like, but I pledge to use my 100% upvote and resteem on poets who add the "onehumanbasket" tag to their posts.

One Human Basket - Motto

This is because we are all one big family, here on Steemit. As my Mom says,

When we are not doing "this," what we are doing is limitless..."

"this" > being alive as humans...

I enjoy reading your posts and I want to give back to my community. I also enjoy posting myself and have several projects I am working on, including poetry, art and photography. For a back log of archived posts, click here. Hoping to post more weekly top picks soon. I did not have enough time last week to craft one.

What have I done to curate so far?

"One Human Basket" tag use

Use the "onehumanbasket" tag to ensure my 100% upvote:

  • Use the tag "onehumanbasket" on photography, art or other types of posts besides poetry. Posts using both "poetry" and "onehumanbasket," however, will remain higher priority since I wish to curate the poetry community specifically.
  • I also host a weekly poetry dice contest. Official entries to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 (PDC3K) will have the highest priority vote. Please only use the "poetrydice" tag for official entries to the contest. Abusers will be flagged.
  • I also curate posts using just the "poetry” tag.
  • Any left-over voting power gets used for highly selective posts that I hope contribute to the "onehumanbasket" feel. (This includes nonsensical YouTube videos and my own posts.)

***Please only use the “poetrydice” tag for official entries to the contest! 👮🏿‍

I will be flagging any user who intentionally misuses this tag.
Flagging a post can remove rewards and make this material less visible. Some common reasons to flag:

  • Disagreement on rewards
  • Fraud or Plagiarism
  • Hate Speech or Internet Trolling
  • Intentional miscategorized content or Spam

My tagline

I curate poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out more in the NEW Poetry Dice Challenge
(I am not a 🤖)



*This block is the sole property of Robyn Eggs. Not for reproduction or re-publication. Please re-steem and share with your friends and neighbors. All Rights Reserved. Copyright 2017.



Follow me on social media:

Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Flickr

View my credentials:

Artist Services Webpage



Each up-vote goes to support a - single-mom/autistic child - @robyneggs Help support a well-minded artist support their child today.

Thank you for visiting @robyneggs blog

~one human basket~

robyneggs_profileeggs_150.jpg robyneggs150_hs_profile.jpg

Sort:  

I like your initiative.., to give back to your community.
I have also seen a little more light on curating, rather concentrating on just posting new.
At times we r really out of ideas on wat to write.

That too. I keep a book of ideas for steemit posts :-) XO thanks for commenting! :-0

And you will be a whale one day, and I wish that for all of us who take this community seriously.
Lovely eve to you.

Lovely previous evening to you too @artdellavita! Thanks for commenting on the OHB initiative :-)

It's a great thing you are doing, many claim poetry is dying but thanks to you and others with similar love for words this "dying" art will be alive and well for many years to come!

Clarity is so important! To bad there is not a *pinit option here for relevant post to the totality of a page, as this post is.

As always, I'm grateful that you are here for this community and thrilled that I can call you a steemit friend.

Me too @mamadini! XO Cheers!

You're doing a lot of good for the community :) I really appreciate it. Thank you for providing poets (especially) more opportunities to be seen.

You are truly welcome! ;-)

i like your plan to help poets and i do write some - thanks for explaning curation -i am now following you in support

Following back! :-) Cheers!

Nice post @robyneggs, I should also try to curate more, thanks for reminding us!!!

DO IT! LOL Someone posted an early interview with Ned before beta released. It was very enlightening. It is important to make use of our voting power in order to claim more vests. I'm just over here wondering why I haven't breached level 66 in forever....but then I remember I've powered down....OX

Thank you @robyneggs for everything you do here on Steemit ! I appreciate you! 💗

Wow thank you for comment @emptyintentions - I hope it's full on this subject ;-) I hope I can make the best use of my voting power ! XO

Thanks for using my tag Babe! XOXO Miss you! <3 Hope you are doing #well

this is the first time that I had clicked that link

you learn something new everyday

Thanks for looking me up Babe! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51